We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GOOD CHOICE IN BERLIN!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City West

Save Saved
You added Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lietzenburger Strasse 79-81, 10719 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #394 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Sweden
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A GOOD CHOICE IN BERLIN!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here for three nights now in august 2013. A clean hotel with great location in the central of Berlin. The staff were polite och serviceminded. I stayed at the sixth floor and the elevator just went to the fifth floor but what the hell. Could easily stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City West, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your review and your compliments. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you in the near future.

Best wishes
Monika Piesker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    83
    66
    30
    16
See reviews for
18
62
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vejle, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Tryp in Lietzenburger Strasse is placed very near to Ku'Damm, U-Bahn and dozens of restaurants. Easy to get to. The hotel in itself is not especially charming - but the room, where we spent three nights, was big with air condition (we turned it off) and Wi-Fi (you have to ask the reception for access), fine bed and so on. Breakfast was fine with a big variety of müssli, yoghurt, eggs, bread, and so on. But I missed bacon for my scrambled eggs! The reception staff was very efficient and professional.
All in all, no complaints from us!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City West, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Berlin. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and would be pleased to welcome you again.

Best regards
Monika Piesker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

No doubt Tryp is in a great location with many restaurants, grocery markets and the U-Bahn nearby.

However, we were disappointed to be given a room with no AC and no Wi-Fi although the advertised “Free Wi-Fi” was one of the many reasons we chose this hotel.

Added to this disappointment was the sad excuse we were given when we complained about it.

At check in the hotel was not full and since we requested a “Wi-Fi” code at check in, we felt we should have been given a room where the internet worked.

Be aware that the Wi-Fi does not work at rooms located at the end of the halls. Also, rooms facing back of the hotel have no air circulation and can be brutal when the temperature outside is in the 80's.

I have mixed feelings about recommending this hotel as the I feel the service was poor and not very accommodating.

Parking is E$12 per day and breakfast E$8 per person but there are many options nearby if these prices are out of your budget range.

Room Tip: Choose room facing street, maybe noisy but you have a better chance of getting a breeze. Avoid end r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City West, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations.

I would like to inform you that I have done a follow up with the respectively Head of Departments concerning the issues you have raised. It is only with guest feedback that we can ensure that we maintain our high standards and so this does not affect any of future guests.

Best regards from Berlin
Monika Piesker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here as a part of a business trip in which I had to work nightly hours and sleep during the day. Unfortunately the rooms (I was relocated once) they gave me were both without air conditioning while they're website stated 'partly air conditioned'. I guess this means public areas and a limited number of rooms only. As the sun was shining, the temperature in the room really went up and I was unable to sleep because of it. On top of that the curtains did not fully cover the window, so a lot of light was let through by the curtains. This also does not help in trying to get some sleep. Upon asking about a possible other room I was told that all rooms with air conditioning were occupied and that 'the curtains in the other room may be a bit bigger'...

I then requested an early checkout which initially was not allowed by the hotel without paying for my full stay. After some time and with the help of the front desk lady, the manager ultimately agreed to allow an early check-out with a 1 penalty only.

Not really happy with this hotel as closing curtains should be one of the basic things in a room. All the other things add up to a not so happy customer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burdwan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was a real smart hotel.
I stayed in a single room for one night only. Room size was small (but I got it in only 39 Euro), but designed smartly to accommodate my requirements. Toilet was good. Wi fi was free of cost.
However, breakfast was expensive to purchase (12.5 Euro)- so the bed & breakfast rate becomes high.
Hotel was absolutely clean, reception people was nice, location was very good..stone throw from city centre..
Recommended for stay..

Room Tip: Try to take the room with breakfast plan, (or plan breakfast outside) to save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City West, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your nice review and your efforts. We are very happy about your recommendation and would be pleased to welcome you again soon.

Best regards
Monika Piesker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I recently booked accommodation at this hotel, and the customer service I received from them was unprofessional and just plain rude. I phoned to get clarity about an email that I had sent 3 days prior that still had not been replied to, only to be told that 'all emails had been attended to, there is nothing unread in my inbox'. After further investigation, the lady in reservations realised that my emails slipped through the cracks, and rather than apologising for not getting back to me, she blamed her colleagues for not following up and was still very rude to me. Needless to say, I cancelled by reservation and I would NEVER stay at this hotel because I was treated so poorly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Location of this hotel a block off the to Kurfürstendamm is very convenient, close to S- and U-Bahn as well as number of good restaurants in the neighborhood. Buffet breakfast is good and costs12 euros p.p. (not included in room rate) provides a solid foundation for city excursions. The personnel is friendly and helpful.
Rooms would benefit from redecoration, particularly the carpets should be removed and replaced by a more hygienic material (e.g. wood or linoleum). Furniture is only the absolute minimum and the beds narrow. There is not enough shelf space in the bathroom or any drawers in the closet. There should be a safe in the room, too.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the inner courtyard. Traffic makes rooms facing the street are rather noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City West

Address: Lietzenburger Strasse 79-81, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City West 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand City Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.