We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing first experience with Sofitel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt to your Saves list
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlottenstrasse 50-52, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing first experience with Sofitel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is located at a beautiful prestigious area without compromising convenience as the metro station is steps away. The room I booked was the junior suite equipped with a lovely Nespresso machine and Hermes toiletries,however it didn't have a bath! Nonetheless the service of the staff was impeccable, especially the room service.

Room Tip: Junior suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much that you took the time to comment your stay at the Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.

I am particularly proud to read that our team’s service level matched your expectations. I will of course pass the feedback over to my team.

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcoming you very soon again in Berlin or at any other Sofitel Luxury Hotel.

Sincerely,

Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    278
    75
    16
    6
See reviews for
97
417
109
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Like any other European capital city, Berlin tends to be on the expensive side and this is reflected in the price of the hotel rooms but we got a 3 nights for 2 deal, which helped. Our Superior room was excellent and compared well with the only other Sofitel we've stayed in, which was in Rio and is considered one of the best hotels in that city. We did have a problem with WiFi in the room at first but the Reception staff wouldn't give up until we got a connection that same evening. Overall, the service was first rate and all the staff were cheerful, friendly and helpful. We wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt.

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our most important goal to make each guest’s stay a special one with our best quality of service and offers. Thank you for appreciating our efforts.

It would be great to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

As expected, our 4 nights spent at the Sofitel Berlin was perfect.

From the time we showed up (used valet parking) to the time we left, all of our requests were swiftly responded with true willingness and a desire to help. Check-in was hyper efficient.

We took a suite which had a view on the Gendarmenmarkt, and the suite was huge. It had a king size bed, a sitting area, a desk area, and a beatiful bathroom including walk-in shower.

During the week, the staff was always very responsive and always asked if everything was OK.

Check-out was hyper efficient and the car arrived within 5-6 minutes (very fast).

Of course, you pay for this level of pampering, but the staff clearly delivers. The management is doing a good job.

Thank you for the week !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I thank you for your detailed, very personal feedback.

I was extremely pleased to read the summary of your comment in such words of praise. We genuinely put a lot into exceeding our guests expectations and I am truly glad to hear that we have achieved our aim with you.

Thank you for recommending us so well.

We look forward to your next stay.

Au revoir,

Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights last week in a luxury room.

The location of the hotel is perfect for sight seeing and there are plenty of bars and restaurants very close by. Shopping is also within easy reach.

The check in was very efficient and we were given plenty of information about the sights. The hotel will arrange for an open top bus tour, which takes about 2.5 hours but is perfect to get orientated.

The room was great, very spacious, with a separate seating area.

My wife had pre-ordered a bottle of wine, as it was my birthday, upon our arrival but, unfortunately, it was overlooked. The way that this issue was dealt with was perfect, a great advertisement for the group.....a bottle of very expensive champagne arrived within minutes. Best of all it was free of charge!

We have stayed in Sofitel hotels all over the world and have come to expect exemplary service from the group....we were not disappointed.

One tip; we made the mistake of getting from the airport to the hotel by train. This is quite long winded and not easy for the first timer. I really do suggest a taxi which is approx. 40 euro. Its well worth it.

We will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I am extremely glad to hear that Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt and its staff impressed you.

I also felt very proud of my team while reading your positive feedback as we put a lot into delivering high standards of services.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon with our undivided attention.

A bientôt,

Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt

Address: Charlottenstrasse 50-52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#26 Business Hotel in Berlin
#34 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#39 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#47 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique and designer Hotel Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt is considered to be one of the most elegant addresses in the heart of the bustling capital. The small, unique boutique hotel, with 70 rooms and 22 suites designed by Harald Klein, combines minimalist Cocoon design with unique details, such as the play of light and shadow and of glass and black marble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, ACCOR, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Berlin Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.