We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow ... great place to stay in Berlin, I would say my No. 1 choice now....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Berlin to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marlene Dietrich Platz 2, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #5 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Wolfsburg, Germany
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Wow ... great place to stay in Berlin, I would say my No. 1 choice now....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We picked the Hyatt because of the walking distance to the Concert Hall. We got a fair rate also! First the bell service did an amazing job, because we entered the room and he asked us if we are smokers, because HE smelled it. He went down to get us a new room, he checked the room before and he organized an upgrade. TOP Service !!! The room was excellent, great shower nice TV, well furnished and big too. All people in the hotel very friendly, always a smile on the face. Later after the concert we went to the bar VOX, life music, excellent Bar-Service, perfect Gin and later the best Curry wurst!. We left at 2 am ! Breakfast on Sunday to 2 pm available, perfect service big choices fresh eggs in any stile ... Just perfect we staid close to two hours! Thanks for the perfect stay 5 points and we come back !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBerlin, Manager at Grand Hyatt Berlin, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor User,

It is with great pleasure that I have read your compliments about the quality of attention and service you and your husband received from our team during your stay at Grand Hyatt Berlin.

I would like to thank you personally for taking the time to let me know about your experiences with us, and, of course, I have passed on your favorable report to my colleagues.

Your kind words of appreciation are what motivates our team to continue providing outstanding service and personal attention to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you to Grand Hyatt Berlin!

Kind regards,

Frank Heckelmann
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    291
    57
    25
    14
See reviews for
145
601
133
470
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

The Grand Hyatt Berlin is a beautifully designed property with a wonderful art collection, centrally located in Potsdamer Platz, and within easy walking distance of some of the most interesting sites in Berlin. The club floor has excellent food and service. The city view from the pool and spa is beautiful, particularly at night. The staff is very helpful from the bellman to the concierge. The rooms are lovely and inventively functional, from the remote-controlled shades to the beautiful heated grey marble bathroom floor! One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in-highly recommended.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBerlin, Manager at Grand Hyatt Berlin, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor User,

First of all I would like to thank you for having taken the time to tell us about your favourable experiences as a guest in our hotel. I very much appreciated your nice comments on our comprehensive art collection, the quality of our service and food, and on our spa and Grand Club.

You can be sure that I have informed my colleagues of your kind words as well. These words are what motivate our team to continue providing outstanding service and personal attention to our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Berlin in the near future.

Kind regards,

Frank Heckelmann
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is my favorite hotel in the world, first off - the friendly check-in, amazing service from doorman, bellhop, Grand Executive Club lounge + room service make this a pure pleasure every time I stay there. This hotel should be a Park Hyatt due to its customer service, modern lobby design, impeccable rooms, and incredible breakfasts down at Vox. I splurged and paid a bit extra to upgrade to the Maybach Suite, and was it ever worth it -- everyone needs a piano in their room at least once in their life! I'll be back. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBerlin, Manager at Grand Hyatt Berlin, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor User,

Thank you very much for your extremely positive feedback. We are honoured that you have chosen Grand Hyatt Berlin as your favourite spot.

With great pleasure, I have read your kind words of appreciation regarding the friendliness of our staff, the features of our luxurious rooms and our delightful breakfast. I would like to thank you personally for taking the time to share your experiences. I have passed on your favourable report to my colleagues. Every day, we work on providing the best service imaginable to our guests and we are happy that we could meet your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you at Grand Hyatt Berlin again in the very near future!

Kind regards,

Frank Heckelmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Good location right next to Postdamer Platz, "Arkaden" shopping mall right across the street : huge and definitely a must do :)
Not too far from Branderburger Tor.

The Front Desk staff was particularly helpful and friendly. Housekeeping staff very efficient and smiling even when we had them come back to the room about 3 times to bring extra conditioner, shampoo... :)
The Concierge who was present during the weekend seemed careless about what we were asking and seemed to think he was too good to answer with a smile.
Great swimming pool and jacuzzi, breakfast is really worth trying, especially on sundays when it's on until 2pm, that's a great idea other hotels should look into.
The room is practical, bathroom floor is heated, huge bed, lot of light, loved the shower and the bathtub.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBerlin, Manager at Grand Hyatt Berlin, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor User,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences on your stay at Grand Hyatt Berlin.

Your kind words of appreciation will be passed on to my colleagues, who work daily on maintaining a level of excellent service and exceeding guest expectations. I am especially happy to read that our wonderful spa area met your expectations.

I will also consider your remark regarding the service of our concierge, I am sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back at Grand Hyatt Berlin in the near future.

Best regards,

Frank Heckelmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughesville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Wonderful location in Potsdamer Platz in Berlin. Close access to everything. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurants as we ate with friends who lived around the block. They did warn us though of the 20 Euro martini at the Hyatt. The shower in the room was amazing. Heated marble shower floor. Heated mirror in shower. The shower was so nice, I didn't realize I had even walked into it as I thought I walked into the room with the tub. Nice large towels. Great electronics for lowering the blinds, dimming the lights, etc. Pillows were a bit too soft for me. I found the room too warm for sleeping and the dial on the wall was not inherent to know what was UP vs DOWN in the dark at 2am.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBerlin, Manager at Grand Hyatt Berlin, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor User,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences about your last stay at Grand Hyatt Berlin.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at our centrally-located hotel. Your comfort and well-being in a luxurious environment is our highest concern and we are pleased that we could meet your expectations.

If we have the pleasure of welcoming you again, I would like to recommend our unique spa area with excellent treatments, which is located on the top floor and offers spectacular views of the city. Also, the sushi creations at our Vox restaurant are definitely worth trying.

We look forward to welcoming you soon at Grand Hyatt Berlin.

Best regards from Berlin,

Frank Heckelmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Great central location, 5/6 mins from the tube station. Lots of very trendy resturants nearby, a 2 min walk. You are also next door to a big cinema complex. The service throughout our stay was excellent. Breakfast was particularly good, served until the afternoon at weekends. The waiters at breakfast were brill remembering how I liked my coffee etc... I will only ever stay in this hotel, simply fab!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBerlin, Manager at Grand Hyatt Berlin, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor User,

Thank you very much for your extremely positive feedback regarding your stay at Grand Hyatt Berlin.

It was with the greatest pleasure that I read your kind words, in particular about our service. We are happy that we could meet your expectations and I will pass on your compliments to my colleagues because your words will motivate them even more.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

Frank Heckelmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel just before new year's and were very pleased with the entire experience.

Bathroom is really nice, with heated floors and TV.

Bang Oflusen TV in room was a special touch!

Our daughters room had the TV's (both) broken...maintenance came and fixed both.

Internet access was expensive and very poor service/signal...I don't understand why some hotels still charge for internet!

The location was a very nice surprise...there is a mall, a casino, a theater, cinema, restaurants just across the street...and Postdamen platz just 2 blocks away.

The only perk was one of the lobby bar waitress...she gave us sarcastic responses like, when I asked for a diet coke and she responded that she only has 2 hands...very rude since I was being kind...totally unnecessary!

Anyway....it was a great stay overall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Berlin

Address: Marlene Dietrich Platz 2, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#3 Business Hotel in Berlin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#28 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innovative design, clean-cut lines, first-class natural materials and contemporary art are characteristical for Grand Hyatt Berlin located at Berlin Mitte, close to Potsdamer Platz, Brandenburg Gate and Reichstag. The 342 luxurious guestrooms and suites are equipped with B&O flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi. Grand Hyatt Berlin features restaurants Vox, Tizian and mesa, Vox Bar and Club Olympus Spa & Fitness on the rooftop which offers a large pool, cutting-edge fitness equipment, a sauna and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Splendia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Berlin
Berlin Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.