We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite Hotel in Berlin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Berlin

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Berlin to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Budapester Strasse 2, 10787 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #27 of 664 hotels in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Hotel in Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our third or fourth visit to the Berlin IC and it is still as great as it has been on previous visits. It is in a nice location that puts you very near attractions such as the zoo and Tiergarten Park, and you've got all the shopping you could want down the Ku'damm which is a nice walk away. You can easily get around on the public transportation links that are located very close, the bus is just across the street.

We had access to the Club lounge, and I think it is one of our favourites across all of the different IC hotels where we have stayed. There is a very nice selection for breakfast and you can order several dishes off of their menu as well. They also have a variety of beverages available all day long, as well as several snacks and food items throughout the day. Even though we were there for Christmas, the food selection was outstanding; we especially liked the little hots dishes they served in the evening. And everything is really delicious. The lounge is quite large with lots of windows so it is an enjoyable place to sit and chat or just relax and read a book. We found it perfect for our group to sit in and have a hot chocolate or coffee at the end of some sight seeing and decide what to do next. The club also has an iPad that you can borrow, an Apple computer and printer that you can use as well, and free Wifi.

We had two rooms, a classic room and a Club room that was upgraded. Both of the rooms were nicely done with a very modern feeling and sumptuous bathrooms with heated floors and big rain showers. I'd go back just for the bathrooms but luckily the rest of the hotel is just as nice. And it is impeccably clean and perfectly maintained. They had updated their entertainment software since we were there last and we love the new one since it allows you to pause live TV even.

The staff are very friendly and incredibly helpful and will share their suggestions on places to visit in Berlin. We love Berlin and will definitely be staying at the Intercontinental on our next trip.

Room Tip: I would suggest upgrading to a Club/Executive room because they have such a wonderful Club Lounge th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear KMPeterson

there is hardly anything to add to your review besides saying: Thank you! Our teams will be happy to receive your feedback.

I agree with you that the Club interContinental provides the best value for our guests as it includes breakfast, snacks and drinks, access to all areas of our SPA InterContinental, high-speed internet as well as other benefits.

During your next visit - which I hope will be soon - don't miss out on the view from Hugos Restaurant on the 14th floor of our West Wing. Thank you for staying with us several times and my teams and I look forward to your future visits.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    593
    284
    60
    15
    11
See reviews for
147
307
45
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
california
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Here for six nights. Very helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast was OUTSTANDING! Food at the Marlene Bar was also excellent. Very quiet room, extremely comfortable and cozy bed, several large mirrors, exceptional closet and storage area. Adjustable TV audio in bathroom so we don't miss a minute of news. Would return in a nano-second.

Room Tip: We arrived early (10am) and were immediately shown to our deluxe room, 6th floor, with view. Very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Ipetz,

thank you for the also very surprising review and your kind feedback on your experience at the InterContinental Berlin.

Whenever our guest rooms are ready, we check in our guests as soon as possible.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Deluxe rooms and I hope that this nano second will not take too long.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a few nights of icy cold March. The hotel is at an awesome location walking distance to quite a few places including city tour bus stop, train station and the much celebrated Ka De We. The rooms are well appointed and I got an upgrade for being a priority club member! The staff is very courteous always willing to assist. Don't forget to consult the concierge if you need help with places to go!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Aj_8093

Berlin is much more pleasant in spring and summer - both of which have been keeping us waiting this year.

Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us, as your Priority Club Status is very important to us and we always look forward to welcoming our most loyal guests.

Our concierges provide "In the know" experiences for our guests and even if you have been to Berlin several times, they might be able to point you towards something new.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed there for two nights. The hotel is really nice. My room was quite small, but it was really comfortable. The location was good because there was a park near the hotel and generally it was a silent area. The hotel was very good but also not so cheap...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear 14wf

thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us in Berlin and for hinting at our location.

We are in the position to have Berlin's largest park within 5 minutes of the hotel on the one side and Berlin's largest shopping area surrounding Kurfürstendamm on the other side while the InterContinental Berlin itself is located in a relatively quiet street.

In summer, the nearby Tiergarten provides an especially pleasant retreat from the bustling German capital with many opportunities for outdoor activities.

My team and I look forward to your future visits.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed only 1 night, but would definitely stay again.

Room 511 was very comfortable and spacious, large bathroom, well appointed. Beds are very comfortable, room is quiet, nice view of the park behind the hotel.

The staff is very knowledgable and friendly, they went out of their way to get my room ready early.

Breakfast buffet also very good, again very friendly staff.

Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Thomas

thank you for reviewing your stay at the InterContinental Berlin which was short enough to leave space for another exploration of Berlin.

Room 511 is one of our modern Deluxe Rooms which have recently been refurbished and provide the ideal base for today's business travellers. Therefore I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that our teams were able to prepare your room early.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and wish you interesting travel exeriences until then.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days, in business, attending a congress right in the hotel.
The congress itself was very well organised, it didn't interfere with the rest of the Hotel business.
Nice room, firnedly service, excelent breakfast. The Marlene bar was quite nice.
Hope to come again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Cerdeira

thank you for staying with us during your event.

We are one of the prime event locations of the German capital and have been hosting many prestigious conferences. Therefore, your feedback is very welcome to evaluate our performance during the congress.

We also hope for your return to our hotel soon.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here in the Senior Suite for 1 night back in Sept 2012. Everything was great: the room is modern and very well designed (except I don't like the expresso machine because I only drink tea - it's personal preference).

I used the swimming pool too and the pool area is great - there were nice benches to relax with complimentary fruit and water! Tthere was a staff at the pool area to keep your keycard and gave us bathrobes and towels (they even had kid size bathrobe which is a nice touch). Another great thing was that there was a dryer (spinning type) in the changing room, it's a nice touch because after putting the wet clothes in and spinned it once, it was almost dry.

My only negative comment - I put up the DND sign on the door and the housekeeping banged on the door at 10am. She said I need to press the button to let her know that I don't want to be disturbed?! That's so weird.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear CPHBear

thank you for reviewing your experience with the InterContinental Berlin.

Of course it was our fault that you were disturbed and I apologize for the inconvenience. We have two signs which signal our housekeeping services not to clean the room. One is the dark door hanger, another is the red lamp at the door which you can turn on. Either one is a sufficient signal.

Our suites are a great choice for convenience and comfort and provide many features which result in an even better InterContinental experience. I am pleased that you enjoyed our award-winning spa and that you noticed our kids bathrobes. Actually, the InterContinental Berlin is one of the child-friendly hotels in the German capital.

Again, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope that you will return for a Belrin summer experience soon.

With best regards
Robert P: Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Berlin

Address: Budapester Strasse 2, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte , Tiergarten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Berlin
#14 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#27 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Berlin 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A choice of 498 rooms and 60 suites all guaranteeing a new lifestyle experience. Modern yet discreet. Welcoming. Relaxing. Elegant. Our Club InterContinental offers a dedicated check in, a personal Guest Service Agent and a separate lounge with snack buffets during the day. The spa and sauna landscape of the Spa InterContinental spreads over a generous 1000 m² dedicated to your sheer well being. Our gym is optimally equipped and open 24 hours and 7 days a week. Panoramic views and heavenly food at Hugos Gourmet restaurant on the 14th floor. An elegant setting where our top flight Chef creates an haute cuisine dining experience garnished with one Michelin star and 17 points in the Gault Millau. From exquisitely lavish breakfasts to light business lunches the L.A. Cafe offers the best in fine food from early in the morning until late at night. Marlene Bar is the favourite venue for meeting and greeting. The InterContinental Berlin is a 15-minute walk from the Kurfürstendamm shopping street and Tiergarten Park. Buses stop just outside the hotel and run directly to Potsdamer Platz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Berlin Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;