We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pangea People Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pangea People Hostel to your Saves list
Pangea People Hostel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse 34, Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
County Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Hostel staff were quick and efficient checking us in. Lockers are very big and spacious. Beds are comfortable. Bathrooms could do with being cleaned more often. Overall a good hostel which I would stay in again!

Room Tip: Bring your own towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    72
    29
    12
    6
See reviews for
4
19
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed in an eight bed mixed dorm with two friends last weekend. Hostel is right around the corner from Alexanderplatz on a main street, so quite safe! The room was bright and spacious, and had plenty of storage space, just bring your own padlock.
Showers were clean as well, only problem was that every time we went into the bathroom we almost slipped because the floors were constantly soaking wet. Overall, would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This wasn't the most memorable hostel we stayed at during our trip across Europe, but that isn't to say it was a bad one.

First of all, the location is great. Right around the corner from Alexanderplatz and down the street from a Netto's grocery store (not the greatest store ever, but it was cheap!) Check-in was smooth, although you have to pay a small fee (per device) to have access to WiFi. The employee at the front desk was knowledgeable about the area, and provided us with maps and any information we required (except he wasn't sure what a grocery store was, however some travelers behind us popped up and yelled NETTO'S!).

The room itself was clean, and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were down the hall, with good, semi-private showers, and in general were kept clean. On one of the upper floors was a decent backpackers bar, which was nice to relax in and have a beer before bed.

From what I recall, the cost was very reasonable for such a popular city. We could walk pretty much anywhere, and for further distances the metro station (Hauptbahnhof) was a 3 minute walk from the hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

-Staff were friendly and helpful, knowledgeable about the attractions and what was happening around Berlin.
-Great location, we were basically able to walk everywhere we wanted to go.
- Clean Room, although quite hot to sleep in with no air con or fan.
-Nice Bar for a quite drink after a day out sightseeing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed here with my partner in a six bed dorm. The bedrooms were good with a locker per person and a good amount of space with comfortable beds. The bathrooms were kept very clean and although they say they charge for towels there were shelves of clean towels in the bathrooms throughout our stay.
On the downside, the WiFi was not included and was very poor quality, the breakfast (for an additional €5.50/day) had a good variety including eggs, cereals, meats, cheeses, breads and spreads but the quality was pretty poor. It would serve well to fill you up but didn't taste very good! The location isn't great but it could be worse. If you are trying to do things on foot you will spend a lot of time walking but the trams and trains are nearby.
Overall it didn't have a very hostel vibe although we didn't personally visit the bar which we heard was good. The lack of any kind of relaxing social space was a bit of a shame. Definitely not the worst hostel I have stayed in by a long way but I'm sure there is a better option in Berlin for a similar price.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Room service was efficient, the room was nice enough, although the electicity sockets were in an awkward place. The location and amenities were great; the breakfast buffet was delicious and it was easy to get to from alexanderplatz.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Arrived very late on a Monday night. We were greeted by a really friendly staff member who helped us to check in.
The bedroom was really clean and very comfy. The bar does some good cocktails and the staff were brilliant! Very friendly, up for banter and always helpful.
The location of the Hostel is fantastic (2 mins around the corner from Alexanderplatz) We took advantage of the Free Alternative Tour and it was by far the highlight and best part of our trip!
The food was great in the mornings. Highly recommended to all. We will be staying again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pangea People Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangea People Hostel

Address: Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse 34, Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Pangea People Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Pangea People Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pangea People Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.