We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel to your Saves list
Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lietzenburger Strasse 79-81, 10719 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City West) (Charlottenburg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #385 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was a bit worried what to expect but was pleased. The location is good, just cross over the road and up Uhlandstrasse and you are in the thick of it on Kurfurstendamm.
Room was OK, twin beds pushed together and only one pillow but we could have asked more more pillows.
Flat screen TV with some English though we were out most of the time. Reasonable storage though would have struggled if staying for a week.
BEWARE if you have young children, the large bathroom window opens inwards with nothing to stop it fully opening.
Breakfast choice reasonable no grumbles there.
There is no bar but there are vending machines with beer, wine and some spirits, water, soft drinks etc and because of its central location there are plently of places to eat and drink.
Perhaps we were lucky with our room on the 3rd floor at the front but for what we paid we were quite happy to spend a couple of nights there

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    77
    63
    29
    17
See reviews for
26
90
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The location is really great. Not really at the Ku'damm but really close to it. But the hotel itself is very old and really in a need of a big renovation. The bathroom is old and smelled bad, had also no window. The walls are soooooo thin, you could hear everything what was done and said outside your room. The staff needs to be more trained in giving a good service. We checked in late due to late flight and all we found was a security guy which was unable to cope with our questions and requests. I would also not recommend the breakfast due to 2 reasons; 1. every day the same options, 2. berlin has soooo many great cafes and breakfast locations which offer much more and for less money. In total, I would recommend this hotel if you have a small budget and would not stay a lot in the hotel room.

Room Tip: we had room 408 which has a window to the back side and not the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Local rating was 3 star but dealer rating 4.The truth is 3. Old rooms with fitted carpet on the top of the noisy wooden floor (cosy) Location is the best selling argument. No Wlan. Only few services ( modest breakfast) available but staff very friendly.Basic hotel at the good location. One big minus the light curtains in the rooms should be washed every now and then.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, Direktionsassistentin at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It´s right that we are a 3 star Garni hotel.
We are sorry to see you were not fully satisfied with the service and accommodations received. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
With kind regards from Berlin
Mandy Dochow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Booked this hotel for a conference trip -package deal with flight - entire trip price was reasonable -room rate with breakfast I estimate about 55 euros a night. I was upgraded apparently! Good points- friendly staff, good choice of food at breakfast, not expensive, great location. Bad points - room was soulless- although they tried with a big print- tiny bathroom and shower-and although one bottle of water complimentary on first night this was not repeated for subsequent nights-( I never understand that philosophy- a bit like saying first night "look how generous we are" then showing true colours)!! If you're on a budget then this hotel will suffice- its OK. Me? I'd rather have spent a bit more money on a nicer room- my fault- and I need to be a bit more discerning in future!

Room Tip: Sorry can't help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is lovely - clean, close to one of the main shopping districts and tourist destinations. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, the buffet was open for a long time which meant that there was never any queues or waits for food.

Unfortunately all of this was dampened by the room I had. If you are ever offered room 105 ask to get it changed immediately! There are no doors between reception on the ground floor and the first floor, I could hear absolutely everything. In addition to this the elevator is right outside the door of 105. The combination of all this noise meant I had very little sleep for the three nights I stayed.

I'd like to think that if I was on a different floor it would've made a difference, but please note that there were no doors between the elevator and the room facing it - whether that was 105, 205 etc etc. So if you are allocated one of these rooms I'd be asking to change.

It was a shame, my trip was ruined by the lack of sleep I had.

Room Tip: Don't go near anything that ends '05'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We also have single rooms in other areas and we hope we will see you once again. Please convince by your next stay at our hotel.
Mandy Dochow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A pleasant hotel with the staff being very helpful and welcoming. The room was functional but comfortable and very quiet which was nice ...apart from the church bells at 8am! A good location with plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Easy to get to the city centre with good transport links by bus or tram. Overall very pleased.

Room Tip: We were at the back (south facing). Not much of a view - just apartments etc but very quiet. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your review and your compliments. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future

Best regards
Monika Piesker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just came home from a shopping trip in Berlin, with a very successful shopping I will say :-)
We arrived quite late to the hotel, and the first we saw was a smiling gentleman that welcomed us. After a quick check-in we took the elevator up to our room (3rd floor) and found a small but cosy room with everything you need (bed, shower, bathroom/toilet).
Breakfast was not included and we paid 12,50 EUR - and it was worth every single cent...great service and very friendly people working.
First day we went the wrong way, so we had a long walk to Kurfurstendamm...next day we took the Uhlandstrasse and reached Kurfurstendamm in 5-7 minutes :-) We bought the Tourist Citycard and I think I have tried most of the U-bahns, buses and some S-bahn for just 16 EUR (2 day card). We did most of the shopping at Kurfurstendamm, but you also have great shopping around the Alexanderplatz (Kaufhof, Alexis etc).
There is also so much interesting things to see in Berlin, the Berlin wall, the Jewish Museeum, Gedächtniskirche, the Berlin dome, Brandenburger Tor etc etc and everything is quite close so you can see most of it in 1-2 Days.
You also had a food store close to the hotel and lots of great restaurants and pubs. So friendly people at all bars, cheering and talking to make you feel welcomed.
NOTE that this hotel is a smoke free hotel (you have to sign a paper that you will not smoke, otherwise there was a 100 EUR fee) which we thought was great!! We really recommend this hotel, a "value-for-money" hotel :-) ....and if I am going back for shopping I will stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a room towards the back yard and there was lots of sounds early in the morning - think they e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel

Address: Lietzenburger Strasse 79-81, 10719 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City West)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand City Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.