We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, but stay off their phones” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Berlin to your Saves list
InterContinental Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Budapester Strasse 2, 10787 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 664 Hotels in Berlin
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, but stay off their phones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel is well located and a great location for conferences.
Unfortunately, the charges for using the hotel phone are well beyond reasonable limits - I used a phone at reception and was charged about 10 EUR / minute for a call to Asia (without a price list available to warn me)
The friendly staff at reception lowered the cost, but I do feel that a hotel has more honorable ways to generate revenue.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and the positive feedback concerning our conference facilities.

According to my information, you have had contact with my colleague Chris Flaggl to reach an understanding. We will take this incident as occasion to review the way our guests are informed on our telephone charges at the reception and further encourage our teams to communicate actively.

Nonetheless, I wish to welcome you back soon during a conference or another occasion.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    304
    63
    15
    12
See reviews for
157
332
49
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I've stayed at the Intercontinental in Berlin several times and although generally I was happy with my stay, I was a lttle disappointed this time. When I arrived it became evident that they had made a mistake with my reservation and didn't have a room available, so directed me to the Crowne Plaza three blocks away, where I spent the first night of my stay in Berlin. Next day when I checked back in and I brought it to the Manager's attention and it was confirmed that it was the Hotel's mistake and not mine, he was very apologetic and suggested he would make it right. I guess his idea of "making it right" was to give me a room across from the elevator. Later there was a problem with the delivery of my bags to my room, causing me to make several trips from my room to the front desk. Other than the difficulty checking in everything else was fine. The rooms are first class, the service is top notch, and the restaurant is great. I didn't, however,appreciate having to lug my bags three blocks down the road to another hotel and then back again as a result of their mistake, and I guess I expected they would have done something to make up for the inconvenience rather than simply apologize. The Intercontinental is a first class hotel and I guess I just expected better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with our hotel. As you have indicated, you have come to know during your previous stays that we offer our guests higher standards than what led to your review. For this reason I will contact you personally in order to follow up on your stay.

Obviously, you are a frequent guest and we greatly appreciate your loyalty. I hope to welcome you again soon and to be able to show you that we live up to the expectations you have.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during October 2012. At the time of our stay there was a large Logistics Convention taking place at the hotel and I had been pre-warned by email that this would be the case.
I had booked a double room with Club access and on arrival we were shown to a room on the 7th floor which was well decorated and spacious enough but due to the design only a small flat screen TV which was inside an inaccessible glass-fronted alcove built into the wall was provided. It was impossible to view the TV from the bed and whilst it was not a big problem as we were staying for 6 nights I asked reception if they could allocate another room. The Duty Manager duly came out to see me and even though the hotel was very full he managed to find me another room on the 7th floor very quickly and arranged for the twin beds to be changed for a queen size. This was dealt with efficiently and without fuss.
The Club Lounge itself was very good with a good selection of hot and cold food at breakfast and wonderfully attentive staff.
All in all I was very impressed with the hotel and its staff and the fact that such a large scale event was taking place during our stay did not detract from our enjoyment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay even during one of our busy events. We strive to offer our guests a great hotel which flexibly handles guests’ requests and needs. I will thus happily forward your feedback to the respective teams.

I hope to welcome you back in Berlin in the near future.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Everything was great about the experience, well trained staff and very nice atmosphere. The lobby was extremely spacious but warmed with the piano notes coming out from the main bar.. The rooms are big and well decorated. The hotel is 5 mins walk from the downtown.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive review. Our Marlene Bar is one of the few hotel bars in Berlin with daily live music. I am pleased that you felt that the lobby benefits from our bar’s atmosphere. I will forward your feedback to our teams and hope to welcome you back soon.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Friendly, helpful staff who could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. Supremely comfortable rooms with lots of space and a marvelous bathroom. Great Intercontinental Club - extensive breakfast, good lunch and hot dishes in the evening, with drinks. Faultless in every way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest

many thanks for your great feedback and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I will share it will my entire team.

With best regards
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here recently for the ICEF conference. I checked in quite early, room was ready and staff were very friendly and efficent. I think I had a slightly larger room as it was on a corner but the decor was superb and I thought it was very good. Few small issues though; day 1 lift button didn't work so you had to press up, get in and go up and go down. It was fixed quite quickly though. I had a big issue with the lights constantly flashing in the room. I did mention it but it didn't get resolved. Mentioned it again when I checked out and the lady on the desk was very apologetic. Loved the coffee machine, and the fact that the room had a sofa. Bathroom was good too, nice size, modern decor, HUGE shower. My bed had a large gap between the headboard and wall. We are talking around 40 cms, and that was a massive pain. The pillows fell down it when you tried to sleep. In fact the bed generally wasn't great, and not the standard I would expect from a 4*. I wish I could say I had slept well but sadly I didn't. Sound proofing is awful. I could hear every word of my neighbours conversation one night, and in the morning her alarm!

The best thing was the breakfast. I have stayed in 4 and 5* hotels in a number of locations and I would say this has to be the best ever. I really cannot praise it highly enough and would be tempted to go there just for a breakfast if I were ever in Berlin and wasn't staying there :-) If I were there on leisure I would certainly look at it again, even though the location is a little bit further out of the main sites.

Room Tip: Go for the East Wing which is the new one. Rooms are newly refurbed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel during ICEF and I am grateful that you took the time to share your experience.

We aim at resolving all issues our guests have and I have discussed your feedback with our respective teams. I am sorry that you did not sleep well due to this inconvenience. Your review pointed us towards something we needed to improve, which we are about to eliminate and which will improve our guest experience.

I would like to point out that we offer earplugs to those affected by noise.

Your great compliment on our breakfast will encourage the L.A.Café team to keep up their good work and their dedication to always push the quality further.

Again, thank you for your thorough and positive review and I hope to welcome you back in the near future – for breakfast or more.

With best regards

Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Even though the building does not look special from the outside, inside all the rooms are fantastic, moden, quiete. Even after staying in hunderts of hotels, I was impressed. Great place for jogging - Tiergarden is just 300m from the hotel and running around the park takes some 8km with possible pleasent detours you can run more than 15km in the nature in the center of Berlin. If you prefere using public transport, there is a bus stop just infront of the hotel "Budapester Strasse" with bus 200 going every 10 minutes or just 7 min walk to U1 metro. Hotel is also some 10-15 min walking to ZOO - center of west Berlin, so all directions are easy to reach by taxi, public transport or walking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_P_Herr, General Manager at InterContinental Berlin, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental Berlin and that the location of the hotel has appealed to you. The Tiergarden represents one of the best running locations in Berlin, along with the many other parks in the city and popular routes such as along the Landwehr Canal.

Our concierges may be able to point you towards even more routes during your next stay – which will hopefully be soon.

With best regards,
Robert P. Herr
General Manager
InterContinental Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Berlin

Address: Budapester Strasse 2, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte , Tiergarten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Berlin
#14 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#19 Business Hotel in Berlin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A choice of 498 rooms and 60 suites all guaranteeing a new lifestyle experience. Modern yet discreet. Welcoming. Relaxing. Elegant. Our Club InterContinental offers a dedicated check in, a personal Guest Service Agent and a separate lounge with snack buffets during the day. The spa and sauna landscape of the Spa InterContinental spreads over a generous 1000 m² dedicated to your sheer well being. Our gym is optimally equipped and open 24 hours and 7 days a week. Panoramic views and heavenly food at Hugos Gourmet restaurant on the 14th floor. An elegant setting where our top flight Chef creates an haute cuisine dining experience garnished with one Michelin star and 17 points in the Gault Millau. From exquisitely lavish breakfasts to light business lunches the L.A. Cafe offers the best in fine food from early in the morning until late at night. Marlene Bar is the favourite venue for meeting and greeting. The InterContinental Berlin is a 15-minute walk from the Kurfürstendamm shopping street and Tiergarten Park. Buses stop just outside the hotel and run directly to Potsdamer Platz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Berlin Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.