We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow start for a good hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Hotel Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Hotel Berlin to your Saves list
Steigenberger Hotel Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Los-Angeles-Platz 1 | 10789 Berlin, 10789 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Slow start for a good hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Steigenberger Hotel is very well positioned for many of Berlins attractions or transport links to get your there quickly (on an efficient rain system - U or S-Bahn.
However, having booked a Superior room we were checked into a standard room. I found the front of house team a little quick and not as interactive as I would have liked or picked up from some of the other reviews. It was only after returning to the desk and raising the mistake was it rectified.
We spent little time in the hotel but the did visit the bar a couple of times and found the service to be good - didn't see the attraction of the Piano bar when there is so much to see in Berlin
I would definitely recommend the Steigenberger Hotel to anyone visiting Berlin but would suggest you make sure you get what you paid for.

Room Tip: Superior was treat and worth the extra if you feel like pushing the boat
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hb31, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear „Jayme12“,

Thank you for your comment.

It is a pleasure to hear that you were fine with the location of our hotel and the service of our bar staff. We offer 3 different room types to our guests of which the superior category is the first step . But you may upgrade to executive or suite

Hopefully we can welcome you soon back at Steigenberger Hotel Berlin.

Kind regards
STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN

Torsten K. Schulze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    391
    101
    46
    10
See reviews for
173
372
79
271
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ellecom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Steinberger is a very good en luxery hotel. The rooms are top. They are clean and there is enough space for the three of us (2 adults and 1 child). The location of the hotel is perfect. Near the Kurfurstendamm. We also enjoyed the swimming pool on level two. Not very big but after a day cycling through Berlin it is very pleasant to have a little swimm in the hotel. There is one point of dissatisfaction and that is the breakfast. This costs € 25,- per person. That is far to much. So we had our breakfast around the corner. A pitty, because for a lower budget it would be attractive to have your breakfast in the hotel itself. A tip for the management!

Room Tip: No tips availalbe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hb31, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear “Henk P“,

Thank you for visiting our hotel and giving us feedback.

We are pleased that you liked your stay at our hotel. The breakfast in our hotel costs EUR 23,00 for an adult and EUR 11,50 for a child. There prices includes the Full American Breakfast with a great choice of different hot and cold items. If you book in advance you will even get a special deal.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the hotel upon your next stay in Berlin.

Yours faithfully,
STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN

Torsten K. Schulze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepshed, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

"solid" might sound odd, but it is a good quality, traditional hotel. The pool is small but lovely. We stayed in a superior room. The rooms are large and tastefully decorated. Air-conditioning is a bonus as is a window that opens. The location is great for transport links. This was our fourth visit so we must like it!

Room Tip: We like a room overlooking the square. It can be noisy if you sleep with the window open but not no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hb31, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear „Emma G“,

Thanks for visting our hotel so often.

It’s a pleasure for us to hear that you have stayed here for your fourth time and that everything was fine.

We hope to welcome you soon again for the fifth time at the Steigenberger Hotel Berlin.

Best regards,
STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN

Torsten K. Schulze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We chose the Stiegenberger Berlin for my wife's 40th birthday trip having last been in Berlin in 1990. 4 kids , between 6-14 , 2 grandparents and ourselves. We took 3 rooms (2 adjoining) and it was perfect. Spacious , smart and functional. We had the executive package which included breakfast , afternoon tea and drinks/ snacks in the evening (great value, highly recommend). The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you and made things very personable for a fairly large hotel. Kids loved breakfast , hot chocolate in the piano bar and the pool. Great location for airport transfer , sightseeing , shopping and eating. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hb31, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear „Anthony S“,

Thank you for visiting us with such a big family.

We are glad that everything was fine during your stay at our hotel. It is nice to hear that we have satisfied your needs with our high service quality and we will share those compliments with our team.

Hope to see you and your family soon in Berlin

Your faithfully,
STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN

Torsten K. Schulze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Reichenhall, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This 5 star hotel, is located at the best location possible in Berlin.
Also, very good service, and excellent breakfast buffet.
Rooms are nice, as big as it gets in big cities, most of them very quiet.
All rooms have A/C

Room Tip: You should ask for a room to the small park (park alike). If possible - always corner :) Ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hb31, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear „vg1987“,

Thank you for writing this comment.

We are glad that you felt very comfortable in our hotel during your stay.

Hopefully you will visit Berlin soon again and we may welcome you in our hotel.

Kind regards
STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN

Torsten K. Schulze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights in July 2013.

ROOM - Clean and comfortable.

BREAKFAST - Lovely! Tasty, plentiful and suited to every taste.

WIFI - We were a bit concerned about the Wifi connection because some travelers had complained about it on Trip Advisor shortly before we went, but it seems they got it fixed and it was fine while we were there.

LOCATION - It depends what you're looking for. The hotel is in the west. If you're in Berlin for a very limited time and you want to be near the main attractions and see as much as possible, or if you want to be near the nightlife hotspots, you might prefer to be nearer the eastern side. However, it is a short and painless journey by public transport to these areas (we made it from the hotel to Alexanderplatz in 30 minutes). The hotel is in a fairly quiet area. There are restaurants, pubs, cafes and music venues (ex A-Trane) within walking distance from the hotel. It's also near some good shopping areas such as Ku'damm and the KaDeWe shopping center, and near the lovely Tiergarten (great for long leafy strolls) and the fabulous Berlin zoo.

SERVICE - the staff was friendly and eager to help.

I will gladly recommend this hotel to anyone planning to stay in Berlin.

Room Tip: It's a large hotel, and some of the rooms are located a long walk from the elevators. If that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hb31, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear “Rachelle K“,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We are so happy to hear that you liked our rooms as well as the service of our team a lot. It gives us great pleasure that you have enjoyed our delicious breakfast buffet and will recommend us to others. We hope to see you soon at Steigenberger Hotel Berlin.

Yours faithfully
STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN

Torsten K. Schulze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

(+) good location, convenient arrangements, free internet, friendly service, good & not too expensive restaurants, short time available elevators, efficient A/C

(-) bathroom (narrow space & dangerous bathtub), long corridors

Room Tip: Close as possible to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hb31, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear „sery1000“,

Thank you for your comment.

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a nice stay at our hotel.

Hopefully you will visit us in Berlin soon.

Kind regards,
STEIGENBERGER HOTEL BERLIN

Torsten K. Schulze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Berlin

Address: Los-Angeles-Platz 1 | 10789 Berlin, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#39 Family Hotel in Berlin
#42 Business Hotel in Berlin
#58 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#97 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Steigenberger Hotel Berlin - a class of its own! The hotel is known for its traditional qualities and friendly, efficient service. Located just off the one and only "Kurfuerstendamm" shopping boulevard and the famous memorial church, it is ideal for every occasion. In the renovated rooms you will enjoy your stay with bath / WC or shower / WC, hairdryer, telephone, satellite TV, minibar, safe and individually controlled air conditioning. The Superior rooms also offer coffee and tea making facilities, a large desk for business guests and a spacious rain shower. Our Executive rooms feature a high quality Nespresso machine, bathtub and the possibility of late check out until 03:00 pm. In the restaurant Berliner Stube warm hospitality is cultivated with regional cuisine while we serve a light international cuisine in the Destille. In the PianoLounge the "bartender of the year - Gault Millau" - Nicole Bolze - creates delicious cocktails. In the afternoon homemade cakes, coffee and a selection of teas are available. Furthermore, we offer free WiFi internet access in the entire hotel and pool and sauna in our spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Steigenberger Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Hotel Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.