We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Berlin to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marlene Dietrich Platz 2, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 10% off
Ranked #6 of 664 Hotels in Berlin
Brussels
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Hard to beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A four night stay usually gives you a good sample of a hotel's strengths and weaknesses. My stay here on a particularly demanding business event was as serene and comfortable as one could wish for. I will not repeat the praise of previous reviewers other than to say that few five star hotels have made me feel as effortlessly comfortable as this one - thanks to not just great infrastructure but also truly good staff.
I was fortunate enough to have a room on the executive club floor which makes for added serenity and privacy. Club service is excellent and makes even breakfast a quiet and peaceful moment.

Room Tip: The executive club floor (the exact name is somewhat different but they'll know what you mean) i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    232
    38
    22
    14
See reviews for
119
470
112
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zaventem, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is great. It's nearby different spots to see, located in a lively neighbourhood with great bars and restaurants.
One small negative point: stay for 3 nights including breakfast. Because we arrived very early we asked to replace the breakfast of our last day to our first day. For the hotel management was this not negotiable, what was a pity.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed in the Grand Hyatt Berlin recently for the first time, while on a business trip. Unfortunately I felt unwell when I left my house, and by the time I arrived in Berlin, felt utterly dreadful. I was welcomed to the Hyatt by extremely friendly staff, who took my bags and got me checked in very efficiently. My room was lovely, with a comfortable bed, steaming hot shower, big bathtub, fancy TV and nice lighting. The hotel itself is nicely decorated, understated but elegant, with a very welcoming bar and classy-looking restaurant (though I did not eat there, so can not review the food). Being ill and away from home is never nice, but the staff at the Hyatt were wonderful, welcoming, sympathetic and helpful.

During my stay I had a small problem with my room and had to be moved. This was done with minimal fuss and maximum effort to help me - and I was moved to a higher standard of room. When I returned from a meeting the next day, I found a small gift and a beautifully written card apologising for the inconvenience, which was most unexpected - the inconvenience had been minimal.

Eventually I decided I was too unwell to stay for the final night of my trip, and arranged an earlier flight home. Despite this being nearly 4pm, the staff at the Hyatt were sympathetic to my situation and did not charge me for the final night.

In all, I can't fault this place at all, and must give particular praise to the staff. In addition to all of that, it is in a great area of Berlin, close to many of the sights and only a 20-minute (or so) taxi ride to the station. If I had any complaint, it would only be that the hairdryer feels largely equivalent to a person standing next to your head and blowing gently - take your own!

Well done, Hyatt!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely lovely hotel; the decor, service, room quality, cleanliness - all boxes ticked 5*s. Relatively expensive but you certainly get what you pay for. Good location but as a young couple wanting to see the slightly edgier side to the city it wasn't perfect - definitely suited to its target clientele of business people and those that want to splash cash in nearby malls. For food and sightseeing every day we got unlimited tickets for the local U-bahn, but as per the title it was a very comfortable, warm base to return to at the end of the day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The good:
* Breakfast is exceptional. The quality of the food on offer is very high and the service offered by the staff is very good.
* Very stylish rooms with Bang and Olufsen televisions
* Beautiful bathrooms with Aveda toiletries
* Helpful and knowledgeable concierge
* Very good hotel gym with enough equipment for a full workout. Also has a swimming pool and steam and sauna.
* Great location near Potsdamer Platz

The bad:
* Wifi is not offered free (except for one hour per day). I find this a bit like making guests pay for water. It is my biggest gripe.
* Breakfast although it is great is also very expensive.

Overall: I love this hotel. It hits the spot in so many ways. It feels modern like Berlin itself from the art in the lobby to the furnishings in the rooms. The staff are really very friendly and helpful. I forgot my toothbrush and there was no problem sending one up to the room.

I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stay at Hyatt Hotel for 4 days and we were impress with the quality of the staff. The room are very comfortable and the shower very special. In the heart of the activities in Berlin. We recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

The staff really makes this hotel exceptional. They really bend over backwards to assist. I cannot imagine a more comfortable room. The electric windowshades, certainly a nice touch. Would have been nice to have a few more english channels on the television, the only one i found was CNN, which can get repetative quite quickly.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Berlin

Address: Marlene Dietrich Platz 2, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berlin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#4 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innovative design, clean-cut lines, first-class natural materials and contemporary art are characteristical for Grand Hyatt Berlin located at Berlin Mitte, close to Potsdamer Platz, Brandenburg Gate and Reichstag. The 342 luxurious guestrooms and suites are equipped with B&O flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi. Grand Hyatt Berlin features restaurants Vox, Tizian and mesa, Vox Bar and Club Olympus Spa & Fitness on the rooftop which offers a large pool, cutting-edge fitness equipment, a sauna and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Berlin
Berlin Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.