We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and in a good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Berlin City West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Hotel Berlin City West to your Saves list
Leonardo Hotel Berlin City West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guentzelstrasse 14, 10717 Berlin, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel Berlin City West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #347 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Wrexham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and in a good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at the Leonardo over Easter this year. We checked in about 10 am and the room was ready ( nice surprise ) nice and clean, just what we wanted. We dumped our bags and walked back to the U-Bahn station just around the corner, all of a two minute walk !! Ideal for the city, a couple of stops to Zoologischer Garten then regional to wherever you want. Hauptbanhof is like something out of Star Wars.
Receptionist was very pleasant and helpful, breakfast was good with plenty on offer if you needed it. We were out early and came back late so it was just sleep, shower and breakfast.
Would recommend this hotel as a great centre for sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    89
    41
    12
    2
See reviews for
19
75
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was staying with my family in this hotel from the 10th to the 14th of April. I only have good words for this hotel. Price is reasonable. It is located very close to the underground train station through which trains run very often and in few minutes you can reach the main sights of the city. Train tickets can be bought at the counter of the hotel.
The hotel is very clean and quiet. Breakfast quite good. The staff very friendly and helpful.
Definitely would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My wife & I stayed at the Leonardo Berlin West from Sunday 6th April until Thursday 10th April,and found it to be of a High Quality. I had read the Three most recent reviews before our trip,so it was with some trepidation we checked into the hotel.
I don't know what standards these other reviewers work to,but we were pleasantly surprised.
The room we had (501) was of a very good standard,and was clean in every aspect.
Breakfast was of a high standard,and even although there was a School Party staying at the same time who were clearing the Breakfast items of food,these items were QUICKLY Replaced by the pleasant Hotel Waiting Staff.At no time was there a shortage of breakfast items.
With regards to Smoking there was an area outside the hotel door for anyone,and there was a Prominent Sign saying that anyone who DID Smoke in their room would have a 75 Euro charge applied.
Neither my wife or myself smelt any trace of smoking during our stay at the Leonardo West.
I would recommend it to my friends,and would be happy to return at a future date.
The hotel is very handy for transport links to and from both the Airport & Berlin City Centre,as the local U-Bahn Station (Gunzelstrasse) is about 70metres away,and has a frequent service into Berlins main sights-Brandenburg Gate,Reichstag,Tiergarten,Kurfurstendamm etc.
Transport is cheap-we bought a daily ticket for unlimited travel on Trains,Underground,Trolley buses and Buses for 7.20 Euros.
Altogother I cannot fault this hotel for Quality,Staff Attention,Cleanliness and Excellent Value.

Room Tip: Rooms at side of hotel would be quieter,although our room 501 was very quiet,so I don think it would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel recently changed its name form a Best Western to a Leonardo Hotel. Got a comfortable bed. Lady at reception was nice but basically used the room to crash. Despite a no smoking sign on the door the room reeked of cigarette smoke. No wonder, there is a cigarette machine in their vending room. I had to keep the window open for two hours and still couldn’t get the smell out. Not close to anything. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Me and 4 of my friends stayed there during the ITB. The surrounding area has nothing but some restaurants in walking distance, so you either take a taxi or subway to go to the center.The hotel was ridiculously overpriced due to the exhibition, while the rooms are so small with no mini-bar, just a vending machine at the corridor.Some of us had booked superior rooms, which to our surprise are exactly like the comfort ones with the difference that the superior face the parking space which is considered quieter, while the hotel is not facing a busy road.The hotel also advertises the superior with more sophisticated decoration, while we got what they advertised as comfort at the price of the superior.Reception could not deal with the issue and directed us to the sales department.Breakfast was poor and reception space very limited.Definitely not a 4* hotel.Would never stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I always stayed at the Leonardo Hotel Wilmesdorfer Street in Berlin, this time i got confused and booked the Leonardo Berlin West, I booked 3 rooms, one for me and 2 for my friends and 2 rooms in Leonardo Wilmesdorfer , every ITB i was very happy to stay at the Leonardo Wilmesdorfer street, Leonardo Berlin West is very badly located, bad breakfast, not worth the money paid, small rooms, the only thing positive that hotel is very clean, I asked the receptionist whether I could move 2 rooms the last 2 nights to the Leonardo Wilmesdorfer street, she called the hotel, they told her they have vacancy but simply i have to pay full amount again. I told her thank you. Me and my friends decided for next ITB not to stay at Leonardo hotels. Next time we will count till 10 before we made such a decision.

forget to tell you that on our way to the bed rooms, the hotel had a meeting event in the coridor, to our bed rooms, they left the table in middle of the way during our wholsaty.

Remind you that the free internet at the Leonardo West Berlin doesnot compensate for the very poor breakfast and the location !! for half the price you could stay in much better hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Took my mum, step-dad and my younger brother over the Christmas break. Berlin was amazing!
The hotel is about a 20 min walk from the centre. Walk out of the hotel turn left, go to the end of the road and turn left then its a straight road all the way.
The hotel has smoking floors, which smelt but that's understandable. My step dad is a smoker so this made his day! The room view wasn't fab - a car park but its a city centre hotel so cant expect much more. Breakfast was great!
The bar was pretty pricey but its Berlin and the barman on the night shift made sitting there worthwhile. I cant remember his name but he was fab!! FREE WIFI
Would recommend the bus tours, great for getting around the city! The Christmas markets were amazing, I'll never be happy with our Leeds one again. Haha
Highly recommend staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo Hotel Berlin City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Berlin City West

Address: Guentzelstrasse 14, 10717 Berlin, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel Berlin City West)
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#156 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Berlin City West 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Berlin City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Berlin
Berlin Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Hotel Berlin City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.