We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palace Berlin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palace Berlin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palace Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Budapesterstrasse 45, 10787 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was there for business so I can't judge the location.
I was very lucky because I recieved an upgrade in a superior room. This was quite spacious and confortable. Proportionaly a narrow bathroom. In any case everything was very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    461
    231
    77
    20
    13
See reviews for
88
260
81
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

i arrived on jan 14th and it was my first visit to this hotel.
I was pleasantly surprised;the bellman,receptionist everybody was so friendly and attenitive,even adressing me by name 2 days later.
My assigned room on the 7th floor was a junior suite and it was perfect,;
quiet and ligth and renovated.GREAT Matress,Shower a tick small ..
The pool was nice but small. tooThe sauna(extra)was not hot enough
The breakfast was EXCELLENT,different daily specialities,also juices,a cook to make your eggorders.Big selection,also of fruits.Young ,attentive and FRIENDLY staff
The location is great if you working in this part of the city as i did,and the shopping streets where also where close by
The warmth of the staff and the amenities and attention made me feel relaxed and comfortable.
i will return to this hotel,for sure(already now in february actually)

Room Tip: you want to be away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Palace was clean, friendly, helpful, just across from the zoo and close to the best shopping centre I have ever been to! The food is fantastic here, as is the wine. The Palace Staff are well trained and gave very good service. Its not an exciting looking hotel but I wasnt there enough to worry, and what was there was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel exterior will let you down. It is actually a part of a shopping center - Europa Center - and looks just like it. Inside, the design is conservative - comfortable and quite expensive looking, but uninspired. Reception is very efficient and friendly, and everyone speaks very good English. We were upgraded from a Deluxe (standard) room to "Business Deluxe". I'm not sure what this means, because the rooms didn't seem to have anything special about them. Still they were very comfortable and rather spacious, with a desk and 2 couches and nice bathroom (separate bath and shower). What I didn't like about the room was that there were no drawers and hardly any shelves in the closet, or anywhere else - only lots of space for hanging clothes. Also, the beds and pillows are very soft - a bit too soft for me!
The room is insulated well from the noisy street outside, however we had to open it for fresh air and did get street noise at night. Don't expect any nice views from your room, unless you are in the more expensive rooms on higher floors.
The pool is rather small but nice; Jacuzzi is attached to the pool, so water there is not as warm as should be. The fitness room is medium size. One of the 2 running machines didn't work when we were there; the staff said "we are getting new equipment, so no one will bother about fixing it". This doesn't really help when you wait for someone to finish their 10K morning run!
The problem about this hotel, and - as we understand, with most 5-star hotels in Berlin - is the extra payments. Internet - 22 euros per day! Breakfast - 27 euros (!!) per person, per day. We had breakfast at the near by Movenpick (walk through Europa Center to the other end) - a huge breakfast buffet with everything you can think of for 17 euros per person.
Location is good - across the street from the Zoo, 5 minutes walk to Tiergarten, 5 minutes walk to KaDeWe, right on the 100 and 200 bus stop and 5 minutes walk to S-bann and U-bann. Many restaurants and cafes are near by. However it is far from many of the attractions which are mostly at the other side of Tiegarten, in Mitte.
We had a couple of drinks at the bar and in the lobby - good service and quality.
Overall we had a lovely stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just returned from hotel Palace Berlin. Great location and ideal hotel for sightseeing and shopping right on your doorstep at Kurfürstendamm shopping street and near the huge KaDeWe shopping store. All shops were closed on a Sunday which I weren’t used to for a capital city so on this day I would recommend maybe going to the Zoo/Aquarium which is situated opposite the hotel or maybe chillout in the hotel pool area.
Rooms in the hotel were great but not really up to the 5star standard but another person travelling in our group got an upgraded room which was far more superior and certainly matched the price paid. Also on other hotel websites they seem to be using the best rooms/upgraded rooms in the hotel to make them all look like they are all completed in this style.
Didn’t really use the public transport much apart from one day which was easy enough to use. Getting from the airport we used a great transfer company which was reasonable priced called Black Lane Limousine. There is a hop on/off tour bus which is located close to the hotel. My advice would be get on the first bus which leaves at around 10am as you get good seats upstairs otherwise any buses after fill up quickly and you will have to sit downstairs with not much view of the sights.
Breakfast in hotel was incl in our stay. There was such a huge selection from hot and cold and was great that some of your main dishes were cooked to order for you.
We used the pool area once in the hotel which was great to use after long day of shopping/sightseeing. Totally not worth the extra to pay for a sauna though. Internet charges were a complete rip off too. Any other 5star hotel I have stayed in within Europe this would be incl in the accommodation rate.
We ate twice in the hotel Sams bar which was ok. Not worth the prices at all and menu was very limited on what they have to offer. Plenty of other nice restaurants are situated close by to the hotel with much better selection. I would like to say I would return to this hotel maybe if I got a room which reflected the price and they got rid of the ridiculous extra charges for internet and sauna usage.

Room Tip: Request a room on higher floor. Viewed a room on lower floor and it were like something from the 80...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Ich bin ein Berliner and my husband and me decided to spend Christmas in Berlin. We didn't regret the choice of this hotel. Amazing, warm service surrounded our relaxing stay on this very central place in old city center near KaDeWe. And I could relax after weeks of hard work. Breakfast is wonderful and lobby was very cosy prepared for Christmas ... Disappointing was the high charges for Internet and the not working keyboard for the Internet access via TV. This is not nice and gives bad moments even you feel fantastic hosted. Gay friendly.
We will come back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Very good location for zoo markets shopping huge choice of restaurants nightclub 20th floor of shopping centre was fun greAt views cost of cAb from airport 50 euros tops.irish bar fun staff at hotel a little stuffy bus tours a must jump on and off very easy to use .a great city to visit with loads to do.a place were you can never be over dresses get the gladrags on and enjoy

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palace Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Berlin

Address: Budapesterstrasse 45, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palace Berlin 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Palace Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palace Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.