We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEEDS TO REPAIR ITS ROOMS AND BE HONEST TO GUESTS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Hotel Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Hotel Berlin to your Saves list
Steigenberger Hotel Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Los-Angeles-Platz 1 | 10789 Berlin, 10789 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
North Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NEEDS TO REPAIR ITS ROOMS AND BE HONEST TO GUESTS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Location is great however, we where told breakfast was included and upon check out we where told it is going to be charged on our credit card. In addition, we had to switch rooms 3 times because the first room was not the upgraded room we where promised and the second one had a fully flooded bathroom that was quite repulsive. Our third room had flooded carpet in the bedroom and repair staff was unable to trace the source of it, so we where walking on wet floor through out our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    390
    100
    46
    10
See reviews for
173
371
79
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Great Hotel tarnished by rude staff member at the reception
I will be writing to the general manager , I agree with most comments that the attitude changes as soon as a guest is not in a business suit surely in this day and age we should be experience great customer service regardless of what you have on?

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StbHB31, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Steigenberger Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear W_traveller2014,

Thank you for your comment and for visiting us at the Steigenberger Hotel in Berlin.

We want to apologize for all inconvenience you had with our employees at the reception. In reality there should be no differences between business and leisure guests in the service quality of the employees. They all get trained every week with the quality standards of our hotel.

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon at the Los-Angeles-Platz.

Kind regards
STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Steigenberger Hotel Berlin is in a great location. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the Zoologischer Garten train station and this makes it easy to move around Berlin. This was our first time at this hotel so we were not familiar with how close the hotel is to the train station. We chose to take a taxi from TXL airport for about 15 Euro. Next time we will take the bus that goes direct from the airport to the Zoologischer Garten train station (as long as it is not raining). The hotel has typical hotel rooms that are spacious and comfortable. We found the room to be quiet and the bed to be hard. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We chose not to have the expensive breakfast at the hotel but found a couple of small cafes nearby where we could buy sandwiches and coffee for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StbHB31, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Steigenberger Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear „Nicole W“,

Thank you for your kind comment.

It is great to hear, that you had a nice stay at our hotel and that you made good experiences with your employees.

Hopefully you will visit us soon again.

Kind regards,
STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

On a positive note it is in a very good central location and the rooms are clean. The breakfast is good and the attached Restaurant is excellent with friendly staff.

We did not find some of the reception staff to be helpful. On occasions we asked for basic information and was given short abrupt answers. It seemed unless you wore a business suite, you would be ignored. Also my room had a hole in both the net-curtain and by bathroom towel, not what I would expect at a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StbHB31, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Steigenberger Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear „keef321“,

Thank you for your kind feedback.

It is great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We want to apologize for the inconvenience at the front desk and thank you for your hints.

Hopefully we could welcome you soon again.

Best regards
STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel was the first stop on our European tour. The staff was very friendly and helpful which was much appreciated after the long flight we'd had. Bedrooms although smallish were cleaned to perfection. The surrounding bars got a little noisy at night but all together a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StbHB31, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Steigenberger Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Caroline,

Thank you for your friendly comment.

It is a pleasure to hear that you felt very well at our hotel.

Maybe we can welcome you again at the Steigenberger Hotel Berlin

Kind regards
STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed for five nights and had quite an enjoyable stay. Rooms are a reasonable size although I wouldn't say spacious, the bed was very comfortable allowing a good night's sleep and there was a good sized shower in the bathroom. The room rate was also very reasonable which is why we tried a five star hotel. Additionally, staff were all friendly and helpful and came very quickly when we called about an issue with the room safe having been left locked by the previous occupants.

There were however some shortcomings:

- The hotel is located quite near a number of bars and you could hear the noise at times, especially during some of the World Cup matches (and not just cheering after goals).
- As other reviewers have mentioned, the price of breakfast etc is extortionate which is possibly designed to counter the reasonable room rate. We didn't consider buying it and got food and drink in some of the local shops/bars.
- The hotel replaces the soap every day (which is extremely wasteful in my opinion but seemingly expected of 5 star hotels). However, on one occasion they took the old one and didn't leave us with a new one! Additionally, there was another day when they took the foot towel and didn't leave a clean one. Neither was a big issue as there was shower gel to use as soap and other bath towels, but it's not what you'd expect.
- Whilst I accept it's unreasonable to expect a lot of English TV channels when in a foreign country, three news channels (BBC News, CNN and Russia today) felt like a limited selection in a five star hotel.

In summary, whilst I seem to have listed quite a few issues it was actually a nice place to stay and good value for money - I would probably have scored it more favourably if it had claimed to be a three or four star as you're left feeling "not blown away" relative to other hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StbHB31, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Steigenberger Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear „David S“,

Thank you for your feedback.

It’s a pleasure to her that you had a nice stay at our hotel and that we could satisfy your needs in general with our high quality standards.
We are sorry about the fact that there were some problems with the cleaning team in your room. Normally that is not our standard so we would like to apologize for any inconvenience in that case.

Hopefully you will visit us again at the Steigenberger Hotel in Berlin.

Kind regards
STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Thank you for the exceptional service that my son and I received while we were briefly vacationing in Berlin. Franz at the reception counter was very warm and professional. Taking the time to show us the 2 room options available to us after providing us with other hotel options in the area was commendable and ultimately made the decision to stay in the Steigenberger Hotel very easy. Our room was very nice and clean. We had a wonderful time in the piano bar. Also assisting us with a phone charger when ours was no longer working was very much appreciated. Franz was the positive face of the hotel and I would highly recommend this hotel to other vacationers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StbHB31, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Steigenberger Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Dieter M.,

Thank you for your wonderful comment.

We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and that you had such nice experiences with our employees.

Hopefully you will come back to the Steigenberger Hotel in Berlin.

Kind regards,
STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Berlin

Address: Los-Angeles-Platz 1 | 10789 Berlin, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#38 Business Hotel in Berlin
#40 Family Hotel in Berlin
#57 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#94 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Steigenberger Hotel Berlin - a class of its own! The hotel is known for its traditional qualities and friendly, efficient service. Located just off the one and only "Kurfuerstendamm" shopping boulevard and the famous memorial church, it is ideal for every occasion. In the renovated rooms you will enjoy your stay with bath / WC or shower / WC, hairdryer, telephone, satellite TV, minibar, safe and individually controlled air conditioning. The Superior rooms also offer coffee and tea making facilities, a large desk for business guests and a spacious rain shower. Our Executive rooms feature a high quality Nespresso machine, bathtub and the possibility of late check out until 03:00 pm. In the restaurant Berliner Stube warm hospitality is cultivated with regional cuisine while we serve a light international cuisine in the Destille. In the PianoLounge the "bartender of the year - Gault Millau" - Nicole Bolze - creates delicious cocktails. In the afternoon homemade cakes, coffee and a selection of teas are available. Furthermore, we offer free WiFi internet access in the entire hotel and pool and sauna in our spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Steigenberger Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Hotel Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.