We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hostel !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Georghof Hotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Georghof Hotel Berlin to your Saves list
Georghof Hotel Berlin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guertelstrasse 40- 41, 10247 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Friedrichshain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #510 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Lyon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst hostel !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

It was really really bad. It was expensive, not well located. It was the last one available, so we didn't have a choice. It was dirty and there were no curtains at the windows were completly riped up! The shared bathrooms were DISGUSTING !! There were water leak from the celling. It smelled bad and the staff was very unfriendly. I wouldn't go back there ever !!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    27
    31
    10
    20
See reviews for
6
28
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

The hotel is good from many points
1- The room is big enough ( room 309 )
2- The heating is perfect in both room and bathroom
3- The breakfast is super by 3 stars scale
4- The transportation is so near M13 , S41 , S42 and U5 within 3 min walk from hotel station Frankfurter Allee
5- The Ring shopping center in near with Kaiser's , Lidle and Real supermarkets
6- A lot of fast food restaurants including Mac Donald's , Nordsee just less than 5 min walk from hotel

The negative points
1- The wi-fi never work in hotel in our laptop or mobile
2- The girl in reception is not cooperate at all

Room Tip: rooms end with 8 or 9 is the biggest and far from trains noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

1. the first night there was no hot shower till mid night.
2. the reception desk stuff was rude and impatient.
3. the water heater in the room is disgusting, old and dirty. i asked for replacement but they couldnt offer a new or cleaner one. very poor.
4. the lady at the reception desk on sunday morning was the worst hotel crew i have ever seen. She somehow misunderstood the other stranger having breakfast was with me and ordered me to pay for it upon checking out. Very rude and disrespectful. She didnt apologize for this neither.
5.noisy at night cause the traffic on the street next to the window is nonstopping.
DONT GO TO THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU DONT NEED ANY HELP FROM THE CREW.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oppegard
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The hotel was dirt cheap and I had no great expectations.However I find it quite nice.The girls in the reception were sympathetic.Breakfast was OK.The trains didn't bother me although they drove by just outside the window. Typically East-Berlin neighborhood but not bad at all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Pluses: I stayed at Georghof hostel, nearby Georghof hotel, because there wasn't free rooms at hotel. It is old-fashioned, but cozy. Room was not big, but there were enough space for big luggage, putting and hanging other stuff or clothes. There wasn't sink in the room, but clean and warm dush and wc room was only few steps from the room. There were 2 clean towels and small shampoo. The U and S-bahn station Frankfurter Allee is only 5 minutes away, it is near big shopping center Ring.
You must pay 15 euros deposite for the key, but it is returned without problems during check-out. You must not leave the key at reception - very good. There is a lift, very convinient. Stuff is very kind and helpful.

Minuses: the photos of hostel, published online, in reality are taken in hotel. No internet acsess in hostel, despite it is written it is. Very noisy outside, because S-bahn line goes only few metres from hostel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

12 trains an hour, day and night so i cannot recommend this hotel at all

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

The hotel was really nice!
I had read the reviews here and to be frank I expected worse.

Concerning the noisy S-bahn, I'd like to say that we were put on the 2nd floor (that is in the same height as the S-bahn train), but our room was in the front side of the building, and so the noise was negligible. My guess is that rooms in the back of the building have some more amount of noise because the S-bahn line is behind the hotel. But my experience in a few words: no problem with the S-bahn.

The rooms were very clean, and not small at all!
The breakfast was very nice.

Disadvantages for me:
a) I'd prefer the room was a little bit more warm (wasn't cold but I come from a warmer country),
b) The flow of water in the shower was a bit low.
c) While the bed was double like we ordered, the mattress wasn't one double, but 2 singles!!!

I stayed 5 nights at the hotel in room 209 and I got to say that it is excellent value for money.

  • Liked — Clean-ness
  • Disliked — would like it a bit warmer
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Georghof Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georghof Hotel Berlin

Address: Guertelstrasse 40- 41, 10247 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Friedrichshain)
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #510 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Georghof Hotel Berlin 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hotel in Berlin perfect for staying overnight whether for business or pleasure on vacation or any other reason for visiting berlin and its many congresses and attractions. With 60 single and double rooms very accomodating in the attractive style of 19th century Biedemeier. Located centrally in the Gürtelstrasse 41, 10247 Berlin, next to the Frankfurter Allee train station it is a short distance to the many attraction such as the brandenburger tor, the east side gallery or the berghain for party people. With a lift, wireless lan, hotel parking, fitness lounge, as well as a very complete breakfast buffet a stay at the Georghof Hotel is always a great choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Georghof Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Georghof Hotel Berlin
Berlin Georghof And Hostel
Tulip Inn Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georghof Hotel Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.