We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many better hotels in Berlin for same price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mollstrasse 4, 10178 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #373 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Swieqi, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Many better hotels in Berlin for same price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have just left the hotel this morning, where I spent the past week with my family. We thought we were checking into a four star hotel from the price, and we only found out it was three star when we arrived. Maybe that part is our fault because we assumed and we shouldn't have.

The room is spacious and quite clean. However the furnishings are extremely old and drab, nothing too attractive. The nicest thing in the room was a decent TV to which I could connect my devices to watch my own stuff, and a Philips filter cofee machine. The bathroom was clean but small, especially the shower - a quarter circle with a radius of no more than 50 to 60 cms. The hotel is also at a busy intersection, and even from the ninth floor, we could not block out the sound of traffic with all the windows and doors closed.

The staff mostly tried to be helpful, but not everyone at reception could speak very good English. Lifts got stuck twice in one week. Frequently the coffee and / or sugar in the room was not replenished. Housekeeping maids could not speak any English and referred me to reception when I asked for coffee replenishment. As for breakfast - there was a small breakfast buffet for both continental and English breakfasts, but we were not too impressed with the quality of the food (e.g. eggs - scrambled only, sausages - boiled only, etc.). There is an empy refrigerator in the room, but when I wanted a bottle of still water I had to walk 4 minutes to the closest supermarket. The bar is a bit miserable, and the restaurant opens only for breakfast - not for lunch, neither for dinner.

All in all - I feel sure I will not visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    261
    199
    81
    40
See reviews for
138
209
63
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Rooms are spacious and clean but the noise from the surrounding roads is very noisey especillay at night. No Aircon anywhere and in the bar the windows wouldn't open. Staff are okay and were all pleasant during our stay. Surrounding area is not the best Berlin has to offer but it is convienient to the trams and not too far from Alexanderplatz.or the station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hotel staff is always so friendly. We arrived in the early morning, but the hotel kindly allowed us to use an empty room from 8AM. The location is good, close to tram and bus stations and walking distance from Alexanderplatz. Free WIFI worked in the room. The hotel breakfast is too expensive but there is a small cafe next to the hotel which opens every day (tea pot was also in the room). The room has two bedrooms and 4 beds and 3 of us stayed there, but cups and glasses were prepared only two. In the shower booth water was not immediately drained. But totaly we are satisfied with the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice rooms - ex diplomatic accommodation - large rooms / comfortable. Great location (few minutes walk from Alexander plats main square. Next to tram stop and. Few caves and restaurants. Staff helpful and always happy to give directions etc. this is my second stay there this year

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We just stayed 8 persons for three nights and were very happy (except one item-see below).
The location is very good. The rooms are large and clean. The staff is very friendly. The breakfast buffet is good. Price/performance is very good at the rate we paid. The only drawback is the lack of air-con so it got too hot a night when sleeping. I would certainly recommend this hotel.
Mr. Lindholm, Sweden

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street. In this way you will have less noise if you open the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very comfortable hotel with a very central location close to Alexanderplatz. The building from the outside looks drab, but the room was surprisingly homey. Very spacious, in fact quite huge room, simple furniture and decoration. Nothing fancy but very clean and simple bathroom. Global chain, but inside has a very local flavour. Not decorated and refurbished in the quite similar and trendy style of globalised chains. Huge photographes of turn of the century Berlin with a nostalgic sepia touch on the walls probably adds to this strangely homey and local atmosphere. Very nice view of the symbolic TV tower in Alexanderplatz. Could have enjoyed the large balcony if the weather was better. I as curious why the cleaning lady did not pick empty bottles unless they were put in the bin. Overall very comfortable, quite place, good breakfast and very well working wi-fi and it was free...!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Hotel was comfortable and services what you'd expect, so I wasn't disappointed. The only downside was in my particular case Alexanderplatz was a bit out of the way so it involved expensive taxi trips to the other side of town and back. But, that is of course not the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz

Address: Mollstrasse 4, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Berlin life: The Mercure Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz is in a prime location in the center of the capital, just a stone's throw from the Alexanderplatz U-Bahn, S-Bahn and local train stations. Our 158 spacious rooms and Suites are comfortably furnished and all feature WIFI. From Tegel Airport, the TXL bus goes directly to Alexanderplatz; from Schönefeld Airport, the RB14 takes you the short distance to the hotel. If arriving by car, parking is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agon Am Alexanderplatz Berlin
Agon Am Alexanderplatz Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.