We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sample a German bistro in the most elegant City Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Augustiner am Gendarmenmarkt

Augustiner am Gendarmenmarkt
Charlottenstrasse 55, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
+49 030 20454020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #278 of 5,901 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mitte
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Sample a German bistro in the most elegant City Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were looking a typical German food eatery and were not disappointed ! I mixture of tourist and locals with some bar-action. Food was excellent, though menu was VERY limited - the huge knuckle of Pork portion is enough for two very hungry men and their dog.....simply delicious and crispy on the outside and juicy beneath the skin Service, by well seasoned locals, some of whom spoke English, was excellent. and the atmosphere was comfortably casual and tables well spaced out. There are more typical restaurants if you search the side streets of Wilmersdorf , but this is a fine eatery in Gendarmenmarkt .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    560
    137
    29
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good selection of German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Recommended in the guidebook and was close to our hotel (the Angleterre). Good choice of meat dishes and reasonable price. Nice atmosphere, friendly staff. Wine was fine as well as the beer. Definitely worth a visit if you want solid, meaty, German dishes!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good German Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The last time that we were in Berlin we stumbled across the Augustiner as we were wandering through the city. This time around we went looking for it as we couldn't remember the address and thankfully we eventually succeeded around lunchtime and went in for a beer. As we knew how popular the restaurant was, we booked a table for that evening and just as well we did as the place was "mobbed". The menu is typically German and the portions are amazing, and of course the beer is very good. The decor is what you would expect in a beer Keller with plenty of tables and plenty of friendly staff and no frills. My wife had Schweinebraten ( pork, potatoes and cabbage ) which she thought was superb, but I made the mistake of ordering the Currywurst without appreciating what it was ......... German sausage in a curry and tomato sauce mixture. Interesting to start with, but I should have went with my wife's choice instead. Anyway you live and learn and did I say that the beer was very good??

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and filling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We came across this busy, unpretentious German restaurant when looking for somewhere to eat in Gendarmenmarkt area. Fast and friendly service from our English waiter. A great place to sample traditional german cooking. We had beef goulash and mushroom goulash with herb dumplings. Both were delicious - so was the beer. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Enjoyed typical and traditional German dishes at this casual eatery. Crowded and a little noisy, but fun. I asked the pretty waitress for beer and food recommendations. We shared a pickled herring appetizer that was very good. I had the Nurenberg sausages with mashed potatoes and white cabbage( similar to what we call Sauerkraut in the US). Delicious. My wife ordered a vegetarian Potato and Spinach dumpling dish that she enjoyed.
Definitely recommend this for traditional casual German dining.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Augustiner am Gendarmenmarkt also viewed

 

Been to Augustiner am Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augustiner am Gendarmenmarkt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.