We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this establishment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Georghof Hotel Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Georghof Hotel Berlin to your Saves list
Georghof Hotel Berlin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guertelstrasse 40- 41, 10247 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Friedrichshain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #496 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Avoid this establishment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

To begin, the room were given in the "hostel" was about 10ft by about 12ft for 3 people in single beds. There was nowhere to store our luggage or items so our items had to be strewn around.

Secondly, I have never in my life encountered staff who really did not care or know what customer service actually means. We complained 3 times about the fact our room was damp that spread further on the floor each day to the point when you walked on it you had to wear shoes otherwise it would soak through your socks. One particular member of staff was very rude. She kept saying "speak to the housemaster", "it's nothing to do with us" "there's nothing we can do" and then told us that the housemaster was waiting for us when in fact we had to wait about for them to turn up which they did not do.

We finally spoke to a member of staff who listened and on the 4th day she spoke to the manager who moved us from the room a cleaner, slightly better room that wasn't damp.

Lastly, there was a used condom still in the room we initially had hanging from the ceiling which had been there since before we checked in there.

This is not a hostel. There's no kitchen. No storage room. There's so many more better actual hostels in the area and I haven't ever felt the need to review a place (unless it was really good) but this place was infuriating.

The manager gave us 1/2 the money back for the time spent in the initial room which wasn't bad.

The initial bedroom we had, within hours of us being moved out, had been ripped apart by workers and the room was being heavily aired out which makes me think it was never fit for purpose in the first place.

Please avoid this hotel and "hostel".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    27
    31
    10
    19
See reviews for
6
28
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

When you only care about price and relatively good connection to the city centre of Berlin, Georghof is for you. Apart from terrible noise coming from the train lines next to the windows, the hotel itself has rather limited comfort - baby-sized pillows, no A/C, no soap in the shower, no light in the shower and uncomfortable beds layout in the room. The staff was indifferent, not paying too much attention to the newly arrived guests.

Room Tip: If you have to stay there, take rooms at the street side and NOT at the railway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

For a budget place this was quite close to everything we needed. At first was a bit worried about the location but it's a short ride to alexanderplatz and anywhere else you want to go.
The hotel itself is just old and needs a revamp rooms are ok size wise and you have wifi but there's an old smoke stench and we were in a non smoking room but you could smell it all throughout the place. We stayed here three nights and were only in the room to sleep so it was fine but if we were to return to Berlin we'd probably want to spend a bit more and get something nicer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My brothers and I spent one night at the Hostel Georghof during our recent trip to Germany. We had no problems. Our flight was arriving at Schonefeld Airport late and I knew we probably wouldn't get to our hotel until around 23:30, so I wanted to book a room somewhere that had 24-hour reception, and Hostel Georghof did. We only needed a cheap place to stay one night, and that's what Hostel Georghof was. The rooms were simple, but the beds were clean and I had no trouble sleeping in them. We shared the bathrooms and showers with everyone else on the floor, but we didn't have to wait long. Our room was not facing the railroad tracks, and we didn't hear any trains coming by. The neighborhood looked a little bit dirty, but not bad. The Frankfurter Allee U-Bahn station is close to the hostel (the S-Bahn station is a little further, but not much). You have to leave a 30 Euro deposit for the key, but they give it back to you when you bring back the key at check out. The Hostel Georghof is everything it is supposed to be: a cheap place to stay with a clean bed and a warm shower. I got exactly what I expected from this hostel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

It was really really bad. It was expensive, not well located. It was the last one available, so we didn't have a choice. It was dirty and there were no curtains at the windows were completly riped up! The shared bathrooms were DISGUSTING !! There were water leak from the celling. It smelled bad and the staff was very unfriendly. I wouldn't go back there ever !!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

The hotel is good from many points
1- The room is big enough ( room 309 )
2- The heating is perfect in both room and bathroom
3- The breakfast is super by 3 stars scale
4- The transportation is so near M13 , S41 , S42 and U5 within 3 min walk from hotel station Frankfurter Allee
5- The Ring shopping center in near with Kaiser's , Lidle and Real supermarkets
6- A lot of fast food restaurants including Mac Donald's , Nordsee just less than 5 min walk from hotel

The negative points
1- The wi-fi never work in hotel in our laptop or mobile
2- The girl in reception is not cooperate at all

Room Tip: rooms end with 8 or 9 is the biggest and far from trains noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

1. the first night there was no hot shower till mid night.
2. the reception desk stuff was rude and impatient.
3. the water heater in the room is disgusting, old and dirty. i asked for replacement but they couldnt offer a new or cleaner one. very poor.
4. the lady at the reception desk on sunday morning was the worst hotel crew i have ever seen. She somehow misunderstood the other stranger having breakfast was with me and ordered me to pay for it upon checking out. Very rude and disrespectful. She didnt apologize for this neither.
5.noisy at night cause the traffic on the street next to the window is nonstopping.
DONT GO TO THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU DONT NEED ANY HELP FROM THE CREW.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Georghof Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georghof Hotel Berlin

Address: Guertelstrasse 40- 41, 10247 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Friedrichshain)
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #496 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Georghof Hotel Berlin 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hotel in Berlin perfect for staying overnight whether for business or pleasure on vacation or any other reason for visiting berlin and its many congresses and attractions. With 60 single and double rooms very accomodating in the attractive style of 19th century Biedemeier. Located centrally in the Gürtelstrasse 41, 10247 Berlin, next to the Frankfurter Allee train station it is a short distance to the many attraction such as the brandenburger tor, the east side gallery or the berghain for party people. With a lift, wireless lan, hotel parking, fitness lounge, as well as a very complete breakfast buffet a stay at the Georghof Hotel is always a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Georghof Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Georghof And Hostel
Berlin Georghof Hotel Berlin
Tulip Inn Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georghof Hotel Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.