We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Berlin City Center East-Prenzlauer Allee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Berlin City Center East-Prenzlauer Allee to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Berlin City Center East-Prenzlauer Allee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prenzlauer Allee 169, 10409 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #248 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good value!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel location is a bit away from the city centre and in a grim area to be precise. Which can put you off on your arrival thats, if you check in late like we did. But by the public transport or the car. It would approx. be 20 - 30 mins to most of the prime attractions. Our standard room was spacious, clean and well equipped. Though the only downside was the AC cooling system that dint work to its maximum. Which made it very difficult for us to sleep comfortably. We couldn't use the hotel restaurant for our evening dinner, since it was booked by a group. However the front office staff helped us discover heaps of versatile restaurants a bit further from the S station. The same gentleman advised us again next morning with the planning of our half day trip to the centre. We would definitely use the Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    143
    51
    14
    8
See reviews for
35
105
28
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our first trip to Berlin and was looking for a reasonabily priced hotel to base ourselves whilst we explored the city.and this fitted the bill perfectly.
In terms of location, it is not right in the city centre but a short tram ride will take you to the Alexandraplatz train station. The hotel is also a short distance (5 mins walk) from the local train station (Prenzlauer Allee) which has trains to Berlin-Schönefeld Airport and this was great for us as it meant that we saved money on taxis.

The hotel itself is modern and clean - our room was a good size and even had a choice of pillows (firm or soft) to choose from :)
Our room included breakfast and there was a good choice of continental breakfast with fresh fruit, breads, cereals and cakes as well as a limited cooked choice of meat (bacon, meatballs, frankfurters in rotation depending on day) and scambled or boiled eggs.
However we did not have dinner or lunch at the hotel as we found the choice was a bit limited and there are plenty of restaurants and pubs within a 5-10mins walk away.
We found the staff really helpful as we asked them many questions about Berlin since it was our first stay. One great tip from the staff was purchasing a zone A and B group pass to use the public transport. This give good saving if there are more than 2 people in the group as it costs 15 euros and the pass is good for the whole day.
The only down side to the hotel was that the gym is very small and at the time we stayed when the weather was quite hot the air conditioning was not working well and we decided to run outside rather than to use the gym.

I would definately use this hotel again if I go back to Berlin but probably leave my gym kit at home unless they decide to upgrade the gym :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisvegas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is in a great location in trendy/arty Prenzlauer. Tram right outside front door and metro 5 mins walk. Two trams 20 mins to the Mauer Park Saturday markets.

Walk around the neighbourhood back off Prenzlauer Allee and discover heaps of restaurants close by further in towards Mitte.

We got a twin room at a good rate. Didn't include breakfast but we bought it at hotel anyway as only 10 Euros.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here for a week. The rooms were big and the hotel was in the perfect location with the tram directly outside coming every 5 minutes. The hotel was 10 minutes (tram ride) from Alexandraplatz. The staff were fantastic. They were really friendly and always willing to answer any questions and provide any advice that would benefit us. When first arriving in Berlin the staff gave us advice on where the best places to visit were and arranged our travel tickets for us. Could not fault this hotel and would recommend any one visiting Berlin to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Have stayed here twice it may be a bit far out for some people but you have good transport links to anywhere you need to go .Lovely Staff

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Very big room. Although being a solo traveller I was given a room with three beds in it. The size of the room was enormous. Nothing wrong there. It was fully equipped, let's say up to Holiday Inn standards. The room was on the street side, with the tram passing by. Too much noice from the street, so that's was a bit disappointing. Not helping the sleep quality, sorry to say.
Location is off the centre, but there is a tram stop in front of the hotel.
Breakfast was super! Although the crew were rushed off their feet at busy times. Food excellent.
All in all I consider this a nice hotel. Berlin is certainlya place to come back to. It was my fifth visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel many times when working in Berlin. The staff are lovely and very helpful. They have a good sense of humour ( we went to netto to buy wine and they didn't bat an eye, not even when we staggered in a bit worse for wear in the early hours of the morning, losing our keycard in the process!!)
The staussenbaum is right outside and the train sation around the corner.
This hotel is in Prenzlauerberg on the East side, it's quite Eastern Block but very safe and the shops are great in this area. If I was taking my mum I would stay on the Mitte or on the west side. But If you like good bars, friendly people and bohemian shops it'll suit you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Berlin City Center East-Prenzlauer Allee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Berlin City Center East-Prenzlauer Allee

Address: Prenzlauer Allee 169, 10409 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Berlin City Center East-Prenzlauer Allee 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Holiday Inn Berlin City Center East-Prenzlauer AlleeThe 4-star Hotel Holiday Inn Berlin City Center East - Prenzlauer Allee is located right in the center of the scene district Prenzlauer Berg which is known for its countless cafés, restaurants, arty bars and unique shops. The neighboring district Mitte, with the government district and its many sights like the Brandenburg Gate, Museum Island, as well as an abundant assortment of shopping and entertainment possibilities on Alexanderplatz, Potsdamer Platz and the Hackesche Hoefe, can all be easily reached by public transportation from the hotel. The Hotel Holiday Inn Berlin City Center East - Prenzlauer Allee offers 123 modernly furnished rooms. W-LAN and High Speed access are available in all areas of the hotel. Relax and enjoy a refreshing drink or a savory snack in our bistro or in the lobby bar. 5 conference rooms with a capacity of up to 100 persons are available for conferences and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Berlin City Center East-Prenzlauer Allee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Berlin City Center East-Prenzlauer Allee Hotel Berlin
Berlin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Berlin City Center East-Prenzlauer Allee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.