We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty snacks to go with your beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Engelberg

Engelberg
Oderberger Str. 21, 10435 Berlin, Germany
44 03 06 37
Improve this listing
Ranked #586 of 5,746 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Tasty snacks to go with your beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Went here for some late evening drinks and was impressed by the laid back and warm nature of the hosts. Ideal for sitting around, chilling and having a drink while surfing the net. I enjoyed the bottled beer and ordered a variety of meat and cheese items from their snack menu - all well made. The music was relaxed and quite therapeutic too. I left the place satisfied.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    10
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really, really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We will never be considered foodies--actually enjoy the basics like goulash and spatzle. We've searched Berlin for these tasty dishes and after ten days we found our favorite. Engelberg offers these as two separate menu items allowing us to share and create an outstanding lunch--maybe the best of both that we've had after many travels to Germany. No wonder locals seem to like this place as well.

This restaurant has a tiny indoor section and small outdoor seating area. We will not leave Berlin without returning for one final lunch/dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Prefect way to end our Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

A friend and I were looking for an authentic German cafe to round off our trip and fortunately stumbled upon the most lovely restaurant of our week.

The space itself is elegantly dressed and the deli style counter gives the reassuring feel of fresh food and wonderful flavours. The service was fantastic - and incredibly helpful considering the limited translation we managed! The food was really tasty and very reasonable, they served my favourite beer and to top it off, as we were in a hurry, the owner gave us dessert to go!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Cafe in Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We spent two weeks in Berlin, staying at Brilliant Apartments (right across the street... which are indeed brilliant). Anyhow, we didn't visit Engelberg until our last four or five days. We both agree though, its one of our favourite places ever. Amazing food. I am currently in withdrawal from their delightful Stammer Max. Its two pieces of fresh bread laid flat. Then, deliciously thin sliced ham (think priscutto) layered on top. THEN, cover that in two fried eggs. A-ma-zing. I had 3 of them, because I just had to keep coming back. It sounds greasy, but it wasn't at all. It was delightful.

My husband had the traditional German breakfast of cheese, ham, and bread. I know he really enjoyed them, because he kept ordering them.

Very chill place, very cute inside, lovely staff.... perfecto!

PS: Make sure to go in and order. Then they bring it to you. You pay right then or not depending on how busy it is.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Lovely Scandic style café with tasty homemade food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We just stumbled across this little café - and didn't regret having lunch there. The café is newly decorated. The food is really tasty and fresh. Try the apple crumble. Fantastic :) The staff is really friendly :) We will definately go back :)

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Engelberg also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Engelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Engelberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.