We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in pleasant, convenient area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain

Save Saved
You added Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gubener Strasse 42, 10243 Berlin, Germany (Friedrichshain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel in pleasant, convenient area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for several days while visiting for a conference and touring. The rooms were clean, the service was good, the staff were efficient and helpful with information and requests (for example, they accommodated my request to move my room to the back, away from the street). The breakfast was good, with a nice selection. The hotel restaurant was ok but nothing special, there were definitely better choices elsewhere. The area was quite pleasant, next to a park, with restaurants and bars nearby. The tram-line was just a block away, making it very convenient to get around. My only complaint was that, surprisingly for a "business-class" hotel, there was no air-conditioning, leading to some discomfort due to a record-breaking heat-wave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    260
    45
    8
    4
See reviews for
73
118
18
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have just enjoyed a long weekend staying at this hotel in Berlin with my friend. The location is ideal, being a 5 minute walk to the Warschauer Strasse S and U-Bahn station. This means that the whole city is within easy reach.

Our room was lovely, twin beds and a lovely powerful shower that stayed hot throughout our stay. Staff are all lovely and will help you in any way they can, we asked for directions and help with arranging taxis and alarm calls, all with no problems.

Breakfast was good with a wide choice of food available, cereals, fresh fruit, meats and cheeses, bread, various spreads, jams and even delicious Swedish style meatballs. The only things that weren’t available were things like full English Breakfast items such as sausages, bacon and hash browns.

The only negative I have of this hotel is that our room became far too hot. The daytime temperatures reached around 25 degrees celcius during our stay and this meant that the room became unbearably hot with no air conditioning. The heat of the room made it very difficult to sleep, we had fans in the room but it would be so much better with air conditioning. I would give this hotel a firm 4 out of 5 if air conditioning was available.

A taxi to the airport from here is around 24 euros, I was expecting it a lot more money than that so was pleasantly surprised! I would stay at this hotel again if I ever go back to Berlin, but probably in one of the cooler months!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leppavirta, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

What a hotel! And Friedrichshain is a lovely and exciting area with fantastic restaurants. We didn´t expect a lot from this hotel but it was fantastic in every way. The service was excellent and the breakfast buffet...how can I explain. We have travelled a lot but we haven´t had that kind of breakfast anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nice hotel in the eastern side of the city. It's clean, friendly and the staff are polite and helpful. There are some nice touches - coffee awaits you when you have breakfast, there's a rooftop area where you can sunbathe, hang out and the TV has channels in most european languages.
I was presented with a bottle of free sparkling wine on my birthday which arrived at my room with ice. Very unexpected and welcome.
The area is vibrant, cool, busy and young. It felt safe and unthreatening. You have a short walk to trains and trams but once connected you can reach the city within 15 minutes or so and local bars / cafes / restaurants are five minutes away (head East).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammel, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is placed quite centrally in the former DDR region of Berlin. It seems like a Young neighbourhood, where people of all nations and origins live. The area has plenty of restaurants and cafe's and the quality of food is good. The price level is lower than in the center of Berlin. The hotel was cleen, manned with a very friendly staff in general I felt that we had made a very good decision when choosing this hotel. Quite recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Excellent hotel.Spotlessly clean, and the breakfast is marvellous.Very good value.The bathroom was great, shower gel provided and other toiletries on request.I needed a razor and flannel, no trouble.It was boiling hot when we were there so it could do with AC, and our room faced street which was noisy at night.I guess just request a quiet room.Bed super comfy.Shower nice and strong and no leakage!
Roof terrace could be made more of, tidy it up a bit as foliage is very verdant and maybe put a bar up there. Is very welcome non the less!
Staff are friendly and my husband recieved a bottle of sparkling wine in icy wine bucket on his birthday which we took up to the terrace to drink before we went out, charming touch.
The area is edgy, full of life, young people, alternative.I loved it.No bad atmosphere.Never onve felt apprehensive or fearful in Berlin at all.
Hotel is approx 40 mins from airport, 2 trains, easy.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connah's Quay
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel itself cannot be faulted,however it's location may put people off as it's a train ride and walk from the city centre.Once you get your bearings it's ok.The area is also good for eating places so once you return from daily sightseeing you can change and find reasonably priced food for your evening meal.My wife and I arrived at the airport late in the evening and were unsure of the transport system so got a taxi, this costs 33euro so I would advise anyone else to make their way to Schonfeld station which is approximately 400 mts from the airport and and the trains are a hell of a lot cheaper.

Room Tip: It would appear that rooms with an even number overlook the rear of the hotel and may be quieter tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain

Address: Gubener Strasse 42, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#101 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#120 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
And after an exciting day exploring Berlin you’ll find the peace and quiet you need at the Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain, located in one of the most creative and innovative districts of the city. Choose the room according to your individual requirements – size and furnishings – including a cosy family room with kitchenette. If you’re travelling on business we offer WLAN and ISDN. Spend a relaxing time with us and enjoy our sauna and fitness area above the roofs of the city. Then treat yourself to a really special meal at our restaurant and the "Comenius lounge" which proudly features dishes from Friesland as well as international specialties. The restaurant and hotel bar serve mouth-watering delicacies, not only for those on holiday, but also for events such as parties and conferences in our prestigious facilities for up to 125 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upstalsboom Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.