We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good german (swabisch) Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Wiesenstein

Restaurant Wiesenstein
Viktoria-Luise-Platz 12a, 10777 Berlin, Germany
+49(0)30 21912405
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #266 of 5,675 restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“good german (swabisch) Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you are looking for a good orginal german restaurant in Berlin this is the one ! Nice food in a semi formal setting for a good price, Reservation is necessary! And service with a smile!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    40
    32
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
EU
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good traditional German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Very good food and service. Try Elephant ear Schnitzel and chicken soup :-) Also the Tripe is very good

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Defiantly worth a visit !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great local food. The stuff is helpful, kind and efficient. Although the restaurant was full all dishes arrived on time, hot as needed and most of all very tasty. A various of dishes to choose from. Recommended with all my heart and mouth full.
The price is surprisingly low for that kind of meal. Reserve ahead, Pay cash, no credit cards.
Do not miss

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“WOW! Changed my mind about some German foods.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Pleasant all around (if you have reservatons on the weekend!). I never imagined a knoedel could taste so good. Awesome, friendly, entertaining staff. Very good wines. and then large portions of very good food. If there's something more you want, just ask.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love at first sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I ate here immediately after arriving in Berlin for my Erasmus semester abroad (in 2008) and, since then, when I happen to go back to Berlin I always go there once!
Last August I invited there my girlfriend and, even though she normally tends to be skeptical about food she doesn't know, she was enthusiastic. In the summer, you can eat outside, with a nice view over the lovely Viktoria-Luise-Platz. Food is traditional from the German region of Schwaben: however, it is cooked in a pleasant and light way, so, even if you eat the big portions prepared, you don't feel any burden. This time I had Maultaschen (a sort of very big ravioli, with a thicker pasta) with mushrooms (cantharellus cibarius, just very briefly roasted in the pan, with no sauce, cream or anything): simply delicious. My girlfriend went for a roasted trout, with almonds and potatoes as a side-dish: again, perfectly cooked, well-balanced flavours and taste. I drank a freshly made cold drink prepared with elder flowers and lime: refreshing and tasteful! As to the price, you are in the range of some 20 euros per person. The waiter is very kind and smiling, as well as very supportive if you need help in choosing your food.
The restaurant is very much appreciated by the gay community of Schoeneberg and, as a matter of fact, we were the only eterosexual couple in the garden; however, this somehow contributed to the relaxed and relaxing atmosphere of the place.
If you are in Berlin and want to overcome your prejudices on German cuisine, you should definitely go there!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Wiesenstein also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany

Been to Restaurant Wiesenstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Wiesenstein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.