We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional German food in a lovely setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Augustiner am Gendarmenmarkt

Augustiner am Gendarmenmarkt
Charlottenstrasse 55, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
+49 030 20454020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #299 of 6,147 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mitte
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Traditional German food in a lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A tour guide we had earlier in the day recommended this place as a great restaurant serving traditional German food at a reasonable price. It certainly didn't disappoint.

We got there early (around 6pm - it was also a Monday) as we didn't have time to book and am glad we did. We were seated immediately (in saying that it was already busy) but by 6.30pm there was queue - everyone seemed to be seated quite quickly though.

German food was what we were after - pretzels, schnitzel, pork and beer - in a warm atmosphere. Some of the reviews said the service was bad and slow. We had neither. Staff were nice, attentive and everything came out quickly. We had read on TA it was like a German beer hall, which it was, but really slick and surprisingly quite a romantic atmosphere.

All in all, we paid 50 Euros for dinner including pretzels, a couple of drinks each, a main meal and a tip. We were happy with that. I would highly recommend!

This place is across the road from where the Christmas Markets will be held in the Gendarmenmarkt from next week so imagine it will be even busier then! Would definitely recommend a booking.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    631
    157
    33
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Beer decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A popular place in Berlin to visit, the day we visited the restaurant was too busy. We managed to have a drink at the bar while we waited for our table. The food was decent & the portions large.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Traditional German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The restaurant was very busy with tourists and locals, always a good sign. We were seated in the back part which was ok but didn't quite hav ethe atmosphere of the main part of the restaurant. The service was very efficient and when the food arrived it wa snot only excellent quality but piping hot. The wine and beer were also very good. You could have felt they were keen to get you in and out but we just sat and talked and enjoyed the atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Decent food, abysmal service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Came into this establishment with three friends. We sat down and each of us ordered a drink, and received them in a timely fashion. We then proceeded to order our meal. We asked for recommendations, and received the response "no recommend". One of my friends got two courses (one for him and one for the table), and the other two got a plate each. When it came my turn to order... the waiter ran away. We flagged him down when he was nearby and asked to order more food because he skipped me. He was adamant that we had already put in an order for 4 dishes and refused to let me get any food. I highly discourage anyone from coming here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

A small group of us, around 5, descended on this place because we were all visiting Germany and we didn't want to go somewhere that we could get just as well 'back home'. This is a lively place. Jam packed on our visit. We had to persuade the maitre D', to seat us anywhere. We got to share a big ol' table with a few other folks, and no-one seemed put out by that, there was plenty of space.

All comments on the site are spot on. It's a place filled with locals and tourists alike. It serves excellent beer. The food is just German bar food. If you don't like Pretzels in America, or those which come all crunchy and thin in packets, covered with salt, you could actually like them here. THis is what a pretzel is meant to be, a bit more like a thin version of a good bagel. Slather some mustard on them, get a pint of your favourite coloured beer (my preference for the night was a darker Dunkel), and you are set. Sausages in various forms hit the table and were snagged by a group of beer drinking fiends who acted like they hadn't eaten all day. The general din of people just chatting and having drinks and food made the evening go quickly, and then it was out to a healthy walk back to hotels.

You'll like this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Augustiner am Gendarmenmarkt also viewed

 

Been to Augustiner am Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augustiner am Gendarmenmarkt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.