We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service from such a well known name” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Hotel Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Hotel Berlin to your Saves list
Savoy Hotel Berlin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fasanenstrasse 9-10, 10623 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing service from such a well known name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We booked the savoy as it is a name that is known for luxury and good service.
We arrived and were booked into a junior suit which was nothing more than we had expected. We requested Internet access as it was listed in the rooms facilities, to which reply was barked back to us that there was a fee and we should check the details, which we did. When we requested to see the manager we were told that there wasn't one available to see us. My partner and I were shocked and extremely disatisfied.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samuelbraun, Front Office Manager at Savoy Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Craig,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

I was really delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in general and that you were satisfied with your room and the equipment in there and that your room was in perfect order as it should be of course.

But please be assured that I have also noted your comment about the not very high attention of our staff and that we did not meet or better said failed your expectations regarding the handling of inquiries or questions you have had.
Of course I am very sorry for all the mentioned incidents and would be very happy if we could get in personal contact too to talk about your experiences in detail and so I would be very happy if you would be so kind to contact me directly again. Should you like me to contact you please just let me have your contact details so I can come back to you as soon as possible of course.

Kindest regards

Matthias Ebner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    160
    47
    15
    8
See reviews for
39
126
35
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
davidjoho
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Well-located, a bit worn at the edges, but an excellent value. But, get a room off the Fasenenstrasse side of the hotel unless you like the metallic roar of elevated trains all night.

My room was small in the European fashion, but not tiny. It was just a tad shabby. I don't mind that it could use a coat of paint, or that the cheap furniture is chipped. Rather, it's the little touches of thoughtlessness that irked me: The two desk chairs provided were the only seats and they're uncomfortable; it is hard to move in the shower without accidentally jostling the faucet into extreme cold or hot positions; the ethernet cable is two feet short of reaching to the desk, the windows open but won't stay open. (My room had no AC, so I kept them open for ventilation, but oh that train!)

The hotel is three blocks from the big Zoologischegarten stop for trains, subways, and buses. It's in a bourgeois section of what was West Berlin. Very comfortable and pleasant area, although not exactly young and bohemian. There are plenty of restaurants, bars, and shops around.

They charge 10 euro/day for a pretty good Internet connection (you can switch between ethernet and wifi as you'd like), with hourly rates available. I did not try the breakfast because 20 euros for what looked like a mediocre buffet is ridiculous. I also did not try their expensive, upscale restaurant. A cigar bar is attached to the hotel; the smell wafted up to my room now and then (through my propped-open windows).

The people at the front desk were helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front (the Fasanenstrasse side) face a very noise elevated train. Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The hotel has a great interior design and is located on a quiet street, 10 minutes walk from the kurfurstendamm strasse.
We had three rooms: one double and two singles. I asked for a quiet room - I got a large new room with a big shiny bathroom and good air-condition, in the newly decorated section of the hotel. The others had rooms that were not renovated (yet?). The double room was smaller than my single room and the air-condition did not work.
The Breakfast was expensive - 20 EURO and not worth the money in my opinion.
In summary: great hotel, but make sure you get the renovated rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Young friendly staff who went out of their way to make my stay stress free and enjoyable.Nice sauna.Great, atmospheric bar.Clean comfortable rooms.Absolutely no complaints!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This room was interesting and the largest room we had the entire stay. It was nice but it had no AC and that day it rained and then it was hot so not a good combo. If you are staying in the summer I would not stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

In my life (I am 40+) I have stayed in many different hotels, from cheap and nasty, to five star luxurious boutique hotels. Savoy is different from any hotels I know: Genuine charm! You might not notice it at first, but give it time, as well as yourself, stay a couple of nights and you will notice why modernization is not always the answer to every problem, nor the first impression. I have stayed in this hotel many times, you get some really good deals during the summer season and around Christmas through almost any search engine. The rooms are big, some still have "old fashioned" bathrooms, beds are very good, the service is perfect and discreet, breakfast is very tasty. The dining room, where the breakfast is served, is one of the nicest I have ever been too, with an interesting style (especially if you are interested in art and interiors). In the evening the dining room turns into a restaurant, with excellent food and wines. I could go on and on, but the rest should be experienced personally!

how time and history has

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at Savoy Hotel for 3 days, the suite was really quite, nice and clean. We really enjoyed our stay at Savoy Hotel. Also the staff was polite. Quality and price really good.
The hotel is not big and it's near the zoo, 10 min. by walk.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Berlin

Address: Fasanenstrasse 9-10, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Berlin
#88 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#128 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1929, the Savoy Hotel Berlin lies just a few minutes' walk from the busy Kurfürstendamm, Berlin’s famous elegant promenade. Celebrities like Maria Callas, Romy Schneider, Greta Garbo, Helmut Newton and the famous German writer Thomas Mann were regular guests. They all valued the hotel’s atmosphere and unobtrusive service. Today the Savoy is still synonymous with style, discretion and hospitality. The classical premises were refurbished in 2005 and its original features restored to their former glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Savoy Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Savoy Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Hotel Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.