We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect out of town location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winters Hotel Berlin im Spiegelturm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Winters Hotel Berlin im Spiegelturm to your Saves list
Winters Hotel Berlin im Spiegelturm
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Freiheit 5, 13597 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Senator) (Spandau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #293 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Wigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect out of town location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

The Senator might seem too far from the attractions of the city for a stay in Berlin but it is served by the S-Bahn immediately outside the hotel to anywhere you want to go. I stayed on the 13th floor overlooking Stresow S-Bahn station and had no problem with noise as some people have mentioned. The 16th floor is the restaurant with a panoramic wonderful view of Spandau and beyond. Staff were helpful and friendly with some English spoken and they were patient with my attempts at German! The old medieval town of Spandau and the ancient Zitadelle are a short walk away and well worth a visit. The Olympiastadion is just a couple of stops on the S-Bahn.

Room Tip: The higher floors are best for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    34
    9
    8
    8
See reviews for
6
30
5
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here with a group for 4 nights. Biggest problem was the time spent travelling in and out of the city each day. However, the price was right for a budget few days. I do prefer hotels with a bit of character, but room was kept clean and bedlinen changed. Breakfast very average. Hotel seemed to be popular with business travellers. Restaurant menu not very imaginative.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

During the LinuxTag 2010 conference I was staying at "Senator" hotel with another speaker who also participated in the event. The meal on breakfast time was quite good, however the same on every day. The location is good (nearby to Berlin Spandau) if you don't mind to travel by S-Bahn or U-Bahn public transportation. Nevertheless I recommend this hotel to people, who would like to live out of downtown of Berlin.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in December 2008. The hotel has ok lobby service and very good restaurant. We were there for a working/sight seeing trip. In the cold of the winter, the room was nice, very clean and warm. Seems like a new hotel to us, or may be it was renovated. What we really liked was the breakfast. Better than what we expected, actually, it was very good with good service. Only complaint maybe that it is a good 30 minutes from the main shopping street by train (cost only 2.6euros). But this is not really a problem for me as I travel a lot in Europe and best way to save is to get a hotel that is a bit far away. If you have more budget, then getting a downtown hotel would be better.

  • Liked — nice clean room with great breakfast
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2008

Nice hotel.
Breakfast of good variety.
Most of the stuff very polite and helpfull.
Far from the centre and generally the location not very busy in the night. We hardly found a bar to have a beer.
Clean.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isere
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

Spent 4 nights there. Never seen such a poor breakfast, even in 2 stars hotels. Howerver, our room had a nice 12" TV back from the 80s.
I even wonder whether the painting in the room, representing dying sunflowers, was ironic.

  • Liked — Proximity to S-Bahn station
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

I spent three nights at this hotel recently, and while the hotel has good points, other negative ones were really annoying me.

First, the location. I didn't choose the hotel because of the location, I was attending a conference so the choice had been made by the organisators of the conference. The hotel is a good 30 minutes S-bahn journey of the city center of Berlin. This is feasable, but not practical. I would not recommend this hotel if you are planning on visiting Berlin, as the travelling can get much. But on the other hand, the S-bahn station Spresow is situated right in front of the hotel, so access to public transport can't be better.

Which brings me to my next point: noise. If your room is on the S-bahn side, you'll hear the trains pass by at all hours of the day and night. It's survivable with earplugs, but if you're a light sleeper, be sure you ask for a room on the other side.

The rooms are fine, good size, clean. Bed really comfortable.The decor might be a bit kitsch for my taste, but that's personal. Some rooms are bigger than others; if you want a bigger room, be sure to ask one that is located in the round "tower" of the hotel. The cleaning staff is really friendly and they do a great job.

The restaurant is located on the 16th floor, which also offers a breathtaking view of the surroundings. That is definitely a plus! I really enjoyed looking out the window and I took wonderful pictures... The food served at the restaurant is average. Good, but not wonderful. It serves its purpose, I guess. The staff is friendly, but they look like they are not interested. But they are friendly! And speak good English, really want to make sure you enjoy your meal, etc. On the outside though, you'd get the impression that they'd rather be somewhere else...

In regards to business services, they have a wired/wireless Internet connection, but it's not free. It's quite pricey, actually. But don't expect other services. When I wanted to print a document, they didn't have a business center or anything like that, where I could have access to a printer. I had to e-mail my document to the reception, but even that didn't work as he couldn't open the attachment. Nevertheless, the staff at the reception was helpful and truly sorry they could not be of any help. So if I were to write any constructive comment, I would say they should open a small business center with computers, printer, fax, etc. like those you see in many hotels.

So in the end, this hotel isn't bad, it's a good quality hotel! But there are still some points that make me go "hmmm"...

  • Liked — The view, the cleanliness, great access to public transport
  • Disliked — No business center, the noise of the trains, the location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Winters Hotel Berlin im Spiegelturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winters Hotel Berlin im Spiegelturm

Address: Freiheit 5, 13597 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Senator)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Spandau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#140 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Winters Hotel Berlin im Spiegelturm 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind a futuristically designed glass front the doors open to a vibrant place of hospitality. All rooms are generously and comfortably furnished and have a fantastic view over the rooftops of Berlin. Our hotel is situated close to the fair grounds, the International Congress Centre (ICC), the Olympic Stadium, the castle Schloss Charlottenburg and Berlin’s High Street Kurfürstendamm.Thanks to excellent traffic connections there is easy access to nearby motorways in all directions. You can also easily discover all of the city’s touristic highlights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Winters Hotel Berlin im Spiegelturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winters Hotel Berlin im Spiegelturm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.