We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cigars and old fashion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Hotel Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Hotel Berlin to your Saves list
Savoy Hotel Berlin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fasanenstrasse 9-10, 10623 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cigars and old fashion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here with a group of 15 cigar smokers and golfers. I have been reading reviews and seen lot of complaints concerning cigar smell. From our point of view the cigar lounge was not a problem; yes you can feel a smell of cigars at reception. But elsewhere I could not find any smell.
I had a wonderful singleroom deluxe with small area for sitting. The decorations were little bit old but somehow it was the case here - Savoy has a long history and I felt good in this atmosphere. If you want clear scandinavian style this hotel is not for you. However the room was very clean and well equipped to my needs. Windows faced the Fasanenstrasse, but I did not hear any noise of traffic- so insulation in windows was just fine.
Breakfast was enormous with huge selection of items. It's not cheap, but I felt it was definitely value for money. Of course one can get cheaper breakfast somewhere else, but not this level of selection.
Of you are interested in shopping, hotel is just few blocks from Ku'damm. And we found lots of good eating in the neighborhood as well.
Service in reception was excellent. Example - I needed to iron my shirt and all the stuff were in my room in just few minutes after asking for it. Good work and attitude!
Booked my room well in advance from hotels.com and got a great price 72 euros pn. So if you are not allergic to cigars, go for Savoy. You can feel something priceless from the past!

Room Tip: Take a superior room and you have plenty of space even in single room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    160
    47
    15
    8
See reviews for
39
126
35
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canvey, null, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

we have now stayed at this hotel twice, to start with the location is excelent as it is just around the corner are the U and S bahn's
The hotel is lovely and clean and the concierge friendly and efficient, the rooms have plenty of space.
The breakfast is very good but rather pricey at 19 Euro
There are plenty of local very good restaurants and a wonderful theatre across the road.
The lobby, reception and lift area unfortunately smell very strongly with smoke which is due to the cigar room attached to reception

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel B, Front Office Manager at Savoy Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Andy P.,

Thanks a lot for your review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at our Savoy Hotel Berlin once again. We would like to apologize for the smell of smoke at our reception area. As you said, the famous cigar bar, The Times Bar Berlin, is directly connected to our hotel lobby. Unfortunately, during your stay, cigar smoke got into the hallway. We try to keep the door to the bar always closed and there is also a strong ventilation and three air intake filters installed at the Times Bar to minimize the odour. Furthermore, we are currently improving the ventilation system.

We would be very happy to welcome you again at the Savoy Hotel Berlin.

Best regards,
The Savoy Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend and grandmother and we were all happy with the experience.

The breakfast buffet is plentiful and varied, catering to many tastes.

The location is great, though most of the restaurants and shops in the surrounding area are on the pricey side.

The rooms are clean and the staff are helpful. My only complaint would be that while we had only a bath with a shower head, my grandmother only had a walk in shower. Water pressure was good but it sometimes fluctuated in temperature.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in October 2013.
First and foremost-it was filled with the smell of tobacco. The smell was everywhere- lobby, corridor and most disturbingly, in my room, which was filled with chick-looking but smelly furniture and smelly rugs.
Otherwise-nothing really special, I stayed in the 3-star hotel the next two days, and it was much better, cleaner and overall more satisfactory than the stay in the 4-star Savoy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I had a quiet room facing the back of the hotel. My room was somewhat non-descript but had a nice bathroom. It is well located hotel for shopping and also for jogging in the Tiergarten which is only a few minutes jog away and there are a lot of restaurants close by. Transport links are also good. There is a cigar bar which is good or bad depending on your point of view but the smell does permeate the lobby. There isn't really much reflecting the history of the hotel or the famous people who have stayed there in its past. The best thing was the lovely breakfasts in the spacious red walled restaurant. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would probably stay again if I am back in Berlin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed from sept 25 to sept 30. Arrived late from Wien by air. It is conveniently ubicated but unfortunately the hotel is not very comfortable. The bed is old, the room had very bad temperature, if the central heating was rurned on !we needed to open the window to avoid being soffocated.!! The cigar odor in rooms was very strong, the cigar room should have had something to isolate the odor. Not just a door. The personnel was kind. Very near to the main street, K daam.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel B, Leiter Front Office at Savoy Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Rudolph2011

Thank you for the review of your stay at the Savoy Hotel Berlin.

Please accept our apologies for the uncomfortable temperature in your room. The heaters in our rooms are equipped with controllable thermostats that allow our guests to regulate the temperature individually. Once the heater is powered to maximum temperature, it takes a while for the cast iron heaters to cool down again.

The Times Bar Berlin at the Savoy Hotel is a cigar bar with a walk-in humidor. The Times Bar has a connecting door to the hotel. There is also a strong ventilation and 3 air intake filter installed at the Times Bar to minimize the odour. Sometimes though, cigar smoke gets into the hallway of the hotel.

For your next Berlin visit, please contact us again and we will find an arrangement for your satisfaction.

Best Regards
Your Savoy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed there for four nights at the end of October and what a delight, I am almost reluctant to post a review as I would prefer to keep this hidden gem a secret. We arrived early and as anticipated the room was not yet ready, the helpful reception staff took our luggage and told us it would be a couple of hours. We retired to the bar and within the hour we were told that our room was ready. We got to the room only to discover it was not a smoking room, back at reception we were immediately allocated a smoking room. It was at the back of the hotel so there were no issues with noise, large room and bathroom, very comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price, what a feast, really enjoyed a couple of glasses of sekt before going exploring. Did not eat in the restaurant, other than breakfast, there is no need as there are dozens of wonderful restaurants, in all price ranges within walking distance..

Great location, a five minute walk to Zoo station.

The staff were all wonderful, friendly, helpful and all spoke excellent English. As smokers the cigar bar was a fantastic bonus.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Berlin

Address: Fasanenstrasse 9-10, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Berlin
#88 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#128 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1929, the Savoy Hotel Berlin lies just a few minutes' walk from the busy Kurfürstendamm, Berlin’s famous elegant promenade. Celebrities like Maria Callas, Romy Schneider, Greta Garbo, Helmut Newton and the famous German writer Thomas Mann were regular guests. They all valued the hotel’s atmosphere and unobtrusive service. Today the Savoy is still synonymous with style, discretion and hospitality. The classical premises were refurbished in 2005 and its original features restored to their former glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Savoy Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Savoy Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Hotel Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.