We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel central to all sights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palace Berlin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palace Berlin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palace Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Budapesterstrasse 45, 10787 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 665 hotels in Berlin
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel central to all sights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just returned from hotel Palace Berlin. Great location and ideal hotel for sightseeing and shopping right on your doorstep at Kurfürstendamm shopping street and near the huge KaDeWe shopping store. All shops were closed on a Sunday which I weren’t used to for a capital city so on this day I would recommend maybe going to the Zoo/Aquarium which is situated opposite the hotel or maybe chillout in the hotel pool area.
Rooms in the hotel were great but not really up to the 5star standard but another person travelling in our group got an upgraded room which was far more superior and certainly matched the price paid. Also on other hotel websites they seem to be using the best rooms/upgraded rooms in the hotel to make them all look like they are all completed in this style.
Didn’t really use the public transport much apart from one day which was easy enough to use. Getting from the airport we used a great transfer company which was reasonable priced called Black Lane Limousine. There is a hop on/off tour bus which is located close to the hotel. My advice would be get on the first bus which leaves at around 10am as you get good seats upstairs otherwise any buses after fill up quickly and you will have to sit downstairs with not much view of the sights.
Breakfast in hotel was incl in our stay. There was such a huge selection from hot and cold and was great that some of your main dishes were cooked to order for you.
We used the pool area once in the hotel which was great to use after long day of shopping/sightseeing. Totally not worth the extra to pay for a sauna though. Internet charges were a complete rip off too. Any other 5star hotel I have stayed in within Europe this would be incl in the accommodation rate.
We ate twice in the hotel Sams bar which was ok. Not worth the prices at all and menu was very limited on what they have to offer. Plenty of other nice restaurants are situated close by to the hotel with much better selection. I would like to say I would return to this hotel maybe if I got a room which reflected the price and they got rid of the ridiculous extra charges for internet and sauna usage.

Room Tip: Request a room on higher floor. Viewed a room on lower floor and it were like something from the 80...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    417
    222
    70
    19
    12
See reviews for
92
264
82
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Ich bin ein Berliner and my husband and me decided to spend Christmas in Berlin. We didn't regret the choice of this hotel. Amazing, warm service surrounded our relaxing stay on this very central place in old city center near KaDeWe. And I could relax after weeks of hard work. Breakfast is wonderful and lobby was very cosy prepared for Christmas ... Disappointing was the high charges for Internet and the not working keyboard for the Internet access via TV. This is not nice and gives bad moments even you feel fantastic hosted. Gay friendly.
We will come back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Very good location for zoo markets shopping huge choice of restaurants nightclub 20th floor of shopping centre was fun greAt views cost of cAb from airport 50 euros tops.irish bar fun staff at hotel a little stuffy bus tours a must jump on and off very easy to use .a great city to visit with loads to do.a place were you can never be over dresses get the gladrags on and enjoy

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed in the hotel for a week (Sunday to Saturday) however would not recommend it to others or return to it.

Good:
- location is ok, next to Europa Shopping center, Berlin Aquarium, Kaiser Memorial Church and two blocks away from subway (lines U1, U2 and U3)
- included breakfast was great and they had a complimentary daily papers at the entrance including Wall Street Journal
- evening piano concert in the lobby

Need to Improve:
- no free WiFi available even in the lobby and the two computers in the business center did not work (one was down completely and other did not have connection to internet)
- internet cost around 20 Euro per day in the room
- gym was tiny and one of the two treadmills was not operational

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hotel is really excellent. Breakfast was delicious, sauna and pool were great, rooms were comfortable, and stuff was incredible. Rooms are spacious. Hotel is located close to all the nice stores, across the street from the Zoo and the Aquarium. There is a shopping center next door. Hotel has three different restaurants.

Beware of the extra charges. Hotel charges extra everything and prices of these additions are ridiculous. Internet costs over 20 euros per day. Not even in the lobby you could get free Internet. Parking costs over 25 per day, breakfast costs 26 per person, sauna costs 13 per person per day. A five star hotel could at least give its costumers free internet access and sauna included in the price.

My guess is that the hotel tries to look affordable by offering low price on the websites. Buyers forget to look at the small print and do not notice that breakfast, sauna, internet, and parking are not included. At the end your bill is about 50% higher than what you expected. When I saw guests checking out and getting bills at the reception they were all surprised, disappointed and angry because they noticed that the bill was way higher than expected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel before a few years ago ,this time got a very reasonable deal through travel republic which included breakfast . Check in was very friendly and helpful,we were allocated a room straight away despite the fact we were a wee bit early (1pm ) . After allocating our room the charming lady passed us onto another charming girl who took us up to the room explaining everything on the way ,including how to work key cards ,and showing us the room and all the associated info (safe ,heating ,tv ,spa etc etc) very impressed with this welcome as some hotels just throw a key at you and point you in the direction of the lift !!! Room itself was fairly big ,beds comfy ,bathroom big and roomy with bath and separate shower cubicle,nice flat screen tv ,mini bar ,comfortable chairs and a nice wee couch ! Breakfast very good with nice friendly staff and a good choice of everything you would expect ,lovely big dining area with loads of room and brekky served till 2 pm on a sunday .. superb .Spa area slightly small ,but enjoyable with a lift direct to spa from each floor . Excellent hotel .Housekeeping very very good and discreet, would return here without question .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The people working in this centrally located located are great - attentive, friendly, communicative. However, the Hotel isn't my idea of 5 stars - fittings in my room were a bit old,curtains didn't really block out the light, the room lighting wasn't really adequate, really dark, and there were very few electricity sockets for charging phone/ laptop. What really irritated me was the complete absence of free wifi - minimum charge of Euro 17, which for a low cost facility is a total rip off. I would give the hotel 4 stars, but with a warning to upgrade/modernise.

Room Tip: My room was spacious, but a smokers room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palace Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Berlin

Address: Budapesterstrasse 45, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 665 hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palace Berlin 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Palace Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palace Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.