We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel to your Saves list
Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lietzenburger Strasse 79-81, 10719 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #394 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights with friends and can confidently say that I am baffled people would deem it anything less than a great budget hotel. The location was fantastic and definitely the hotel's best selling point - we explored the surrounding areas mostly on foot, but there are convenient bus and U-bahn transport links close by. Although it was basic, the rooms were extremely clean, tidy and had everything that we required (desk, TV, wardrobe). The bathrooms were also good. This is, as far as I am concerned, getting more than what you pay for! The staff were consistently friendly, helpful and went out of their way in order to ensure we had a pleasant stay. There was only one night where it was a little noisy outside (the hotel is opposite a number of bars/ hostels), but one can expect that from a city as lively as Berlin and it was fine with the windows shut. If I were to stay in Charlottenberg again, this hotel would be top of the list for its great price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, Direktionsassistentin at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Berlin and also for your reference. Your comments help us to improve our service. Our location on the Kurfürstendamm is one of our specialties. For our guests we have at the front desk numerous tips for visiting restaurants or bars in the neighborhood.

We wish you all the best.
Mandy Dochow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    63
    58
    24
    14
See reviews for
19
74
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel itself is very nice and cool design. The restaurant and food, especially the bread was great. The room had a good size but the door out to hall way need some insolation as we could hear all what went on out there. The bathroom............well that was quite frankly bad. No air went so after a shower it was steamed up.. the handle on the window was removed so no chance of airing out in there. No storage/ shelfs so it was a balance act to hit the tooth brush without knocking down the deodorant and what I found strange no shower cap or any little gadget such as hair shampoo wich is impossible to bring in your suitcase for weekend trips due to strict 100 ml fluid regulations.
I shall look forward to my next trip to Berlin but think I will search for a Hotel with a proper bath room .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, Direktionsassistentin at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to describe the impressions of your stay in our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations.


With kind regards
Mandy Dochow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto de la Cruz, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my colleague as part of the ITB Berlin 2014 in a twin room (room 101). First the better things. The location is superb. Very central, just a few minutes away from the famous Ku'damm and public transportation. The room itself was spacious enough for 2 nights. Now the not so good things. The bathroom, even though good in size, seemed worn down and had no storage facilities whatsoever. Even worse, we got a towel with a hole in it. Considering that big part of the clientele during that time were professionals from the tourism industry I find that quite embarrassing for the hotel chain. Same goes for the Wi-fi. Very bad or rather no signal in the room so had to go down to the lobby every time I wanted to connect to it. The breakfast was tasty but the selection was very small and for the price (12,50€) they charge just not adequate. Overall bad price-performance ratio.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, Direktionsassistentin at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to describe the impressions of your stay in our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations. Of course, the bad state of affairs you have described is not the rule. I'm sorry to read that we were not able to convince you of our house. I would like to apologize and assure you that I have spoken immediately with our team.

With kind regards from Berlin
Mandy Dochow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, England
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I would describe the hotel as functional rather than basic. Had everything we needed as we spent most of the day & evening exploring the city. Service from all the staff was excellent, breakfast was the same each day but there was a big selection. Free wifi worked well, location was great (5mins from u-bahn & ku'damm) and overall provided a great base for our trip.
Only negative was a lack of soundproofing. I don't think the walls are thin, I think the doors are.
Great value, location and service

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, Direktionsassistentin at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your review and your compliments and that in particular you found the staff very kind. We are happy about your recommendation and would be pleased to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards
Mandy Dochow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night. The room was ok, but the bathroom was pretty aged. It was clean though. The breakfast was nice and there was plenty. The staff was friendly and had some good advice on the restaurants in the neighbourhood.
On the negative side, there was no wifi signal in our room on the 2nd floor, though this was advertised. We had to walk down to the reception area every time we wanted to use the wifi. Furthermore the walls were really thin so we could hear everything that was said in the hallway and neighbouring rooms.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, Direktionsassistentin at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your review. Your comments help us to improve our services constantly.
We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you in the near future.

With kind regards
Mandy Dochow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We are not very happy with our choice. Terrible beds en small rooms(upgraded they said!?) breakfast was okay. Tv was not working, second dat it was! Location was okay nearby metro en god restaurants padre...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, Direktionsassistentin at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear guest,

I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction.

With kind regards from Berlin
Mandy Dochow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The price was the main attraction of this hotel, it's a budget hotel but you certainly get more than you pay for.

On arrival we were given a twin room although we had booked a double bed, we couldn't push the beds together as the bathroom door was between the beds. When I asked reception to change the room she did, and very quickly. Our new room was quite small, but clean and had everything we needed. A 4th floor room meant less street noise, although as we slept with the window open a little as the room got quite warm, we were woken in the morning by staff and neighbours wheeling bins etc (our room was at the rear).

Good stuff include; The breakfast, lots of choice, and great coffee.The staff are all friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic, 2 minute walk to Uhlandstrasse station, from there you can get anywhere around Berlin. Just imagine the London Underground, but more efficient! Also lots of films in English on the TV in our room. When we had an early night to give our legs a rest, this was particularly welcome!

Not so good stuff included the wifi, which of course is a good thing, but didn't reach us on the 4th floor, anytime we wanted to use it, had to get up and go down to reception. It might be better signal on lower floors, but the compromise might be street noise.

The hotel generally is clean and tidy, perhaps could do with some modernisation soon, but I don't really have anything bad to say. If we returned to Berlin, we would definitely stay here again. Great value for money, and a great location.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lift, as the noise of people coming in and out travels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, Receptionist at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate every advice given to us as we constantly try to improve our service and of course our hotel.

We wish you a pleasant christmas time and hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Steffanie Kutzner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel

Address: Lietzenburger Strasse 79-81, 10719 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City West)
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand City Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.