We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg to your Saves list
Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Knesebeckstrasse 8-9, 10623 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Gates Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #288 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good place for reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I like almost everything in that hotel. 12 minutes by bus from Tegel Airport, a few minutes by U-bahn from the city center, clean, big enough room, not noisy (we had a room in the building B with window no the back). And the price was pretty good.
The only thing you should be aware of is a welcome bottle of water, which is not included in the price. You have to pay 4 euro for that :-(

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    202
    60
    18
    16
See reviews for
60
119
59
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The rooms in this hotel is very spacious and clean. They don't have a baby cot, so if you travel with a baby be preapred to let him/her sleep on the floor. Hotel is also slightly far from major attractions, but within walking distance from the hop-on hop-off bus tours.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Awesome hotel in for mid-budget travelers.
Pros:
* Proximity to the metro and bus stops
* Nice calm location
* Lot of shops and restaurants near by
* Very friendly staff members
* Spacious, Clean surroundings and tidy rooms
* Luggage storage facility provided

Cons:
* Hotel consists of 2 buildings, no good view of the city if allotted rooms in 2nd building
* Not spacious enough for 3 beds in the room
* Pillow was horrible
* Additional bed was very unsatisfactory

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, India
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have booked this hotel through pointshound website.

I arrived early before the check-in time and so I had to wait in the lobby for check-in. However the receptionist helped me to check in early before time, which gave a positive impression. The staff was pleasing and helpful.

The room offered was located on the back side of the hotel in the mezzanine floor with the window facing a small lawn. The rooms was quite small, however comfortable.

WLAN worked at acceptable speeds and I cannot find any negatives in my short stay here..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Just come back from Berlin, I went there with my wife and son (15yo).
I booked the room in advance, so got 60% discount for three nights.
The room was in reality a place with two small room, large and comfortable, the two small roooms were one with double bed and single bed, and another one with a single bed and small sofa.
Very good for three adult people, but also for four in case of family with two childs.
Once arrived in the room we discovred there was missing one pillow and a couple of towels, but as I went in the recepetion and advised, immediately the missing things arrived.
The hotel is located close to the zoo (one metro station using the U2 line), easy to reach from both the airport thanks to the bus and RB lines.
Breakfast is continental one, and is very good.
So, if you have the opportunity to book in advance and get the discount, I highly reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can, book in advance and specify how many people you're, for sure you'll get more tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

this hotel is easily found 250 metres or so from Ernst Reuter station on red U2 line.One stop from Zoological gardens.This is a very handy route into the City sightseeing areas.
Breakfast was included in our booking via Easyjet,not sure I would pay the 9.50 as their are so many eating places along the road it is on.plus grocers coffee shops wine bars etc.
Reception was excellent and helpful and all in perfect English.(5 different people) Luckily we were top floor rear and overslept first night as it was too quiet.
Two snack machines in the lobby which included a drinks vending machine included beer.
TV was huge and so was our room. Agree pillows were mega soft and bed slightly low and the floor creaked a tad but plenty of wardrobe space and free lockable safe but no fridge.
The single smallish lift was more than adequate and all this at a Bargain price.
You cannot really go wrong. Only negative was the lighting was slightly gloomy compared to my personal preference.Wifi was excellent.
Its less than a ten minutes walk to the "Ku"dam and 4 minutes to the Opera House (Savoy) which is a lot nearer than Opera station.
Hotel Otto is almost next door.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel through a deal, and would have given it a much higher rating if the receptionist had been more professional. Both at check in and check out Fraulein Vallejo showed little interest in her guests, and virtually threw the key across the desk. On check out there was no inquiry about if we had enjoyed our stay which I found very unusual. Perhaps a different career choice away from the hospitallity industry? Other than that all the other staff wewre great, the hotel is 5 minutes from Ernst Reuter Platz and the U2 Ubahn line, and there are some very good bars and restaurants down the street toward Savigny Platz and the Ku'damm. Would probably stay again.

Room Tip: Get up high away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg

Address: Knesebeckstrasse 8-9, 10623 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Gates Hotel)
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet side street of Kurfurstendamm our innovative traditional hotel is located in the city-west of Berlin. Several times our house has been awarded for its excellent value for money: In this stylish, partially landmarked hotel each of the 107 rooms is equipped with Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gates Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.