We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Food at a Fair Price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vinaggio - CLOSED

Vinaggio
Monbijouplatz 2, 10178 Berlin, Germany
030-25760831
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $38
Restaurant details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quality Food at a Fair Price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

You have to look for this restaurant rather than just coming across it but it is literally just two minutes around the corner from Hackescher Markt and well worth the visit. My husband and I didn't want a starter each so the waitress immediately offered to put together a platter of cold meats and cheeses with delicious sun dried tomatoes and olives for us to share. I opted for the mushroom rissotto for my main and, just as it indicated on the menu, I could see that this was freshly made as the chef measured out the ingredients etc., It was cooked to utter perfection and tasted wonderful. The wine list was quite extensive for the size of the establishment and prices were very reasonable. We had coffee to finish and this came with a little chocolate each - not just your average chocolate either - like everything else it was evident that it was quality. We were in Berlin for five nights and ate out each night. Vinaggio was head and shoulders above anywhere else and pricewise far more reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“An excellent, if unassuming little bolthole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I love this place. A simple menu of Italian food well executed in a small but open kitchen and a stunning range of good wines and low prices. I like the owner too a cheerful and knowledgeable wine expert who runs the place with style. Give it a go!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bacchus would drink there, and so should you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a great place to go even if you don't know that much about wine.The waiter (somelier)was very knowlegable and patient with us and his recommendations for both the main course and dessert were spot on.Just to top that off the food we orderded from the day's specials was
both packed full of flavour and delicious.

As a tip the restaurant frontage is somewhat unassuming so if you find you've missed it the first time round it's on the right hand side at the start of Monbijouplatz if heading towards the Neue Synagoge.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A relaxing evening in a food-lover's kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

At the risk of ruining this intimate, flavourful retreat, I think other diners should know about Vinaggio. Situated in a quiet corner off Hackescher Markt in Mitte, Vinaggio is small, clean, crisp and bursting with flavour. I sat on the main floor, though I understand there is also seating in the cellar. How many restaurants can you go to where you are served by the chef, who takes the time to explain exactly how she made the dish you're enjoying? How many places can you go to have a detailed discussion of the merits of southwest German red wine? Both of these made a recent evening at Vinaggio a welcome pleasure after a long day. Do not miss the starter of pasta with roquefort and pears. I also enjoyed a fantastic leg of duck with dumplings and cabbage. (Not hugely Italian, but that seemed almost beside the point.) Eating at Vinaggio is like being a welcome guest in a food lover's kitchen.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinaggio also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinaggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.