We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location to Explore Berlin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse 3, 10178 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #22 of 664 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersGold level
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location to Explore Berlin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed for 4 days at the beginning of December, we met up with friends at the hotel who had flown in earlier in the day to see the sights and Christmas Markets. The Hotel is well situated to explore the sights of Berlin either on foot or via the excellent S / U Bahn network. The hotel itself is clean and very well run with welcoming, friendly and efficient staff. The rooms are fairly standard and what you would expect of this class of hotel. The only downside with the room was that 1. it had no Tea/coffee making facilities, disappointing as using room service takes an age and is expensive. 2. Our room faced inwards to the lobby area - whilst the view of the fish tank was interesting - there was no natural air and the room was rather stuffy and although the aircon was good makes the atmosphere very dry. The breakfast was substantial with a lot of choices; unfortunately some of the hot choices were less than lukewarm. The Concierge was excellent taking time to assist with enquiries, directions and in booking a restaurant for the Sunday night after a number of abortive attempts or our choice he booked us in at one of his recommendations - 1840 at Hakesher Markt - 10 mins walk from the hotel - an excellent traditional German restaurant - food was wonderful and portions extremely generous !. The only really annoying factor was the lifts - the rooms are laid out in a circular formation around the lobby / fish tank area - there are 4 lifts for some 600 + rooms and NO guest access to the stairs - the stairs are for emergency use only - with a number of malfunctions during our stay leaving only 2 lifts functioning - this lead to many long and frustrating waits to either get up to or down from your room - on one occasion one party called reception after waiting for over 15 mins and were escorted down the stairs to breakfast!. Withstanding the lifts we enjoyed our stay and particularly enjoyed one of the most lively lobby / reception areas we have experienced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,406
    716
    133
    37
    15
See reviews for
303
1,007
136
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in order to visit the many local Christmas markets. It was snowing and -3 degrees outside when we arrived. Sadly our initial welcome at the hotel was frosty. Normally hotels of this standard welcome guest with a smile and make them feel right at home but not when we checked in. On arrival at the room we were pleased to have a nice modern room with views across the city and a small balcony. We had booked a double room but the room was a twin, we were told the hotel didnt have double beds but housekeeping put some sheets between the beds to try to emulate a double. The room was otherwise very modern with a nice bathroom. It was very clean. I think the hotel should consider having tea/ coffee making facilities in each room as its unusual nowadays for hotels not to have this. The hotel facilities are nice. There is a small gym with some weights and cardio machines, a nice spa area and a pool with a countercurrent system which is good for swimming against. The concierge was helpful as was our checkout receptionist. Last minor niggle was housekeeping knocking on our door on 3 separate occasions on the day we checked out thus waking us up 3 times. Perhaps they should wait for people to check out first....Despite the minor niggles which could easily be corrected this hotel is still well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Excellent rooms, Just as in the pictures!! Clean and very comfortable. great base for trains,trams,buses and tube station. Just over the road for Christmas markets. Food&drinks a bit pricey but plenty local restaurants nearby. room cleaned every day (as one would expect). Great shower&bath and lovely thick towels. rooms quiet, No noise from people shutting doors etc., Had a lovely time in hotel and local amenities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed in the Radisson for 3 nights. We could not find fault with the hotel. The hotel is very modern the huge fish tank in the lobby is brilliant. We upgraded to a business class room. It was well worth the money. The room was very clean and spacious, beds very comfy and the breakfast buffet had everything you needed to set you up for the day. The staff were all very friendly. The hotel is in an excellent location within walking distance to most attractions, shopping and we found a great restaurant called emmas round the corner from the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone we had a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

just got back from a fantastic 4 night stay in the radisson blue hotel in berlin.
we had a standard room and i must say that it was brilliant, great beds,big bathroom,mini bar...if you like a tipple,bedding changed every day and fresh towels.
overall 99.9% satisfied.
the only thing that me and the wife found a little irritating was the fact that when you woke up you could not make yourself a drink of tea/coffee, now i know what a lot of people are thinking....i.e. triviall, but who wants to spend 5-8 euros on a cup of tea/coffee with room service or 5-8 euros on a very small bottle of juice from the mini bar.....not me
But all in all a fantastic hotel and the staff could not do enough for you.....we would highly reccomend this hotel for buisness of a little get away with style....99.9/100

Room Tip: south side room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here, well located near Xmas markets and plenty of restaurants. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the lobby with the massive fish tank. Our son insisted we had breakfast there. He also enjoyed the swimming pool. We found the room to be warm and quiet whilst it snowed outside. They were clean and well maintained.

We we're warmly welcomed although at times service at afternoon tea and breakfast was slow, the staff were helpful and hardworking but at times did not seem to be enough of them. The standard of food in the restaurant was high with very passable Indian options also available.

There was one other issue which also slightly detracted from a very satisfactory stay, the temperature of the pool environment and changing rooms was cold, with our son often shivering by the time he got into the shower. Overall a great Xmas experience for families but a few small details let down this hotel from being the perfect place to explore Xmas in Berlin.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Reading the reviews on TA before I left I thought the feedback was good, but this wasn't the case.

Unfortunately problems began at CHECK-IN!! When we were advised our proof of purchase through a well known travel agency was insufficient proof of payment. The check-in management questioned us like we were criminals, suggesting we didn't have a voucher, when our paperwork clearly displayed the word Voucher and a voucher number. I can only imagine they are more accustomed to processing bookings through expedia and laterooms and not this agency.

We finally convinced the staff that we had a reservation and they read back our names and the duration of our stay (further proof that this information was already in their computer system.. so why all the questions???)

Upon receiving our room keys were found they didn't work in the lift (so someone assisted us up to our room) and when we reached our room the keys didn't work and we had to return to the front desk. The front desk lady appeared to be more concerned with answering a phone call whilst assisting us and proceeded to just push the new key cards across the desk without so much as a smile or 'there you go'.

The room was dark and pokey, and at 3 separate times we were interrupted by hotel staff.

It appears that the cleaning staff do not have a list of the guests who have checked out.. because they walk from door to door disturbing guests to see if they have left yet (this was at 9am)

TIP > Arrive early for breakfast.. as we waited 15 minutes to be served.

The beds were terrible, they were two single beds without locking wheels so the beds just slipped apart all night.

Sorry Radisson Blu, I have had better service and a better night sleep from a 2 Star bed and breakfast.

Money does not buy a good nights sleep.. just a fancy building.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room close to the lifts, as the rooms on the opposite side are quite a walk each t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin

Address: Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse 3, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Berlin
#12 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#14 Family Hotel in Berlin
#15 Business Hotel in Berlin
#20 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel is one of the most exciting hotels in Berlin-Mitte. It is located in the historic centre directly on the bank of the river Spree and opposite to the Berlin Cathedral. Just a strolls away are restaurants, bars, boutiques, galleries and famous sights, such as Alexanderplatz, Museum Island, Boulevard Unter den Linden and the exclusive shops along Friedrichstrasse. Public transport, Berlin airport and the Messe Berlin fairground are within easy reach. A unique attraction is the AquaDom at the hotel lobby. It is the world’s largest cylindrical aquarium with a fascinating underwater world in one million litres of salt-water. 427 non-smoking guest rooms and suites combine timeless elegance with cutting edge comfort. The clear design in the puristic style reflects urban trends. The dark wood and warm tones of the high-class furniture create a homely atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with flat screen TV, trouser press, laptop-size safe, air-conditioning, minibar, tea and coffee provisions. Wireless-LAN and high-speed Internet access is included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin Hotel Berlin
Radisson Berlin
Berlin Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.