We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a business trip but not a holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estrel Berlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Estrel Berlin to your Saves list
Estrel Berlin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sonnenallee 225 | 12057 Berlin, 12057 Berlin, Germany (Neukolln)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 668 Hotels in Berlin
Witham, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for a business trip but not a holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Estrel is a huge hotel, with restaurants and bars in an atrium serving very good food, particularly the Italian restaurant. Breakfast is great, with masses of choice, and very good selection of breads. The food is replenished until everyone has eaten, and the chef even asked if we had finshed before clearing away. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly with the exception of the concierge, who was verging on being rude. We desperately wanted to hire a car for our last day to visit Potsdam, and were basically told that all he would do was look on the internet, which we could do ourselves. When we struggled to find somewhere on our limited internet access (we had 60 minutes for a 5 day stay) he still would't help. He even said he couldn't understand why we wouldnt take the bus or the train, but we only had a 6 hour window in our stay, and it wouldnt have given us long enough to visit all the sites had we used public transport. We didnt see the show ourselves, but were told it was brilliant. The only down side to the hotel is its distance from the centre of Berlin, although there is a bus stop outside the hotel and a station just down the road. Taxis are always available and cost up to 20 Euros. The hotel is on the river, so there are also two boat trips available each day lasting around 4 hours. By the river there is also the hotels little bier garten, with a sandy area with modern cushioned sun loungers. There are some restaurants in the area plus a Netto and Lidl, but no shops. In summary ths s a lovely hotel if you are prepared for the travel to see the sites. For a convention centre it is perfect.

Room Tip: Dont expect much of a view because of the area. The de luxe rooms give extra space and we felt the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    313
    173
    37
    23
See reviews for
50
116
44
416
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Huge and modern hotel with friendly staff. You will find plenty of restaurants in the hotel but none in the closer surrounding as it is about 15 minutes from downtown, 20 Euro by cab.
WiFi is 22 Euro per day ... way too expensive! Parking cost extra as well.
Modern but small gym, nice wellness area.
Loved to stay there.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights for work and the place soon got on my nerves. No kettle in the room, odd shaped room, only 2 English tv channels (news), characterless environment, terrible location and next door to some sort of shanty town. I was on 12th floor and looked over semi-deserted huts that were obviously peoples homes. Very unsettling sight in a major European city. Only plus side was the concierge who was fantastic. Otherwise I couldnt wait to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

we joined annual brand meeting here and it was good. all hotel services, rooms, stuff were satisfactory. it's a little bit far from center but near to train station and you can go anywhere in city by train. also they have shows at the hotel some nights if you don't have any plans you can join one of these, worth to see.

Room Tip: ask for a room seeing river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have stayed at the Estrel 4 times for a conference. I am very impressed with the service - if you have been before they look after you - they have always ensured I get the room I like and added special requests (I am from England so like tea and coffee facilities in my room). Nothing is too much trouble. The catering at the conference is superb and the whole event is expertly run. Food-wise I like the Thai best but there is choice in the atrium and again the staff get to know you quickly and are charming. I will be staying again.

Room Tip: refurbished rooms - mine was 11105 (large and spacious - well equipped) and any in that part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
237 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here for a convention. I dreaded going there because it seemed to be out in the boonies of a Berlin suburb and there wasn't much nearby. Well this is a very well equipped hotel.

The best thing about this hotel is the large atrium/lobby/terrace. It is an enclosed courtyard. It has four restaurants around it each with a theme. All of them have indoor or terrace seating in the atrium. It gave the feeling of being sort of outdoors even in the winter. We tried three of them and they were all very good. There is also plenty of seating space to conduct business. In the end I did not leave the hotel once during a weekend convention.

The convention space was right next door and this was much better than some others I have attended that were cold and felt like warehouse space.

The hotel is located just around the corner from an S-Bahn station where one change will take you to the central station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed last september (2012). Very large hotel (maybe largest in Europe?), clean rooms, good breakfast. Perhaps best for conference, a bit outside central Berlin. Great shows - Las Vegas-style. Spacios inside piazza with restaurants and bars. Good stay but will choose a more central hotel next time.

Room Tip: High floor, great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Neukolln
Mercure Berlin Tempelhof Airport
Neukolln
Hotel Britzer Tor
Hotel Britzer Tor
#333 of 668 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Neukolln
Motel Plus Berlin
Motel Plus Berlin
#335 of 668 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neukolln
Hotel Erlanger Hof
Hotel Erlanger Hof
#300 of 668 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Neukolln
Days Inn Berlin City South
Days Inn Berlin City South
#233 of 668 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Ibis Berlin Neukoelln
#349 of 668 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrel Berlin

Address: Sonnenallee 225 | 12057 Berlin, 12057 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Neukolln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Berlin
#138 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#145 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrel Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 1125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estrel Hotel Berlin is Germany's largest hotel, and they have something to suit every taste and need: 1,125 rooms and suites, five restaurants, three bars, a summer garden with its own landing pier, a modern wellness & fitness area and even free internet access.The hotel is adjoined to the Estrel Congress & Messe Center, which covers a space of 161,460 sq ft and houses 60 conference rooms providing the ideal conditions for an event of any kind and size.The stage at the adjacent Estrel Festival Center hosts top quality Las Vegas style entertainment all year round. Our "Stars in Concert" show series and numerous other highly acclaimed in-house show productions give guests "Entertainment at its best". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Estrel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrel Berlin Hotel Berlin
Estrel Hotel Berlin
Berlin Estrel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estrel Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.