We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smallest thinnest towels ever...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Berlin Tempelhof Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Berlin Tempelhof Airport to your Saves list
Mercure Berlin Tempelhof Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hermannstrasse 214-216 | Eingang Rollbergstrasse, 12049 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Odiham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“smallest thinnest towels ever...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

strange title I know but I actually think towels are quite an important factor in your hotel stay...even on an overnight you will always have at least one shower..if not two. Here at the Mercure they provide what I believe are the smallest towels I have ever had, and even worst they are really thin...in England it is the kind and size I would class as a 'tea towel' - something used for drying dinnerware. Any way aside from the towels a few more comments...the service was generally good and the hotel has a frequent shuttle to the airport. The food in the restaurant and breakfast were also very good. A couple of tips...some of the rooms are really close to a very busy road so ask for ones at the back of the hotel away from the noise (which runs late and starts early!). Also if you are organising a meeting there I suggest you check out the layout or even visit if possible -many of the meeting rooms have off centre screens which isn't the best for your delegates in terms of viewing the screen.

Room Tip: ask for ones at the back...away from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    192
    69
    13
    4
See reviews for
57
124
51
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

hotel was clean and comfortable and staff were very friendly and helpful. It is only a few stops on the underground to the centre of Berlin (and only about a 200m walk to the station-a tip for the Berlin metro system...you need enough coins to pay for your ticket using the machines. They don't accept visa or MasterCard). Although the area is probably not the best in Berlin, it was a very pleasant stay and we loved the fact that there were so many shops and restaurants all along the street. It has a good vibe.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

A very good hotel if you're running the Berlin Marathon.

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 3 nights over marathon weekend 2014. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful.

It's 400m from Boddinstrasse U-Bahn so getting around is easy.

it's 2 miles from the Marathon Expo where you collect your race number, I ran there Saturday morning and back as a gentle loosener before the race on Sunday.

There is also an excellent pasta/pizza restaurant 250m away where I got all my Saturday pasta meals from pre race.

Hotel WiFi is free and very good too. Didn't get the breakfast so can't comment. Great hotel.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We have just spent 5 nights at this Hotel. We were there to attend a conference in the nearby Estrel (Conference) Hotel, which was fully booked.
Hotel Mercure is a pleasant enough hotel with nice rooms, pleasant staff. The Restaurant serves very good food UNLESS they are catering for numbers. We held a Seminar in the hotel one evening for 60 people and organised a buffet supper for them afterwards. The food was very disappointing. In fact, it was dreadful. We were entertaining a lot of people that night and felt very let down by the hotel.

Also, this is not a particularly good hotel for tourists as it is in a very run down area with no local restaurants. You would have to take a Taxi or the Tube at least 7 stops toward the centre of Berlin to find good restaurants.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and happy with our room. However, don't expect a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I have stayed on 3 occasions in this hotel in August and September on business. The rooms are comfortable but are "ageing". On the first occasion the room I was allocated had a sink which did not drain and a threadbare armchair. The WIFI in the room was also non existent/very weak. On the third visit I insisted on changing my allocated room because the WIFI was again very poor. I was staying 3 nights and needed to work online in the evenings. The hotel staff were very happy to oblige, but, except by the door, the signal in the room was only marginally better.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights recently as my partner was attending a conference nearby. Our room was spacious, quiet and clean, although some of the furniture was somewhat worn and will soon need replacing. However the main parts of the hotel were tidy and well furnished and the bar and lounge areas were comfy and welcoming. Overall the staff were friendly and helpful, although we struggled to get bar service mid afternoon despite it being advertised that bar service was available. The breakfasts were very good with the buffet dishes being constantly re-stocked and the food was of good quality. The location of the hotel was good for us and there was good underground station access near by. We used this mode of transport most of the time and could easily reach most places for sightseeing and restaurants/bars etc within about 20 minutes. We would definitely use this hotel again on our next visit to Berlin.

Room Tip: We always try and choose a room some distance from the lifts as this ensures minimum footfall past y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Berlin Tempelhof Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Berlin Tempelhof Airport

Address: Hermannstrasse 214-216 | Eingang Rollbergstrasse, 12049 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#115 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#144 Business Hotel in Berlin
#153 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Berlin Tempelhof Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Berlin Tempelhof Airport is centrally located, close to Alexanderplatz (6.4 km) and the Kurfurstendamm boulevard (12.7 km). Our 4 star hotel offers 216 rooms, suites and rooms for long stays. The 250 sqm fitness area includes the Vitarium biosauna, steam bath and solarium. Papillon restaurant has a stylish atmosphere and serves selected regional specialities and international cuisine. Our 1100 sqm conference area has everything you need for a perfect function or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Berlin Tempelhof Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Berlin Tempelhof Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Berlin Tempelhof Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.