We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel to your Saves list
Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lietzenburger Strasse 79-81, 10719 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City West) (Charlottenburg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #418 of 668 Hotels in Berlin
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

When it comes to this hotel, you have to look at things in perspective. The location is great (although for younger people I wouldn't recomand West-Berlin as it's a bit dust, better to stay at the Mitte area), very close to the Ku'damm (about 3 minute walk). The hotel itself is not that fantastic, but reasonable quality at this price/location. The beds were fine and the hotel is quiet. The rooms were small but not really a problem when you're on a city trip and don't have a big suitcase. The rooms were clean although the carpet looked a bit dusty and worn out. Rooms were cleaned every morning and towers were changed. However, on our second last day the room wasn't cleaned and towers weren't changed until 17:00 due to lack of staff. Desk staff was friendly and spoke English well.
Didn't try the breakfast as it's usually too expensive for what you get. Better go to a nearby Starbucks where you actually do have wireless internet access (I can't believe this hotel isn't offering free wifi. So zeroes.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Eline,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to have another chance to hosting you again.

Best regards
Monika Piesker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    87
    72
    38
    18
See reviews for
30
106
31
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Hotel is not OK, rooms are so, so ! The breakfast is perfect, but too much and better to have breakfast at one of the local breakfast shops close by. Tons of good food places around for super quality/price balance.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My first trip to Berlin and this was a great standard of hotel. Nice large bed, spacious bathroom (there was even a bath which seems to be a rarity in hotels these days). Everything clean and just as you would hope to expect. Immaculate decor. Lots of choices at buffet style continental breakfast and only a ten minute walk from Zooligische Garten train station which is very handy. You can get a bus to the hotel as well but we preferred walking. Lots of cheap eateries nearby.

One word of warning though for non German speakers: this hotel seems to go by three different names which is very confusing when trying to get a taxi back late at night. German taxi drivers have the patience of angels but they are not psychic. Write the address down or get a card to take with you as you are never going to remember 'Lietzenburger Strasse' let alone pronounce it after a few refreshments!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room near the lift. I was as far away as possible but heard it during the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Sandra,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you in the near future.

Best regards
Monika Piesker
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My first trip to Berlin and i was particularly pleased with the friendliness and helpfulness of the Hotel staff.The restaurant was imacculately clean and the waiting staff efficient and magnanimous.The Hotel has a great location just off the Ku'damm which should suit shopaholics,there is also a plethora of bars/restaurants on hand too.

The rooms were very clean and warm and i experienced little problem sleeping,though as has been observed in other reviews it may be advisable to avoid rooms directly opposite the lift shaft.

There are two underground stations a short walk away in Uhlandstrasse and the 'City Cicrle Sightseeing Tours' also start in the nearby Ku'damm.

Check-in is from 3pm and Check-out at midday,however there is a luggage room available in which to deposit your bags should your flight times prove awkward.

Altogether the Hotel offered very pleasing value for money,i would happily (and plan to,) use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room opposite the lift shaft as there can be some noise from the doors opening and cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika P, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Jason,
Thanks a lot for your great review and your efforts. We are very happy about your recommendation and would be pleased to welcome you again!.

Best regards from Berlin
Monika Piesker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It was a guite cheap hotel but had many good things.The personal was very kind and helpful.We could print the check in to our flight easy,it was very easy to go everywhere-bus 109 direkt to airport! Many good cafees and restaurangs nearby and a little supermarket.And a nice sauna too.I will come and stay next time too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Visiting Berlin near Christmas time is a fantastic experience and should be a must at least once in everyone's lifetime. However, where you stay could affect your visit.
On our annual Christmas long weekend stay in Berlin, we decided to swap hotels only for a change of scenery.
The Grand City Hotel Berlin Kudamm looked to be a decent choice.
I was booked into a single room on the third floor, my friend on the fifth. Not a problem at first until I went to bed. As my room was opposite the doors to the lift, i heard EVERY single person who used the lift, ALL NIGHT!!
When I asked to change rooms, as they were almost at capacity, they had to do some changing but was done. Up to the sixth floor (lift only goes to fifth) I went and I thought all problems were over. Well, my new room was opposite the large motor that operated the lift so, although not as loud, there was a constant rumble every time anyone used the lift.
The rooms were clean and tidy and staff were always friendly. It became very obvious quickly that all the staff's English was better than my German so any problems were solved easily.
I would recomend the hotel, just avoid rooms away from the lift.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Domus Hotel Berlin Ku'Damm
#293 of 668 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Charlottenburg
Mark Apart Hotel Berlin
Mark Apart Hotel Berlin
#370 of 668 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Berlin Mark Hotel
Berlin Mark Hotel
#361 of 668 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
Charlottenburg
Azimut Hotel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Days Inn Berlin West
#372 of 668 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel

Address: Lietzenburger Strasse 79-81, 10719 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City West)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #418 of 668 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand City Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp by Wyndham Berlin am Ku'damm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.