We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel Outside of Downtown Berlin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schlosshotel Im Grunewald

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Schlosshotel Im Grunewald to your Saves list
Schlosshotel Im Grunewald
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brahmsstrasse 10 | Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 14193 Berlin, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Gatos, CA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel Outside of Downtown Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

The Schlosshotel is beautifully restored mansion in an affluent older suburb right outside of Berlin. I stayed for two nights with two friends. We all had the least expensive rooms in the annex behind the main building. Our stay was wonderful--the inn was luxurious and the service efficient and friendly.
The main building is absolutely gorgeous with soaring ceilings in some rooms, amazing woodwork and trim, beautiful views to the garden, stone fireplaces, chandeliers, etc. The architecture is rococo and ornate, but the furniture understated and elegant. Each of the public rooms is different and amazingly ornate including a beautiful round private dining room with guilded wood working, a lounge with soaring ceilings and huge carved wood staircase,and a cozy bar with a stone fireplace.
Our rooms were nice, with lots of storage, marble and dark wood bathrooms and fabulously comfortable beds with down pillows and comforter. There is a minibar with unlimited free drinks. The rooms were quiet and the only downside was they were a little dark.
There is a lovely indoor pool area. One person had a massage at the spa, which she said was just OK.
Breakfast is an additional 26 euros, which was steep, but it is a very nice buffet and you can get eggs cooked to order. It is served in a garden room or on the terrace and is worth doing at least one day, but could be a bit too pricey for an entire family. The second day we had coffee (8 euros) brought to our rooms.
The staff was great in recommending restaurants. We ate at Alpenstueck and Lutter and Wegener. Both had great service and amazing high quality German style food. We enjoyed our dinner at those restaurants more than at the hotel's restaurant Vivaldi. Vivaldi is in a beautiful wood paneled drawing room. The service was perfect but the food was inconsistent, perhaps a bit too ambitious. When we served the first complimentary appetizer I was a bit worried, it was a medley of fish pates, which were not tasty. The next appetizer was a lobster medley and much better. The basket of bread outstanding with high quality unsalted butter and a salt selections. Other plates were mixed, one incredible beef dish, a great pea soup, an undercooked fish dish and a langostine which was mealy. The cheese platter was over the top. It was a nice experience, but I would stick to meat dishes, which is probably the wise thing to do in Berlin. There is a great wine list that included a lot of well priced choices.
We enjoyed being outside of Berlin, but it did require taxi rides back a forth. We had fun looking at the scenery, especially the incredible historic homes near the hotel.
One day the we used the complimentary bikes and rode to a nearby lake--incredible! The staff also recommended shopping areas which we enjoyed.
We had a fabulous stay and the best service I have experienced in Germany.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    28
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
36
113
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at the Schlosshotel Grunewald for two nights. We chose a room with a reading corner in addition to the desk so that we would have a bit more space. The service in this hotel was excellent. The room was very quiet and the area is very relaxing. It was a nice touch that the minibar was "free" (i,.e. included in the price). Breakfast was not included in the price and cost ca. 24 euros more per person. The breakfast was very good with a choice of high quality meats, cheeses, breads etc etc with a chef on hand to make egg-dishes with bacon etc etc and one could get all sorts of coffee/espresso that one desired. It is worth remembering that this hotel is not in the centre of Berlin and the public transport connections are not that great: if you want a city-trip, this is not the right place to stay, if you want to relax in beautiful surroundings, it is the place to stay. The only (minor) downside: we had room service twice we just felt the dishes lacked "that special something" (?inspiration?) that one might expect for the price: whilst the quality of the ingredients was very high and the cooking executed at a very high technical level, there was just something missing. In any case, this only a very very minor issue and we would definitely stay there again. The hotel isn't cheap, but to quote Ferris Bueller: "If you have the means, I highly recommend it"

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We chose this hotel simply because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and the fact that the hotel was rated number 1 in Berlin. This just shows the perils of relying on Trip Advisor too much, as it really was a let down. I suggest you think carefully what you are looking for before deciding to book it.

The hotel is undeniably grand, has a nice pool and grounds, some interesting history and has some lovely features...but it is let down in a number of ways.

Firstly the location. Yes it's undeniably a nice part of town if you're planning on spending your time sat outside in the grounds of your hotel, but if you're going to be sight seeing it really is not the place to be. There is nothing of note in the area, so you really have to get a taxi or the metro everywhere. Given that half the joy of Berlin is the ability to walk to so many places this was disappointing.

Secondly, the service. A lot has been talked about the quality of the service and yes many of the staff were very good. But it certainly wasn't all. We arrived in the evening so decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. There was only one other person in there when we arrived (at around 9pm) and when we asked the waitress if they were still serving she looked at her watch, raised her eyebrows and said that she would have to check with the chef. She reappeared and said that we could in a very begrudging manner. Not exactly a warm welcome! She offered us what turned out to be the fine dining menu but it didn't correspond to the menu we had seen in the hotel information in our room, so we were confused. We asked whether there was another menu and the waitress reluctantly gave us what turned out to be the a la carte menu and she then proceeded to tell us in a very condescending manner that people usually didn't order off it because it wasn't fine dining. Looking at the menu I couldn't make any distinction, certainly not in price with main courses around the 30Euro mark. We ordered and later got chatting to another waiter who proceeded to tell us how he hated working at the hotel and couldn't wait to leave...not very reassuring to hear as a guest!

By the time we reached the end of our main course we felt completely abandonded in the empty restauarant. Nobody came to refill our glasses or offer more drinks or even dessert, and when we wanted to leave we then had to wait 15 minutes for somebody to deign to appear to allow us to sign the bill! All in all a thoroughly soulless and unimpressive experience!!

Thirdly, the room. Our suite was under the eaves and was a bit of an odd design. The decor wasn't exactly shabby chic more just a little worn out! There were some nice touches, the iMac in the living area was great and the wifi was good speed. But the bed was a disaster!! Call me old fashioned but surely one of the most important aspects of any hotel is how good the bed is? The mattress was clearly old, you could feel the springs, but it was also covered with a plastic/rubber mattress protector! Yuck!! This not only made the bed really hot to sleep in but it was also seriously uncomfortable and small. To be honest I'd have sacrificed the iMac for a decent bed any day!! The pillows had also clearly seen better days and were very uncomfortable, plus they were filled (as were the duvets) with feathers of some description. An allergy nightmare for those that suffer from this...and no alternatives appeared to be on offer. The air conditioning had likewise seen better days. We had it on the lowest setting with full fan and were still too hot. We both had a terrible night...not good!!

Finally, the bathroom. For a suite I expect a decent size bathroom. It wasn't. It was cramped with only one sink with very litte counter space and the whole thing seemed really dated. I took a shower and when I opened the door when I'd finished the floor was totally flooded (I had closed the door properly before you ask...). I spent the next 5 minutes mopping up the floor with towels...not quite what I'd expect from a 3 star hotel let alone a 5 star one.

To put the above comments in perspective we were paying around 350 Euro a night for the room, so this wasn't a cheap stay. We've stayed at luxury hotels around the world and its easy to find yourself getting picky about things, but there were some fundamental failings at this hotel. But the bed was for both of us the biggest problem and neither of us could face another night in it. So regrettably we actually left the hotel earlier than planned and moved into the centre of the city for the rest of our stay, where we had a much more enjoyable time.

If you have to go through the inconvenience of moving hotels then I think that sums up why we felt the Schlosshotel such a let down.

Room Tip: Ask to check your bed and the air con!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schlosshotelberlin, Director General at Schlosshotel Im Grunewald, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Schlosshotel im Grunewald with us. It is only through your valuable comments that we are able to continuously improve our service.
We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay to the fullest. Please rest assured that this was an exception, as you can see most of our authentic valuations on Tripadvisor are more than positive which reflects our high quality standards.

Please allow me to express our apologies for the inconveniences you had while dining in our restaurant “Vivaldi”. We are sorry that our service did not meet your expectations although we are fully aware that the employee deviance is inexcusable and that on this particular day our service was not up to the standards of this property. Furthermore it is a great pity that you were unsatisfied with our furniture in your suite.

At Schlosshotel im Grunewald, member of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Of course we are taking the appropriate measures to address all matters brought up by our guests and prevent any future occurrences.

I remain at your disposal for any further comment you would like to make and for any further query shall you wish to travel again to Berlin. I will be more than happy to give you my personal attention on that occasion.

Sincerely,

Sara Torralvo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

One of the finest hotels I've stayed in. The service was amazing. You will not regret a stay here. It's quite a romantic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

My Family stayed here for 7 days and had amazing time- excellent service which is saying something in Berlin ! Worth the money !!! 5stars

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

It once served as a casino for British officers after the second world war. Originally built in 194 for a certain Herr Walther von Pannwitz, (1856-1920) a personal advisor to the Kaiser Wilhelm. Then a fast leap forward in time until a group of Berlin families with the help of Karl Lagerfeld, had overturned the place into a hotel, that opened its doors in 1999.

So is it necessary to know all this? Naah, not really. But it is part of the explanation why staying at the Schosshotel im Grundewald feels a bit different from staying in just another posh place that has gotten a designer makeover.

The staff know why they're there. They are there to make life easier and more pleasant for you. The check-in procedure is probably the most pleasant I've ever experienced. You just present yourself by name, spend three seconds to see that the name on a printed form matches your own and then you're whisked away from the lobby to enjoy a glass of champagne in the English Bar “Le Tire Bouchon”. No credit card. No passports. No problems. At the time you've finished your drink, you get the message "Your bags are in your room, Sir". More hotels should adopt this completely fuss-free routine.

The Vivaldi restaurant is quite competent and the breakfast buffet in Le Jardin is top-notch, (it even included sushi).

If you're a couple who would like to have some time for yourselves, I can't think about a better place to stay. It's not IN Berlin, but just outside. If you have city cravings, then they can be satisfied by a 10-minute taxi drive.

But I honestly see very little reason to leave. The English bar is an amazing place. Kiss your loved one on the cheek and order another drink. Leben is sehr einfach!

See my images of Schlosshotel im Grunewald here: http://www.guidebook.se/archives/484

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

When you enter this place, you immediately know you're in one of the most elegant addresses in Berlin. Service at reception was excellent, and I was given a tour of the facilities after I unpacked. I kept being told that I was the "prince of the castle", and they really made me feel it.

The interiors are just breathtaking, which explains why there was a movie crew filming when I arrived. They were in and out without much fuss though, and I was able to view the truly stunning rooms they filmed in. I also understand how Karl Lagerfeld probably did not want the furniture to compete with the rooms. Great contrast of clean lines with grand details. The nice thing is that it's so grand and yet so intimate. You can really stay in any of the grand living rooms reading a book, and not feel strange, the way you would doing that in the lobby of a very large hotel.

Everything in the hotel is understated elegance. The room is decorated very well, with high tech amenities. Free mini-bar, free WiFi and Bulgari toiletries.

Breakfast service was superb, and dinner at the fine dining restaurant was fantastic. The indoor pool downstairs was beautiful, and befitting of a hotel of this grandeur. The fitness room was a little small though - most likely an afterthought for newer guests.

There is also a large garden with lounge chairs. My most memorable time at the hotel was spent lounging in the garden with tea and cake, enjoying the fresh air.

The hotel is a bit off the beaten path, and would probably be fine for people with cars or who are fine with taxis the whole time. It's a great part of Berlin to see, as there's nothing touristy about it. There are bikes that you can use for free to explore the really posh neighborhood.

Service here is about as personalized as it gets, and you're made to feel like royalty. My package also included a 60-minute massage from one of Germany's most renowned therapists.

Fantastic hotel in every way. Stay here if you want nothing but the best.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schlosshotel Im Grunewald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Im Grunewald

Address: Brahmsstrasse 10 | Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 14193 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Berlin
#11 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#89 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#96 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Schlosshotel Im Grunewald 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The personality, intimacy and privacy of 'SCHLOSSHOTEL IMGRUNEWALD', exclusive 5* boutique hotel in Berlin is simply captivating. It is our number one priority to provide our guests with a first class service, tailor-made to their wishes. Each of our 43 elegant rooms and 10 suites in the 100-year-old historical villa surrounded by park-like private gardens, stylish interiors designed by Karl Lagerfeld, and a personal service create a heaven for visitors to Berlin. Our restaurants, cigar lounge and elegant lobby with its stunning chandelier and exquisite oil paintings provide an ideal atmosphere in which to unwind. In the SPA & Wellness area you can take in the view of the pine forest whilst enjoying a dip in the pool, or indulge in a first class massage treatment and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your Schlosshotel Im Grunewald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Im Grunewald Berlin
Schlosshotel Im Grunewald Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schlosshotel Im Grunewald, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.