We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel... Plan your trip to spend some time savoring this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schlosshotel Im Grunewald

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Schlosshotel Im Grunewald to your Saves list
Schlosshotel Im Grunewald
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brahmsstrasse 10 | Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 14193 Berlin, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel... Plan your trip to spend some time savoring this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I just left Schlosshotel Im Gruenwald. It was fantastic. The location was perfect for us because it was close to where he grew up. But more importantly, the restoration of the hotel and decor by Karl Lagerfeld deserves to be appreciated. We were so busy running around that it wan't until the last day that we could linger over breakfast in the winter garden and enjoy the stately rooms.

I must say that I felt like a princess in a castle. I was surprised the first night to have found that the windows were totally blacked out (meant with jet lag we slept until noon). To be honest the pool and exercise room left something to be desired... pool is not really a lap pool and there was a small selection of machines in the un-airconditioned gym. However, there is a wonderful lake a short distance away, so bathing, walking orr jogging outdoors is an easy possibility. Oh, and free minibar was fab.

Definitely worth the visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    28
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
35
113
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have just left after 3 wonderful nights at the Alma Schloss. The hotel is in a lovely leafy suburb in the west of Berlin. It's a beautiful building and we were especially taken by the style and wonderful warm ambience of the place. Evenings spent sitting in the beautiful bar and lobby's eating good food and drinking Joe's amazing mojitos! On top of the amazing place was the wonderful staff. So friendly and helpful and in a personal way. We had fun with them and felt very at home over the 3 days. The room was lovely. Simple but elegant. Special mention goes to Marie and Levon for their help and personalities. We really hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and have a really nice experience. They have everything necessary for your business trip. Rooms clean, staff friendly... Was close to the place my meeting were so location could not been better for me

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Located in a residential area of Berlin, was once the home of royalty is the perfect small luxury hotel for any occasion in berlin. The rooms are very large, with interior design by Karl Lagerfeld it perfectly mixes classic with modern. The common areas are spectacular, the service is very friendly and good from the moment you arrive you feel special. Breakfast is very good and complete. The pool and spa area is very nice, make sure you make some time to enjoy them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Schloshotel. The hotel bar and lounge rooms are simply stunning, with an eclectic mix of antiques and contemporary designer furniture, not an easy task to get this all working together, but they have done a great job. The staff at the reception where amazing! Friendly, knowledgeable, and very helpful. They suggested great places to eat and drink, based on our tastes and interest, a nice change from the usual larger hotel staff that simply recommend their own restaurant, or worse still, the places on the back of the local free map...
Overall, a great experience, highly recommended.

Rolf & Deborah

Room Tip: The rooms in the original building have much more charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A beautiful hotel in a splendid small palace, loving restored. The dining room is absolutely stunning, with high ceilings, wood panelling embossed with gold, candles everywhere in ornate candleholders, and exquisite chandeliers. The breakfast room is almost as pretty, set in a winter garden with orchids and lots of natural light.
The only downside is the long taxi ride to Mitte and Museum Island -- but the long drive seems well worthwhile when you wake up in the morning to the sound of birds singing in the lovely garden, or flying by to the nearby forest of Grunewald. Anna-Lena at the front desk acts as a charming hostess, recommending excursions and making sure that you are absolutely delighted. .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I had a really wonderful stay at the Schlosshotelberlin. The hotel is historic and elegant and the staff are very helpful. I really enjoyed the Breakfast looking out at the snow on the garden while eating perfectly cooked poached eggs with house cured smoked salmon and tiny bread rolls , it was really perfect! It is a bit of a trip into town but the area is quiet and atmospheric itself. the old homes around Grunworld are amazing with very unusual features and sculptures adorning them. The 10 min walk to the train station is actually very interesting. it comes as a bit of a shock when you arrive to the throngs of tourists in the city centre. it's nice to be able to escape back to the quiet serenity to recharge your batteries for another day of intensive sightseeing.

Room Tip: my room got smoke from the downstairs bar at night. But they put a machine in it to clean the air. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almahotels, Director General at Schlosshotel Im Grunewald, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Gretchenberlin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Schlosshotel im Grunewald with us. It is only through your valuable comments that we are able to continuously improve our service.
We are very pleased to see that you had a wonderful stay with us and will forward your compliments to our team. We hope, whenever you return to Berlin, we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Sara Torralvo
General Manager AlmaBerlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Schlosshotel Im Grunewald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Im Grunewald

Address: Brahmsstrasse 10 | Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 14193 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Berlin
#11 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#89 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#96 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Schlosshotel Im Grunewald 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personality, intimacy and privacy of 'SCHLOSSHOTEL IMGRUNEWALD', exclusive 5* boutique hotel in Berlin is simply captivating. It is our number one priority to provide our guests with a first class service, tailor-made to their wishes. Each of our 43 elegant rooms and 10 suites in the 100-year-old historical villa surrounded by park-like private gardens, stylish interiors designed by Karl Lagerfeld, and a personal service create a heaven for visitors to Berlin. Our restaurants, cigar lounge and elegant lobby with its stunning chandelier and exquisite oil paintings provide an ideal atmosphere in which to unwind. In the SPA & Wellness area you can take in the view of the pine forest whilst enjoying a dip in the pool, or indulge in a first class massage treatment and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your Schlosshotel Im Grunewald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Im Grunewald Berlin
Schlosshotel Im Grunewald Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schlosshotel Im Grunewald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.