We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Good Morning Vietnam - Kreuzberg

Good Morning Vietnam - Kreuzberg
Bergmannstr 102, im Hof, Berlin, Germany
Bergmannstr 102, im Hof, 10961 Berlin +49 30 62 90 13 77
Improve this listing
Ranked #763 of 5,647 restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This little gem is excellent, not too expensive and the food is really tasty and interesting. We shared a host of starters for lunch, which I'd recommend to anyone wanting to explore the menu but don't feel like a 3-course menu.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    11
    12
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place, just off the tourist trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

During a recent visit to Berlin, a friend who is a resident of the city recommended this place to us.

It lies under 10mins away by U-Bahn/Walk from Alexanderplatz and we visited on a Friday night without making an advance booking.

Following a short and totally reasonable wait of 5 minutes, we were shown to a table. We instantly like the restaurant's atmosphere and were made to feel very welcome by the staff despite their basic English and our basic German or Vietnamese!

My girlfriend and I decided to share two types of spring roll (both quite different) as a starter. Both were incredible! Perfectly cooked, with crispy pastry and crunchy, fresh filling bursting with flavour. Not greasy in the slightest; obviously cooked in very fresh and hot oil.

Whilst still enjoying our starter, our main dishes arrived (slightly annoying, but at least the service is quick!). I had a really interesting beef dish that was in a clear sauce, served with rice and vietnamese style vegetables, whilst my girlfriend had a type of chicken and sweet potato curry with a brilliant coconut sauce. Great presentation and friendly dishes, although possibly toned down to Western palettes with regards to the chilli content (a shame as we both love extremely hot food!).

The service was friendly, the restaurant was comfortable and the food was great. Our bill was a pleasant surprise and came to less than 35 euro, including three beers. We were on holiday for 8 days and visited three countries and this was in the top three meals we had. Definitely worth a visit and will be going again next time I take a trip to Berlin!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Vietnamese food in Berlin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Awesome restaurant! Great value, food is very cheap and serving sizes are substantial. Vietnamese cocktails are delicious and cheap as well, along with the beer. The restaurant was very busy, so we shared a table with 2 other people. Not a problem for us, but might be for others. The area the restaurant in is great as well, wander around while you digest your amazing meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Try the other branch in Kreuzberg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

I cannot seem to start a new thread as this branch is already on. There is another branch at 102 Bergmammstr. 10961 in a courtyard just off Kreusberg's main shopping/eating street.

Found this by chance and immediately attracted by the very modern glass cube design attached to the side of a building in the courtyard. Very young couples/families crowd (Sat. lunchtime) and always full. Loved the presentation of the food - vibrant colours & flavours. Service was calm & friendly. Rather odd toilet setup, borrow a key & go outside & down an alley but hey-ho, small quibble.

Large pots of bamboo outside in courtyard with lanterns everywhere which must be magical after dark. Also have an open air terrace on top of building which would be glorious in spring/summer.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Morning Vietnam - Kreuzberg also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Good Morning Vietnam - Kreuzberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Morning Vietnam - Kreuzberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.