We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms Good, Location not Brilliant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel President

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel President to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   An Der Urania 16-18, 10787 Berlin, Germany (Schoneberg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 30%
Ranked #391 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Bletchley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Rooms Good, Location not Brilliant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I want to start by saying that the President Hotel is by no means a bad hotel. In fact it was very comfortable, clean, with good transport links and had reasonably friendly staff. Its not great though and there are some factors that mean I probably wouldn't have this as my first choice again.

We arrived at the hotel from Schoenfeld Airport via the S-Bahn into Wittenbergenplatz. It is really close to the station and so after a flight from Paris it was nice to not have to go very far. Our actual room was pleasant with two single beds, a large window overlooking the front of the hotel (if you leant out you could see the TV tower), a small TV, a large wardrobe and a reasonably sized bathroom. It was all kept very clean and looked welcoming from as soon as we arrived.

Aesthetically, no problems at all, however there were some issues. The shower was appalling. It was what I can only describe as a small cell with doors that didn't quite meet which every so often would adjust the temperature of the water from warm to scalding. It was really quite nasty. Secondly there was no air con, a note said adjust the radiators but even with these as low as possible the room was uncomfortably hot. Finally the Wi-Fi was terrible, when you could sign in (and i stress when) the signal was dire. Small things granted, and all bearable if your taking in the amazing city that is Berlin.

My main issue with the Hotel was location. Reading online that this was conveniently placed near the Tiergarten i thought brilliant! A short walk to Brandenburg gate, not far from the Reichstag excellent! Unfortunately I didn't find this to be the case, as it was the opposite side of the park to everything else. I am sure this is great for business travellers but for me as a sightseeing tourist it was just a little too far from Alexanderplatz and the main attractions. While the U-Bahn was just around the corner and easily accessible it was still 30-40 mins to the main square every day. Because of this, we really made use of our Berlin Welcome cards! If you are going to stay here make sure you pick one up and validate it!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the front, you can see some of Alexanderplatz from the window. If travelling with kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    205
    103
    37
    31
See reviews for
58
117
61
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very unwelcoming reception, unfriendly I would even say indeferent members of staff towards to there guets. Don't expect smile or questions about your stay and any questions about your opinion regarding of your stay.

Room Tip: Always check cleanses of the room. Usually it's looks quite clean, but you'll easily find du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arrival at the hotel we received a surly reception, never a good start.
We were allocated a corner room on the 8th Floor, which was light and airy and of a good size.
The furniture, fixtures and fittings were dated though everything was very clean and well maintained.
The beds are firm and the pillows are very soft and don't provide much support.
The sheets, however, were not changed during a seven night stay - would've expected at least one change.
The minibar doesn't work too well as it is located inside a cupboard which causes it to overheat, if you want it to cool down leave the door to the cupboard open - this remedies the problem.
WiFi seemed to work OK.

The breakfast was good though not outstanding.
The hot food on the buffet was hot - the plates however were cold.
Breakfast is served from 06:30 to 10:30 daily

The reception, we noticed, is often unmanned they clearly need more staff - Otherwise, there's always a line of people waiting to be helped. Of the the three receptionists we had dealings with, only the Caucasian German guy was satisfactorily helpful.

The hotel has a good location close to the Kurfurstendam. It is also easy to reach all the other main attractions by public transport from here.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel location is easily accessible to everything you want on a holiday, train and bus station, restaurant, shopping center, pick up point for the bus tour.....our room was pretty clean and good. The only hiccup, there' s no enough coffee, sugar and milk..had to ask the reception once. As they forgot to refillthe supply one morning.
The staff was ever so helpful and attentive. love the soft pillows...
Thanks to free wifi...though its best to use the wifi late at night, you have to log in several times during the day/ afternoon...

Room Tip: Our room was located at fifth floor..its quiet and good share od sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is a two minute walk away from Wittenbergplatz (a large U-bahn station), a late night supermarket (Kaiser - midnight close) and several restaurants and shops (you must check out the Ka-De-We) - so a pretty good location. If you want a lot of the main attractions then you'll need to get a bus or u-bahn.

The staff at the hotel seemed pleasant, but not totally clued up on a lot of the questions I asked - but this didn't really matter as there's a tourist info box round the corner next to wittenbergplatz.

Internet was AWFUL - you have to log on through your browser (on mobile) and it kept telling me and my friend there were too many people logged onto the system so we couldn't connect. When we finally did connect the internet was incredibly slow and consistently kicked me off. I wasn't even able to download my phone update of 1 MB.

The real shocker for this hotel was the shower. It had really awkward doors to close which means getting water all over the bathroom floor, and it had a habit of going from scolding hot water for 5 seconds to normal warm temperature for 20 seconds and repeating this pattern. Caught me out a few times and it was not nice!

Not many TV channels. You have a couple of German channels and BBC News and one other English channel and that was it. Wouldn't have bothered me as much if it wasn't for the fact that the internet was so shocking. Just a side note - the beds and pillows are super soft and consume you, so if you prefer a firmer mattress, prepare yourself haha.

BIG TIP - Buy a traveler/tourist welcome card at the train station terminal - it is 21.50 euros for 48 hours and it covers you for bus, u-bahn and trams! They also do a 5 day one (I don't know the cost) depending on how long you're there for. Trust me, you can easily get around Berlin with a map and public transport - plus the German people are really friendly and willing to help.

Room Tip: Higher rooms will be quieter as you're further from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaDr, Sales Representativ at BEST WESTERN Hotel President, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you andy2183 for your review and the good tips for other Berlin visitors.
You are right the Berlin Welcome card is a bargain to get around the city and it also offers the bus route 100, which drives by every major Berlin attraction without any extra charges.

I am sorry to hear that you had such troubles with the shower in your room, our technical staff is anxious to fix such problems as soon as possible.

I hope you still had a great time here and discovered as much as possible of Berlin.

Greetings from Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We arrived and were checked in ok. Our room on the 5th Floor was a reasonable size. It was warm and clean. Not enough tea and milk. Bed was comfortable but could of done with another pillow. Good shower. The man on reception was helpful but there was always a queue whenever I went downstairs. Breakfast was ok but the hot food was cold. Why cant hotels serve hot or even warm baked beans?? The usual bacon sausage cold scrambled egg and beans. Cereals bread ham cheese and fruit and some good English tea. The second morning the breakfast tables were stacked high with dirty plates and cups. Near to the KuDamm for shopping and tours.Nice hotel but slow service.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaDr, Sales Representativ at BEST WESTERN Hotel President, responded to this review, March 30, 2015
Dear KimQueenofQuo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at tripadvisor. First of all we like to thank you for the kind review. We are very happy that we could provided you a good service and make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Our english tea must be good indeded, if it's complimented by someone from its origin.

We always try to keep the food on our breakfast buffet warm and fresh. We are sorry to hear that it didn't work out during your stay at our hotel. I will forward your review to our kitchen personnel and we will improve in that regard.

Thanks again for the (mostly) positive review and we hope you had a great time in Berlin!

Greetings from Berlin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We had 2 rooms over our 2 night stay. the first was a standard room but the mini bar fridge didnt work n tv constantly flickered n the plug wouldnt retain water in the sink resulting in warm beers. We reported it twice n 2 engineers both said Kaput. After a trip to reception we were upgraded to a room with working minibar and tv but no bsth and it was the hottest room ever with very noisy inadequate aircon... Location was fab though n only 6 minutes walk to Zoogarten station.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaDr, Sales Representativ at BEST WESTERN Hotel President, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
Dear Samielollipop,

Thank you for your review here on tripadvisor.com. We are happy that you could use our excellent location to explore the city of Berlin to its fullest.

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the noise and the broken fridge in your room. Our technical staff is anxious to fix problems like this on the spot. It's unfortunate to hear that we couldn't fix those problem in time for you to enjoy your stay at our our hotel without any limitations.

We hope you still had a great time in Berlin and we would love to see you again at our hotel.

Greetings from Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel President

Address: An Der Urania 16-18, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#166 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western President
Best Western Berlin
Berlin Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.