We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus to your Saves list
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oranienburger Strasse 67/68 | 10117 Berlin, D-10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excelent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The hotel is perfects for traveler who does not seek for luxery . It is very simple and has everything you need . Very clean, the breakfast is rich.
The wifi is slow . The stuff ispolite and very helpful in every aspect.
Its location is perfect near all the possible transporation..and also near the Museum island .
I'll come again! and will recomend it to my friends.
Hana

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thanks for your review!
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Why not check out one of our other hotels around Europe, like Amsterdam or Salzburg?

Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    203
    65
    23
    11
See reviews for
80
74
32
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Meininger Berlin for a couple of nights in April, and had a great time! The staff is very informative and helpful. They gave us great recommendations on places to eat, the most efficient way to see some of the sights (the train system takes a while to get used to in Berlin), and were able to answer pretty much any question we had. Security is great, as there is a 24 hour concierge. We stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm. Beds were comfortable and clean. Bathrooms were clean. Location was great as it is walking distance to most sites. I couldn't ask for a more pleasant stay! Only thing that turned me off a bit was that they charged to use their computers, wi-fi is free so make sure to bring a laptop or smart phone. I stayed at the Meininger in Munich, and they let guests use their computers (with internet) for free.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for rating us!
It sounds like you had a fantastic stay at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte.
We would love to welcome you again soon.
Why not check out our hotels ins Brussels or London?

Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

High end hostel, low end hotel. Bit too far from the centre...male staff very nice, female..not so much! Rooms clean, spacious with funky decor. Dont take a room overlooking courtyard, its a walk through for everyone and the noise of plastic wheels and groups of people will wear your patience...its also where they store all their refuse bins. Wouldnt stay there again, personal choice though, more for backpackers and groups. Would suit the younger traveller ☺

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for rating us!
We`re sorry to hear you didn`t find much sleep because of the surrounding noises.
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte is located right in the heart of Berlin with lots of restaurants and attractions within walking distance and we do our best to make everyone`s stay very pleasent. However, if there`s anything you think we should work on, then your direct feedback is very helpful.
We hope to welcome you again one day, maybe next time in Amsterdam or Vienna?
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedano al Lambro, Italy
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel is closer to a hostel than a hotel but if you want a clean budget destination in Berlin this can be a good choice for you.
Rooms are very sober, with a very little table, no wardrobe (just few hangers) but they have all what you need (nice shower, hairdrier, wifi access).
Breakfast is pretty limited.

Beware that being so cheap this place is attended by flocks of young guys, so it may be noisy and chaotic in certain hours.

Best for young people, but oaky also for families with limited budget.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for rating us!
We try our best to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable no matter which age or purose of stay. Therefore we have different types of room categories.
Why not check out our superior rooms next time you are staying with MEININGER? They give you extra space and comfort with a staircase leading up to the sleeping area.
We would love to fully convince you next time and hope to see you again soon.

Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Extremely clean and modern hostel. That's where the praise stops.

The beds weren't made. A fresh duvet cover, pillow case and under sheet were stacked on the bed on top, I had to make the bed yourself (put sheet, cover and case on). I said at reception that the beds were not made and she said I know, that's normal. Absolute joke that is. In my opinion, it's completely unacceptable. There's a hostel about 40 m down the street called Generator...much nicer spot. Also, the breakfast is not worth getting up for...have a lie in!!

Room Tip: Get a small room with no bunk beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thanks for your feedback!

Hearing what our guests think about their stay is very important to us as it`s a good way to adopt to customers` wishes and to make your stay even better next time.
We are sorry to hear you were not too pleased and hope to get another chance to fully convince you next time!

All the best,
your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianconnet, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

nice but the food isn't really good, the bed isn't tidyed up... and the picnic they gived is very light... good staff, nice hotel itself, and good wifi connection.... next to a train station, quite handy. the staircase bunk bed are very sore foot.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thanks for rating us!
For breakfast we offer a rich all-you-can-eat buffet for just 5.90 Euros and additionally you have the option to get a lunch package including sandwich, cereal bar, piece of fruit and a bottle of water.
The location is indeed unbeatable, you`re absolutely right.
We hope to see you again one day to convince you to your full satisfaction.
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus

Address: Oranienburger Strasse 67/68 | 10117 Berlin, D-10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus is located exactly where others flock to: in the bubbly Berlin Mitte district on Oranienburger Strasse. Alexander von Humboldt lived here once, and this modern and low-cost hotel has retained the spirit of this polymath. DaWanda designers helped design each hotel room individually. People from all over the world meet in the hotel bar, lounge, guest kitchen and inner courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.