We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, attentive staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlottenstrasse 50-52, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 665 hotels in Berlin
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb location, attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked the Sofitel for a long weekend whilst visiting our son in Berlin. We have stayed in Sofitels before and have had a good experience. On arrival we were checked in swiftly and had a luxury room on the 5th floor overlooking the church opposite. We had a small balcony where we could stand and take in the views. The room was an excellent size with a very comfy 7ft bed, the bathroom was well equipped with hair dryer, robes & slippers only downside no bath. Unfortunately had someone in the next room playing loud music until the early hours which was annoying so soundproofing wasn't so good! Breakfast was very good although on the expensive staff, the staff were always very attentive. The reception extremely helpful booking a nice restaurant for us, they were very helpful when my camera went missing at the Jewish museum. The situation was superb close to all attractions also good shopping and restaurants nearby.
A good stay in Berlin except for camera being taken, will definitely return to the Sofitel.

Room Tip: If affordable book the luxury room, very spacious and good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the postive review of our hotel.

We are looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Berlin,

Sincerely,

Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    430
    226
    57
    13
    4
See reviews for
80
336
97
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It was a very nice experience staying in the Berlin Sofitel.
The facilities are excellent, the services are very corteous, the personnel is always trying to help. All the aspects of my prepaid reservation were totally met.
The breakfast is first class.
The location could not be better and you can simply walk to most of the attractions of the beautiful Berlin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt. I was nice to hear that our staff and breakfast exceeded your expectations.

Thank you very much for staying with us.

We hope to see you in near future.

Sincerely,

Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mclean VA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room, #432, faced the landscaped interior courtyard which provided a quiet environment. The large windows could open for fresh air. The internal staircase is central so you aren't dependent on elevators although there is fast elevator service. The lobby has enough space for reading or relaxing. The design of the room included black and white marble in the foyer, bathroom and desktop. Terry robes and slippers were provided. The location, on the beautiful square, was lovely. The reception suggested a nearby cafe for breakfast which we enjoyed. We found good local restaurants. There is a room to store luggage after check-out if you need to. We had to take advantage of this service as we waited to go to the train station for a late train out of Berlin.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the postive review of our hotel.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin,

Sincerely,

Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

for anyone who is participating in the berlin marathon, i highly suggest this hotel. staff is very accommodating and extremely helpful. the location is in mitte, which for some might bore you, but for the runners, it's a really convenient location...totally limpable. :) once you get your legs back and can walk, you are very close to the metro stops and everything is easily within walking distance.

i got a single room, and true to word, i got my single bed! remember that if you say you're a single, you won't get a american full or two queens. unless you upgrade, what you pay is what you get (single / double, etc.). it wasn't a disappointment, though, the bed was comfy just for me and i had a fantastic view of gendarmenarmkt across the street.

the restaurant aigner attached to the hotel is fantastic. if you can snag a reservation, i would definitely try it. what a great place to eat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Marathon guest,

thank you very much for your nice words about our hotel and especially the team - this will give an encouragement for all.

Indeed, we still have single rooms but I hope you still had a good night sleep.

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and I look forward to welcoming you back next year at the latest.

Sincerly,

Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Sofitel Berlin had one of the best buffet breakfasts we had traveling around Germany. Good location with many restaurant options nearby. The room was modern, nice bathroom, and the small rooms were very clean. However, when requesting a room, make sure you do not face Charlottenstrasse. If you have to open your window because of the lack of air conditioning, it is LOUD all night long with trucks making deliveries and drunks screaming down the street. The lack of air conditioning was frustrating - they give you air circulation, but no A/C after September so the room was very warm at night. The front desk staff was helpful, letting us check-in around 10am since we arrived in Berlin so early, and they were helpful with directions, maps, and helped us get a cab during the Berlin marathon - which was not easy! Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback here on Trip Advisor.

I am very glad you liked our location aswell as our staff. The issue with the air-condition has been adressed direclty to our technical manager.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and I hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.

Sincerly

Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great location, interesting design and comfortable. I would stay at this hotel any time. Comfy beds, good rooms, great staff - it's everything you ever wanted a hotel to be. The view is perfect if you face the street.
Breakfast is on the expensive side., and if you don't eat much in the morning I suggest you go elsewhere.
The only thing I missed was a coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Moscow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had another stay at the Sofitel at Gendarmarkt Berlin 27September-2 October and confirm that the staff have maintaineded their outstanding level of service. Just the right balance of efficiency and pleasantness. Bravo to management! It hepls to be a platinum Sofitel card member, but nonetheless everything works and works well. Room was very clean, bed was extremely comfortable, location is terrific and a view over the square is hard to beat. Good value and quality restaurant as well. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with with a veiw of the square, it's just wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5342, Manager at Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt on your visit to Berlin again. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Berlin.

Sincerely,

Tina Senfter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt

Address: Charlottenstrasse 50-52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#22 Business Hotel in Berlin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#44 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique and designer Hotel Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt is considered to be one of the most elegant addresses in the heart of the bustling capital. The small, unique boutique hotel, with 70 rooms and 22 suites designed by Harald Klein, combines minimalist Cocoon design with unique details, such as the play of light and shadow and of glass and black marble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Berlin Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.