We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our 10th stay there...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schlosshotel Im Grunewald

Save Saved
You added Schlosshotel Im Grunewald to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schlosshotel Im Grunewald
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brahmsstrasse 10, 14193 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“our 10th stay there...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We visit Berlin 5 to 6 times a year to go to the opera, so we drive to the schlosshotel as our second home.
We reach the opera in 15 minutes by car.
We are always welcome and feel like "at home" Our children (13) enjoy the pool, the spa, we do to, the service is always perfect.
We always arrive late, around 10 or 11 PM and can always have a small bite at the bar, they even open an other salon for us when the bar is too smokey.
The hotel is very very quiet, the breakfast a good moment of calm and relaxation, what can I say more?
Yes it is not a downtown hotel, but you have very good value on this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    22
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
102
14
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This was our third coming back in this hotel in last 7 years. And we were not disappointed. If you are looking for romantic place with historical taste still kept in excellent condition, smell of fire place, professional and helpful staff - this is place to go.
This is great place to stay in good and/or bad weather conditions. Hotel and local area is friendly for jogging, biking or just relaxing in the pool. As hotel is relatively small, the staff will recognize you from the first day. This gives personal touch to your stay. There is nice restaurant. I had very nice "Old fashion" in the bar.
Just be prepared to see many hotel guests from the country with the Kremlin in the capital which may change your relaxing atmosphere near the pool dramatically.
As hotel is located outside central Berlin, be prepared to use taxi (around 15-20 Euro to west part of Berlin and 20-25 Euro to Berlin Mitte region). S-Bahn (local train) is very convenient and runs frequently taking only 8-15 minutes to mine destinations in central Berlin, but be prepared to walk 15 minutes to the station. By the way, there is simple but nice cafe in Grunewald S-bahn station with jammy pastry.

Room Tip: Stay in the roof level room. This may give you nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend on our first ever visit to Berlin. We loved everything about the hotel - the staff were lovely and really couldn't do enough for you, the room was fab and the whole hotel was just beautiful. I know a few people have complained about the food, we did not have dinner in the hotel restaurant so I can't comment on that, however we did have breakfast and found it to be very nice. A wide range of fruits, cereals, yoghurts and juices, and eggs cooked to order - I really didn't get what the complaints were about. If you don't feel like breakfast at the hotel there is a lovely restaurant down the road called Eiffel who do amazing breakfasts. We also had room service one evening after a particularly hectic day of sight-seeing, which was also very nice (soup and a club sandwich - you can't go wrong!).
As said earlier the staff were very helpful, they offered very good reccomendations and made reservations for us. All in all a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Smoking is allowed in the hotel, so if you are sensitive to such things as for a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schlosshotelberlin, Gerente at Schlosshotel Im Grunewald, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Miss. Katejdale,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences at Schlosshotel im Grunewald with us. This is our one hundreds comment!

We are very grateful you posted the 100th comment especially in 2012, because we are going to celebrate Schlosshotel’s 100th anniversary this year!
For this reason we would be more than happy to express our appreciation with a birthday gift we would like to send you.

Please contact me directly , it will be a pleasure to speak with you.

Kind regards from Berlin,


Sara Torralvo-Castro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

If you are looking for a cheal hotel, then this one is not for you.

If however you are looking for one of the best hotels in Berlin, then you have found the right place.

From the moment my wife and I arrived until the end of our 3 day stay, we were treated like royalty. Nothing was too hard for the team to do.

The hotel is stunning, the rooms are excellent quality and the setting idyllic.

If you go to Berlin you MUST stay here.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We choose this hotel since we are a familiy travelling with small kids and we would like to have plenty of space around them. This you certainly get with this Schlosshotel which is also part of small LHW (leading hotels of the world). The halls around the main entrance are grandiose and so are the rooms. We had a suite with two seperate rooms with the possibility of putting the kids to bed in the bedroom and spending the time in the "living room". The rooms have all the services that you could think of including free mini bar.

We had room service two evenings and were in generally satisfied with this. It was not outstanding as you may expect for a hotel in this category, but then again, we were having room service and were not in a restaurant. I am sure that we could have gone to the fine restaurant in the hotel and had a super meal, but with small kids it is more relaxing (for the parents at least) to eat in the room (instead of having the people sitting at the next table staring at you because your son has put half his plate on the table).

We went to the pool two times when staying there and more or less had the whole pool area to ourselves. The big pool had a temperature of 29 celcius so we could stay in this for a long time and the small jazussi was expected very hot.

The continental breakfast was not lavish, but everything served was high quality. In addition you could order a hot omelettes. Finally, there was the possibility to have sparkling wine if you were in the mood for that.

Only two negatives we experienced during our stay were a) some noise in the morning outside our hotel window and b) that I could not get a seat in the main bar Saturday evening. Regarding the former we were offered to move to another room which we declined since we with small kids were up anyway (We had not informed the reception of the noise outside our window, but somehow they must have picked it up). Regarding the latter there was plenty of space in many of the adjacent rooms - just not so cosy - so difficult to complain about.

So in general I will recommend you going here - in particular if you would like to stay somewhere quiet/discrete in Berlin or if you are travelling as a family.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed here for a wedding reception. Fine old-world hotel built in the early 1900's as a private residence. Excellent food, service, indoor pool, spa, and amenities. Expensive, so would not spend more than a night or two, but clearly a window into the old German aristocracy life. Set in a quiet secluded residencial area about 25 minutes southwest of bustling downtown Berlin. Train will get you to within a 5-miute taxi ride--just have the tavern owner outside the train station call the taxi for you.

Room Tip: All were excellent, that I saw. You can even get a suite with its own private dining room, living ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

In selecting Schlosshotel Im Grunewald for a two night stay with my teenage children I did consider whether it would be better to stay in the city. The reality is that the railway station is only a ten minute walk from the hotel through a very pleasant suburb. It was good to be able to relax in leafy surroundings after a hard day of sightseeing in the city. If you were there on business it may not suit but for a holiday it was perfect. The service at the front desk was impeccable with very intuitive and considerate staff. Restaurant staff were a bit distracted by a function booking which was taking their time but since I was in good company that didn't spoil our experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Schlosshotel Im Grunewald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Im Grunewald

Address: Brahmsstrasse 10, 14193 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#30 Business Hotel in Berlin
#46 Family Hotel in Berlin
#55 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Schlosshotel Im Grunewald 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Schlosshotel Im Grunewald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Im Grunewald Berlin
Schlosshotel Im Grunewald Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schlosshotel Im Grunewald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.