We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg to your Saves list
Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Knesebeckstrasse 8-9, 10623 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Gates Hotel) (Charlottenburg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

On the plus side:
- well located for both U and S Bahn access
- a short stroll to Ku'Dam
- the neighbourhood felt safe to walk about late at night
- a broad choice of restaurants nearby
- breakfast offers a varied choice and the breakfast staff are very pleasant
However:
- the safe and a few lights in our room didn't work
- the walls and floors are thin so we were treated to the noise of our neighbour's TV until the early hours of the morning
- on our departure day, housekeeping were very annoyed with us because we weren't ready to leave before 9am - the handbook does say that you have til 11am to check out
- pillows aren't the comfiest

All in: a good base if you want to explore the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    220
    69
    20
    16
See reviews for
69
126
67
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Clean in a great location only a few minutes walk from a couple of stations and main shopping area. Plenty of cafes and restaurants near by with loads of choices. Found all of the staff to be friendly and welcoming. We got a great deal on flights/hotel and had breakfast included have to admit even though there was plenty of choice didnt feel it was worth €9.50 per person each day and certainly would not of paid that amount of money for it but for those that dont take that option there are at least 4 cafes within 2 minutes walk where you can get breakfast. Would also add if you're not an early riser try to get a room at the back we overlooked the street and were woken every morning at 6.30ish by the refuse collection!
If you like firm pillows then be warned these are extremely soft and even with extra pillows still too soft (had no problem in getting extra pillows from reception) however would not let that stop me staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenoble
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Clean and well located in a very pleasant and convenient. We had a very large room for 4 with a four metre high ceiling and huge windows. A lot of restaurants in the neighbourhood. We rented bikes and drove through the big zoo park everyday to go downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I booked on line specifying twin beds, and had it confirmed on an email print out. When my friend and I were shoed the room it had a joint double bed. I explained that was not what I booked. The receptionist argued with me that they were not aware and for the next time (!) I should make sure that I let them know. We were then allocated to another room with twin beds. On arrival into that room one bed was unmade, the other bed looked like it had been slept in, the bathroom had a used towel hanging up and a bag of rubbish on the ledge. On further complaint one bed was made and the "used bed" was left in the same state, the towel was removed, however the rubbish remained on the shelf. When I requested that the "used" bed be made I was told that I could make the bed but there was no one that could make it for me until the next day. I took the rubbish to the front desk myself. I also reported that there were two light globes broken in the room, the receptionist noted this for maintenance to fix, however over our three days stay this was not rectified. At the time of my complaint about the used bed to the receptionist, another guest overheard my conversation in the lobby and stated that she too had experienced used "filthy " towels in her room that smelt. We were not offered any recompense for the state of the room. I could not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We arrived at the hotel 4 hours earlier than our check-in time and the hotel staff were very friendly and kind and let us keep our suitcases in a locked room so we could go and explore for a few hours before check-in, without lugging our suitcases around!
All staff spoke good English and we always found them extremely pleasant and ready to help when we needed.The room itself was very clean, we paid extra for a double bed and I am so glad we did because the bed was just SO comfortable! We had a TV with mainly german channels, although we did manage to find a music channel and news channel in English. We had a lovely little outside area with a table and chairs. We had our room cleaned every day whilst we were out and our towels changed everyday as well. The location was just crazy! The hotel is literally 2 minutes walk away from Ernst Router Platz Station, which itself was pretty central to everywhere. We bought a 7 day ABC travel ticket for something ridiculous like 35E and it was well worth it! We were back and forth on the underground and subway everyday and evening! The hotel is situated in a really lovely quiet street, with plenty of choice for restaurants (although the majority are Italian!). There were also 2 places we could get breakfast from a 30 second walk down the road from the hotel.

Really great value for money here! I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very close to the metro, perhaps 300 metres. Checking in was quick and efficient and the staff were friendly and efficient. The room was huge and clean. The decor was a little dated. The breakfast was a bit dear at 9.50 euros so I didn't try it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Spent a week at the Gates Hotel. The Positives: great location, brilliant shower, nice bathroom, lovely linen, good bed, good breakfast, pleasant staff. The negatives: the pillows are RIDICULOUS, if you need a good pillow, this hotel is not for you. I wish that we hadn't underestimated how good it is to relax after a busy day and watch some TV in English. There's only so much CNN news you can watch and the BBC news channel was frozen all week. Just one entertainment/film channel would have been so welcome. And finally, the computer in reception for visitors to use? - It doesn't work (whatever the staff tell you) it didn't work all week and we were told to 'go next-door' where we spent 10 euros to use the internet every day. Tip: use the supermarket at Zoologischer station, everything you need at a good price Tip: go to Berlin Zoo, Its the most amazing day out and the highlight of our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg

Address: Knesebeckstrasse 8-9, 10623 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Gates Hotel)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet side street of Kurfurstendamm our innovative traditional hotel is located in the city-west of Berlin. Several times our house has been awarded for its excellent value for money: In this stylish, partially landmarked hotel each of the 107 rooms is equipped with Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gates Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.