We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chipps

Chipps
Jagerstrasse 35, 10117 Berlin, Germany
3036444588
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #212 of 5,981 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top notch food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a lunch here on a Friday, visiting from London, was one of the nicest lunches i'd had in a while! Everything tasted good. The food, the wine, ever the bread was superb. And i'd say rather reasonable in price. I will definitely go back next time I visit Berlin :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    55
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I had an excellent dinner with my wife. Prices were reasonable and the service was good. The food was exceptionally good, although rather small portions were served

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The restaurant is near the "Auswärtiges Amt" and the "Gendarmenmarkt". Easy to find! We liked the concept of the restaurant - and spent there some time while selecting our mid-day breakfast. Everything is prepared in an open kitchen in front of your eyes - and it is almost difficult to make a choice. Fresh food, very nice personnel and great area. You should not miss it!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasty Food, Fantastic Service, Great For Vegetarians, Good Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was astounded when I found a vegetarian restaurant in Berlin - I had thought that German cuisine was heavily meat-centric. This place makes remarkable vegetarian food. Breakfast was spectacular with plenty of options (omelettes, French toast, salads, eggs benedict, etc). Lunch was also very tasty with a variety of options. The prices are very reasonable, as lunch for 2 (one shared appetizer, two entrees) will cost approximately EUR 30.

The restaurant appears to have incredibly high standards for cleanliness. I saw the food being cooked right in front of me. They serve some meat items for breakfast (bacon and sausage), but they are cooked separately from the vegetarian items.

If you like vegetarian food, also try Cookies and Cream restaurant for dinner. It is walking distance from Chipps and is owned by the same management.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food with interesting combinations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This restaurant was a short walk from our hotel (Cosmo Hotel Mitte Berlin) and we found it by accident. Literally, we were just walking around looking for a place and we saw this. At first we passed it because the menu was limited, but then we doubled back and decided to give it a shot. The food is GREAT! We went back a few times during our short 5 night stay in Berlin (we tried their breakfast (x2), lunch and dinner (x2)). It was consistent and always delicious. Their freshly made juices are good--especially the apple-ginger combination. The brown bread is also pretty awesome. For dessert the hazelnut chocolate mousse is like serious good...if you like nutella, try it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chipps also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Chipps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chipps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.