We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winters Hotel Berlin im Spiegelturm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Winters Hotel Berlin im Spiegelturm to your Saves list
Winters Hotel Berlin im Spiegelturm
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Freiheit 5, 13597 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Senator) (Spandau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #271 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Belfast, N. Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for four nights, and have no complaints. The hotels staff were fine, friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, and spotless, and the beds were comfortable. Though, as others have pointed out, the location is 30 minutes from Berlin Central the train station is almost at the door of the hotel, and with cheap all day rail travel this was not something that would put me off staying there again. We never used the restaurant, as €14 per person for breakfast seemed a little steep, especially when a 3 minute ride to Spandau will bring you to restaurants where a good breakfast can be had for half that price. Otherwise, I am a happy customer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    39
    11
    8
    8
See reviews for
6
35
6
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Capital of the World
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

.. and they could have done so much more. So big, with a great efficient and clean German working staff... however NO gym, no pool, no concierge, and unfortunately no friendly reception staff.
Rooms are decent, big enough, clean, nice working desk. No A/C, no kettle, no suitcase stand.
Breakfast was average - not worth the extra money, take a small walk where you will find a market with fresh juices and breakfast options for a quarter of the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for four nights. I don't have anything bad to say about the hotel. it was clean, modern, good sized room, air conditioned, staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. there was a mini bar which was well stocked in the room. The hotel restaurant was on the 16th floor and provided spectacular views of the city. the food was tasty and the service was excellent. The breakfast spread was good and food was always fresh. The train station was just outside of the hotel and the Spandau city was a 7 minute walk up the road which was really convenient as it had many shops and nice places to eat. The only downside was the location. It's not in central Berlin. it's about a 20 minute train ride into the city so if you want to go out a lot, you may want to get a regional Tain as it is much quicker. Apart from that, the hotel was good and you can easily get to the airport from it. I recommend getting the Berlin Welcome card. It was very useful to have because you can use all forms of transport as many times as you like just like the Oyster Cards in London. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a contour room for about 10 euro more because it's cooler in the summer as the sun doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Was there on business for a quick stopover, nice young guy at Reception, was a bit helpless perhaps a Trainee, but friendly and efficient (well he was German after all ;-)).

Rooms are very well appointed with a great view, very modern, cleanliness was good, but toilet could have been descaled a bit more....

Restaurant I did not try, but would consider staying there for longer....but, bring a ccar because the place is far from centrally located. Forget public Transport, Berlin has a very good infreastructure, but this Hotel would take you 30 minutes to get tot he city centre by public transport...

Overall, well done, looking forward to another stay....

Room Tip: Ask for a Room overlooking the Canal on a high floor (I had 11th floor and the view was fantastic!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Room was ok, small but clean. You wouldn't think it was newly renovated though, the corridors were dark and the restaurant looked average. What stood out most was the awful service, left waiting for over 20 mins in the reception area- phoned the hotel no answer, not what you want after a 6 hour drive! We found someone ourselves (by traipsing all the way up to the 16th floor restaurant with bags and looking very unkempt after our journey!) to be laughed at and not apologised to, a member of staff just said 'i know you're waiting- i'm coming' no help with the bags, no apology, no respect! The worst bit was when she was laughing and joking about us in German to a colleague- probably not realising i am fluent! WORST SERVICE i've ever experienced and i've travelled all over the world. Had the hotel been nice it may not have mattered so much but i've stayed in much better for less. There was also a dog barking ALL NIGHT long both nights, I know not the hotels fault but worth mentioning!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was at this hotel for Sunday brunch and had the best view over Berlin from atop the building. Food and service was impecable!! Will go there again and again!!! The rooms were all outfitted perfectly for the needs of a tourist or business person.

Room Tip: All the room are the same, all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

It took us approx. 20mins to arrive at the hotel from the centre by car. The location is quite opposite to the S station and quite close to the Citadel. The room given to us was on the 14th floor. Which was very clean and spacious. Wifi speed was quite good too. We used the restaurant for dinner and for breakfast, that offered a great view. The entire staff were excellent, not forgetting to mention the Chef who agreed to make a main-course for me in Chicken as the other meats on the Menu were not of my palate and Victor the Steward who was quite good at servicing with quickness and smile. The only drawback for me was that there were no menu cards in English. Apart for it overall our one day stay was very good and we will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Winters Hotel Berlin im Spiegelturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winters Hotel Berlin im Spiegelturm

Address: Freiheit 5, 13597 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Senator)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Spandau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#141 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Winters Hotel Berlin im Spiegelturm 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind a futuristically designed glass front the doors open to a vibrant place of hospitality. All rooms are generously and comfortably furnished and have a fantastic view over the rooftops of Berlin. Our hotel is situated close to the fair grounds, the International Congress Centre (ICC), the Olympic Stadium, the castle Schloss Charlottenburg and Berlin’s High Street Kurfürstendamm.Thanks to excellent traffic connections there is easy access to nearby motorways in all directions. You can also easily discover all of the city’s touristic highlights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Winters Hotel Berlin im Spiegelturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winters Hotel Berlin im Spiegelturm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.