We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Berlin Georghof & Hostel

Save Saved
You added Berlin Georghof & Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berlin Georghof & Hostel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guertelstrasse 39, 41, 10247 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Friedrichshain) (Friedrichshain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #499 of 665 hotels in Berlin
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Last year stayed at the Georghof Hotel for two nights. We had a double room which was pretty spacious but not perfectly clean - there was a thick layer of dust on the topside of curtains.

When we arrived there was a blond girl(russian nationality?) at the reception and she was quite rude and unhelpful. On our second day was there a german girl who was nice and polite.

The area was ok. There was a big shopping centre nearby and some bars and coffee shops as well.

P.S. The really good thing at the hotel was their sauna.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    26
    31
    10
    18
See reviews for
6
27
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

The room was cheap. Location is pretty good. S-bahn passes by near, didn't bother me.

Coffee maker was dirty. Bathroom and bed was clean. Check-in took a bit long, because of reception mistakes. The room was really cold, slept in my sweate. Very bad Internet. Very bad. Cleaning person walked in while I was in bed.

Overall, the place is cheap. Disorganized in many ways. But the location is not bad. 2/5

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel many times. but this time i was was a bit disappointed. I paid 90 Euros. Compare where i was stayed 1st night - Hilton, this hotel was cheap with no facilities. Breakfast was ok :) Staff helpful. Nearest station is Frankfurt Alle - easy to get Aleksandre platz, just 10 -15 min :)

This hotel i choose only because i had auction in Estrella hotel just 3 stops from hotel, also to get airport Schonefeld is fast, just 30 min :)

Shops facilities is limited, just one Shopping centre near by.

Hotel has buisness centre, room was clean, bathroom a bit small.. otherwise stay was wonderfull.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Was there for new year's weekend with friends. Rooms are very small, old and not clean. Doublebeds are too small for two people! The hostel is right next to the train line and you can hear it. I woul definitely not recommend this hotel, especially not for families.
People at the reception weren't nice.

Room Tip: Rooms for 2 are really small. Doublebeds are too small for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

To begin, the room were given in the "hostel" was about 10ft by about 12ft for 3 people in single beds. There was nowhere to store our luggage or items so our items had to be strewn around.

Secondly, I have never in my life encountered staff who really did not care or know what customer service actually means. We complained 3 times about the fact our room was damp that spread further on the floor each day to the point when you walked on it you had to wear shoes otherwise it would soak through your socks. One particular member of staff was very rude. She kept saying "speak to the housemaster", "it's nothing to do with us" "there's nothing we can do" and then told us that the housemaster was waiting for us when in fact we had to wait about for them to turn up which they did not do.

We finally spoke to a member of staff who listened and on the 4th day she spoke to the manager who moved us from the room a cleaner, slightly better room that wasn't damp.

Lastly, there was a used condom still in the room we initially had hanging from the ceiling which had been there since before we checked in there.

This is not a hostel. There's no kitchen. No storage room. There's so many more better actual hostels in the area and I haven't ever felt the need to review a place (unless it was really good) but this place was infuriating.

The manager gave us 1/2 the money back for the time spent in the initial room which wasn't bad.

The initial bedroom we had, within hours of us being moved out, had been ripped apart by workers and the room was being heavily aired out which makes me think it was never fit for purpose in the first place.

Please avoid this hotel and "hostel".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

When you only care about price and relatively good connection to the city centre of Berlin, Georghof is for you. Apart from terrible noise coming from the train lines next to the windows, the hotel itself has rather limited comfort - baby-sized pillows, no A/C, no soap in the shower, no light in the shower and uncomfortable beds layout in the room. The staff was indifferent, not paying too much attention to the newly arrived guests.

Room Tip: If you have to stay there, take rooms at the street side and NOT at the railway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

For a budget place this was quite close to everything we needed. At first was a bit worried about the location but it's a short ride to alexanderplatz and anywhere else you want to go.
The hotel itself is just old and needs a revamp rooms are ok size wise and you have wifi but there's an old smoke stench and we were in a non smoking room but you could smell it all throughout the place. We stayed here three nights and were only in the room to sleep so it was fine but if we were to return to Berlin we'd probably want to spend a bit more and get something nicer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berlin Georghof & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Georghof & Hostel

Address: Guertelstrasse 39, 41, 10247 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Friedrichshain)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #499 of 665 hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berlin Georghof & Hostel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Berlin Georghof & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Georghof Hotel Berlin
Berlin Georghof And Hostel
Tulip Inn Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berlin Georghof & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.