We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst to your Saves list
Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neue Rossstrasse 11-12, 10179 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked two rooms at this hotel during our trip to Berlin for three nights at late december, with reasonable price.

We parked our car at the hotel parking which is a 3 min. walk from the hotel. The U-Bahn is just in front of the hotel and that helps a lot.

Very nice and clean hotel with great service! We will definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JensPeters, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest,

it is great to hear such a good feedback concerning our hotel.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you soon.

Kind regards

Jens Peters und Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    284
    41
    9
    4
See reviews for
48
249
55
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed there at the beginning of May 2013. The hotel is situated on the Fisher Insel - a rather quiet district (and there are no construction sites anywhere near, which is rather unusual for Eastern Berlin nowadays!) only 10-minutes walk from famous Museum Insel and Berliner Dom. It is only two U-Bahn stops away from one of the main Berlin transport hubs - Alexanderplatz. The room was very spacious, with a large bathroom. Beer and water in the mini-bar are free of charge. If breakfast is not included in the price of your stay, it will cost you 16 euro. The choice of food is not very impressive, but everything seems to be of good quality and rather tasty. The only drawback is that the dining-room is so small, that some tables are placed in the corridors of the first floor nearby. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. Drawing the line under the story I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JensPeters, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive comment. It motivates us to continue with our efforts.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Berlin.

kind regards
Jens Peters and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Excellent hotel for what it's offering. Really spacious room, soundproofed, comfortable bed and clean.The metro station is one step away which makes it really convenient to go around the city!Coffee and tea amenities for free and 2 bottles of water and beer every day for free as well!!!The English speaking employees were very helpful and hospitable. The breakfast was too expensive to have so no opinion on that. Overall, a great hotel with only minus the weak wifi signal perhaps due to the room I stayed (being at the end of the 2nd floor) but I wouldnt change it for the best wifi signal ever due to the magnificent view!!!!

Room Tip: Choose room with view at the canal of the Spree river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JensPeters, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear guest,

it is great to hear such a good feedback concerning our hotel.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you soon.

Kind regards

Jens Peters und Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel and what a find.We exited the U2 at Museum Markes and the hotel was there - 30 steps away - so so convienint so we used the U2 quite often.A tip though - you obtain tickets via a machine but they do not accept notes so make sure you always carry some coins and then validate your ticket before going on the train. From the moment we stepped into the hotel the staff were friendly and very helpful. We were upgraded to a riverside room which was excellent and had everything we needed - well we had to ring down to ask for an extra pillow and this arrived within 5 minutes. The daily complimentary water and beer was a lovely touch and well appreciated after a hard day sightseeing. The area is very quiet which was lovely although we had a way to walk to find restaurants. One night we took the dinner cruise which started within 5minutes walk of the hotel so very conveinient. One day we used the spa in the basement which was nice and relaxing although the steam room wasn't very hot and there was no-one to ask - the sauna and plunge pool were very nice. Near to the hotel at Spittlemarkt(tube or 5mins walk) is a lovely Bakery/cafe called Thurrmann and is worth a visit any time as their bread and cakes are delicius and breakfast is of excellent quality and good value at around 8 euros for 2. We were so pleased to have chosen this hotel and would reccommend it. although we did not have time to use either the restaurant or the bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JensPeters, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear guest,

we are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and our location.

We would be pleased, if you would give us the opportunity to be at your service once more.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at our Hotel in Berlin

With kind regards from Berlin
Jens Peters and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 4 days in April for a city trip. Ideal location, just in front the underground station. 2 stops to Alexanderplatz.
Friendly staff, daily 2 free bottles of water and beers in the minibar (a nice touch), free wifi, sauna and fitness. Good breakfast, room was clean and comfortable but the pillows were in poor quality. The bed was hard to sleep on. There were little toilet amenities, just a basic hand soap and shower gel. As our room was located on the 1st floor, and the breakfast was served on the same level, there is a breakfast table right in front of our door. We could hear early birds having breakfast while we were still in bed.
Highly recommended is the Pooja Indian restaurant on a 3 minutes walking distance from the hotel. Great service, delicious foods and good price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river but not on the 1st floor. Rooms facing the river are more quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JensPeters, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taken the time to commend our services so positively.

We would be pleased, if you would give us the opportunity to be at your service once more.

Hopefully seeing you soon.

Kind regards
Jens Peters and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and found its location to be ideal, right next to a u bahn station (markiches museum). The room was clean, comfortable and quiet which was nice after a day of exploring berlin. The room had two bottles of free beer and water which were replenished daily.The breakfast seemed a little dear at 16 euros per person per day, but found a fab bakery just up the road (near spitlmarkt u bahn station) which served hot food and pastries.

Room Tip: Room 503 has a nice view over the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JensPeters, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,

it is great to hear such a good feedback concerning our hotel.

It would be a pleasure to welcoming you soon.

Kind regards

Jens Peters und Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very comfortable with helpful pleasant staff. The location was perfect for walking to some of the major locations or right beside the subway if you are going a bit further. Good size rooms with a decent over the bath shower. The free bottles of beer and water a very welcome touch every day!
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a stay in Berlin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JensPeters, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,

we are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and our location.

We would be pleased, if you would give us the opportunity to be at your service once more.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at our Hotel in Berlin

With kind regards from Berlin
Jens Peters and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst

Address: Neue Rossstrasse 11-12, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#68 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#117 Family Hotel in Berlin
#132 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derag Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.