We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, modern rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus to your Saves list
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oranienburger Strasse 67/68 | 10117 Berlin, D-10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, modern rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed as a group of 3 for 3 nights between the 12th-15th July and had a great stay.
Our room was very clean and comfortable, with two beds located on a mezzanine above the bathroom and one sofabed at entrance level.
The steps up to the mezzanine are quite steep, which could cause a problem for older guests, but it wasn't a concern for us.
Our room was fairly quiet (we faced North on the 5th floor), but other than the odd bit of traffic outside sound was at a minimum.
The weather was very warm while we were in Berlin, however owing to the high ceiling and large windows of the room, we found that the air conditioning unit (mounted on the ceiling) was ineffective at cooling the room adequately at times.
There were lots of restaurants and bars close by (I recommend Cafe Orange just over the road for a good Breakfast or Lunch), and travel is equally simple with an S-Bahn stop literally right outside.
Overall I would thoroughly recommend this accomodation, and would definitely use them again when I return to Berlin.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni M, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you very much for rating us!
We are glad we could make your stay at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte an enjoyable one and love to hear that you would like to return on your next trip to Berlin :)
Did you know we also have hotels in other European cities, like Brussels, Munich and Vienna?
Hope to see you again soon!
All the best,
your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    203
    65
    23
    11
See reviews for
80
74
32
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed in a family room with our 18 year old grand-kids. We liked that the toilet was in a separate room from the shower with a sink in each room. It almost seemed like 2 bathrooms. It was very clean but because of no air conditioning it was hot and hard to sleep. Fans can be used on loan with a 10 euro deposit. It helped a little. There were a very small group of us older travelers in the full hotel. For 5 euros each the buffet breakfast had a lot of good choices. It was very reasonably priced for the 4 of us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for rating us!
It`s nice to hear that you had a great stay at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte.
When you`re travelling around Europe next time, why not check out our hotels in other cities, like Brussels, Cologne or maybe Vienna?
Would be a pleasure to welcome you again.
All the best, your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I Recently stayed in the meininger hotel. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The hotel was very clean and modern. We stayed in a private room with four people and it was the perfect size. Our room faced the courtyard and it was very loud. EVERYTHING echoed and the workers started early with the noise. the amenities were good as well. There is a guest kitchen, breakfast room, vending machines, laundry area, and luggage holding room. The location was great. Very close to almost all the sites. We walked everywhere. There were lots of restaurants and bars around and the tram ran down the street if you needed to get farther. Aside from the noise and heat the hotel was fantastic and I would definitely stay there again. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback!
We are glad you really appreciated the extra services like luggage holding, guest kitchen etc. - we try our best to make things easier for you and make you feel comfortable, just like at home.
It would be a pleasure to see you back one day. Why not check out our other hotels around Europe as well? Amsterdam, London, Brussels or maybe Hamburg next time?
All the best, your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pazardzhik, Bulgaria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Very nice and very comfortable hotel. Small but clean room, everything you need for your trip in Berlin! Near the hotel is the tram stop and Sban stop. At the same street are some cafés and restaurants, you can eat for 7€.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for rating us!
We are glad you enjoyed your time at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte, you are welcome any time! The location is indeed excellent, walking distance to pretty much every sightseeing spot and right in the heart of Berlin with a good connection in terms of public transportation.
Take care, your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Although it isn't centrally located, it does have an S Bahn right outside the building. One stop and your in the centre, then you are free to go where you want - After leaving my room I could be anywhere in Berlin within 15 minutes - very quickly.

The hostel also features: a cafeteria, laundry service, free wifi, indoor lounge with TV, 24 hour access to the hostel and staff who are always happy to help regardless of the time.

There are a few things to be aware of:

The staff were extremely polite and helpful when I had to contact them and where always available to answer any questions I may have had.

In terms of location the hostel isn't too far out. There is plenty of bars, cafés, restaurants and coffee houses around. You are also only 5 minutes away from the river.

When I go back to Berlin, I won't stay anywhere else. Meininger all the way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback!
Sounds like you truly enjoyed staying at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte.
We are happy to hear you will come back when you return to Berlin - that`s great!
When you`re travelling around Europe, why not check out our hotels in e.g. Hamburg, Brussels or Vienna?
Take care, your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I organised a stag do in Berlin, with 10 of us staying at the Meininger Hotel.
Great location, within walking distance of the center of Berlin.
Clean rooms, modern shower / bathroom.
I was surprised by how high the standard was for the price. Definitely value for money.
A little bit noisy when people filter in back from the clubs, but the staff did well to control any issues.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung!
Es freut uns, dass Sie einen tollen Aufenthalt im MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte hatten und Ihnen vor allem das gute Preis-Leistungsverhältnis und die Mitarbeiterkompetenz positiv aufgefallen sind. Gerne würden wir Sie bald wieder begrüßen, vll nächstes Mal in Amsterdam, Brüssel oder München?
Alles Gute für Sie!
Ihr MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Although it is located in a very central area and on a bustling street, and although it was a German holiday when I stayed, it felt peaceful in the hotel. Mostly thanks to the staff, who had good, clear and positive answers to most of my inquiries.
Clean, safe, nicely decorated, convenient, good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for rating us!
Great to hear that we were able to make your stay at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte a nice and peaceful one.
The hotel is located in a very central area indeed, with walking distance to most of the main sights and lots of restaurants and attractions.
Why not check out our hotels in Amsterdam or Salzburg, next time you`re travelling around Europe?
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus

Address: Oranienburger Strasse 67/68 | 10117 Berlin, D-10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus is located exactly where others flock to: in the bubbly Berlin Mitte district on Oranienburger Strasse. Alexander von Humboldt lived here once, and this modern and low-cost hotel has retained the spirit of this polymath. DaWanda designers helped design each hotel room individually. People from all over the world meet in the hotel bar, lounge, guest kitchen and inner courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.