We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable family accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Berlin Mitte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Berlin Mitte to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Berlin Mitte
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hochstrasse 2-3, 13357 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Berlin-Humboldt Park)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #392 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Comfortable family accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was well located within 1 minute of the U Bahn and buses which got you downtown in 15 minutes. It was in a quite street which allowed restful nights and there are a number of restaurants within walking distance. We had 2 adults and 3 older children sharing a family room which was very good value in Berlin considering the inclusion of a quality breakfast.
Only real concern was slightly smelly bathroom however this was room specific and not reflecting overall standards.
Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    189
    156
    51
    22
See reviews for
110
121
60
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It's really wasn't a great experience. Very expensive compared to many Holiday Inns we've stayed in worldwide. Staff were surly and standoffish and the cleanliness of the hotel was questionable. Definitely in need of refurbishment. The one saving grace was the hotel restaurant. The food was superb and the menu suited to all tastes. What a pity the same couldn't be said of the female staff...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear WorldRenounTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am happy to know that you had a good experience at our restaurant. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience you experienced with our staff. I will address this matter with them to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akureyri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed there for a short weekend trip to Berlin. Nice and very clean Hotel, even for German standard. Very helpful staff. The only thing that bothered me was to get both my laptop and my phone online..had to go to the lobby every 24hrs to manage that....Other than this it was great.

Room Tip: As high as possible and preferably facing potzdamer platz or the Television Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Hotel location is very convenient: right by metro, bus and S-Bahnstation (Gesundbrunnen), only 5 stops away from the strict centre (like the Brandenburger Tor). The hotel service is nice and speaks English very well. The building may be renovated but it still looks like a sad and old post-communistic block from the previos era. Our room was clean. Hair dryer didnt work well which is a big trouble for most women (especially when the weather is cold and you have long hair).There was a bad smell from the toilet bowl. The worst thing was that the hotel rooms and walls were so thin that the constant slamming of the door by the cleaning staff, guests and lots of noises woke us up every morning around 8 am...it was impossible to falls asleep again...We found the breakfast price : 17 Euros per Person exaggerated in this kind of hotel (not a luxurious one). There is a nice breakfast place and cafe just outside the hotel (Turkish bakery and bar, cheap, fresh, tasty). Internet is not for free unfortunately (10 euros per 24/h). They only have ONE (!) computer available for guests and it was broken during our stay. No bonuses for loyal clients (we are owners of Holiday Inn Priority Club Card and often use this hotel network)- they offered my husband 20% discount for breakfest (only for him) so around 2 euros discount haha:-) joke...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I didn't follow my first mind. I am not fond of Holiday Inns because the quality is poor but they charge a substantial fee. This hotel was even bad for Holiday Inn standards. It IS close to transportation but the area is not the best. I wouldn't go outside at night. I had difficulty finding something decent to eat withing walking distance. The room was small and very musty smelling. I think it is a business hotel. The kind that cheap companies send their sales people. If I had to stay more than one day, I would have taken a loss and moved to a different hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear KimmieW,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. In addition, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Targu-Mures, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 6 days at this hotel. The room was bright, modern, nice and clean.The staff was very pleasant and helpful, breakfast very good and this location is close to U and S-Bahn so you can explore easy all day long this great town. There is a free parking in front of hotel .David, Andrea and Mircea Purcar

Room Tip: the upstairs-rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We booked this hotel as there was a super cheap deal on it, and sadly we were horribly disappointed. The hotel layout is so poorly designed that even when you get out of the lift on your floor, you may still need to descend another staircase to get to your room. As we were travelling with big suitcases this made it very inconvenient for us. Unbelievably, the hotel didn't have any airconditioning, and as we were staying there in the middle of summer the rooms were unbearably hot. We couldn't sleep with the window open because the traffic from the main street was too noisy. The reception staff on duty when we checked was very rude - he required us to produce a copy of our booking confirmation (we had booked through a third party website) to prove that we had paid in advance. When I said I didn't have a printout with me (we had been travelling for a couple of weeks at that stage with no access to a printer), he told me I had to email it to him. However, as internet at the hotel wasn't free I was required to pay for it first! You buy a certain number of hours of internet access, but note that this refers to the actual number of hours you spend on the internet, and not the time period from when you purchase the internet. We bought a 24 hour internet ticket and then discovered this - we were never going to spend 24 hours on the internet, and had we known we would have purchased a lesser amount. Although the hotel is technically in Mitte, it is not even close to the main part of Mitte and a train trip is required to get to anywhere of interest. There are much better hotels in Berlin, at similar or better prices, and I would only recommend staying here if you absolutely have to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Emsy5285,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Berlin Mitte

Address: Hochstrasse 2-3, 13357 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Berlin-Humboldt Park)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#167 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Berlin Mitte 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The First Class Hotel Holiday Inn Berlin-Mitte welcomes its guests in the new 'green' centre of Berlin, right next to the Humboldthain Park. From here, you will have a perfect start to the 'New Centre' of Berlin with the Reichstag, Museum Island, the Berlin Cathedral, the Potsdamer Platz, the boulevard Unter den Linden and the famous first class shopping street Friedrichstrasse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Berlin Mitte Hotel Berlin
Berlin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Berlin Mitte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.