We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky rooms and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SANA Berlin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added SANA Berlin Hotel to your Saves list
SANA Berlin Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nuernberger Str. 33-34, 10777 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #64 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Funky rooms and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Was here on business for a couple of nights midweek , the hotel rooms were amazing , modernistic with glass and mirrors everywhere . Aircon was nice and quiet.Breakfast was good with a hot buffet to suit us British folk. The hotel was close to the main shopping district - 5 or 6 mins walk away . The hotel was booked by my German colleagues and it was significantly cheaper than the same style of city centre hotel here in the UK. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    241
    61
    19
    8
See reviews for
81
262
45
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We (two adults and our three year old) stayed for a week in the 2 bedroom apartment (it's the residence part of the hotel). Let me start with the good things as there were many:

- very friendly and helpul staff
- we stayed in 543 and the WIFI working perfectly on our smartphone and Ipad, perfect!
- good lay out, plenty of space
- great bathrooms (there were two in the apartment, one with and without bath)
- great decor, sleek minimalistic
- super clean, and it is being cleaned on a daily basis, so that was great!
- the appliances (microwave, oven, wash dryer, dishwasher) were top of the line
- yes the swimming pool is small, but we used it everyday, it's great for swimming some laps after working out at the gym and our son loved it!
- the sauna and steambath was lovely, they do turned it off sometimes, but a quick call to the reception and they will turn it on for you.
- the breakfast was fine albeit quite expensive, but since we are "self service" we choose to make our own breakfast apart from the first day.
- the location is great, near Ku'dam, Tiergarten, zoo, supermarket (across the street) and restaurants.

However, there are some improvements that need to be made to make this excellent:
- there is no a/c, it wasn't that hot when we were there, so it was fine but staying during a heatwave is probably not recommendable. Opening the windows does not cool down the apartments that much.
- for a place that is advertised as "self service", the previous review was right, the amenities were quite minimal. There were only two pans for cooking, no ovenproof dish (despite the fact that there was an oven), no proper knifes, not enough cutlery, no detergent or dishwasher tablet (i expect at least for 1 or 2 washes), there are no kettle for tea or a coffee maker (quite standard in most hotel) If only they could do something about this....

Saying that we loved Berlin and loved our stay at the Sana residences and would probably stay there again as here were more positive points than negative ones.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I booked Sana as I like a contemporary feel and it certainly provided that. The room was huge, although not much space to hang clothes, and I liked the sense of space with the glass partitioned bathroom. It was hot outside and the air-con kept the room at a pleasant temperature. The room was also immaculately clean, and I liked my view of the busy street below, without any traffic noise coming in. Bed was very comfortable and there was no noise from other guests so I slept well.
I ate breakfast which provided sufficient options for a vegetarian, and there was a general un-hurried feel about the place.
The location was good, 2 mins from Augsburger Underground, but I mainly walked the 10 mins to Zoo Station and used the 100 and 200 bus routes, around the city. Staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
191 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My stay was overall good, not amazing, but then again, booking the hotel I did not want anything out of this world. Stay was ok, staff were very friendly and the rooms were very cozy. Overall hotel is very good and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fagersta, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel was stylish and clean, the staff friendly and welcoming. We were able to check in and use our room several hours before the official check-in, and upon request we received a room with a bathtub. The thick carpets in the hallway and elegant design gave us a sense of luxury and tranquility as we made our way up to the room.

Our room was better than expected, the airconditioning was working perfectly (a blessing on such a hot day), everything was cleaned and shined to perfection, and we had a great view (also 2 blackout screens to darken the room, we managed to sleep in until 10.30 on the longest day of the year, without a problem). Free WiFi and TV.

The bed was quite hard, but I enjoy that personally, and there were a few different types of pillows to choose from.

The pool is quite small and kept fairly cool, really had to get used to that temperature. The sauna and steamroom were great, our tired muscles rejoiced! Didn't use the gym but it looked good, also a nice view when working out. Free water and towels all around. Massages could be booked as well at a fair price.

We didn't use the breakfast or restaurant options so no opinion there.

When checking out we were able to store our luggage until we left for the airport.

PS: We used public transport all week in Berlin, and the closest subway station Augsburgerstrasse is just 100m or so from the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed for a week at the Sana in Berlin in one of their one-bedroom Residence suites and was pretty disappointed overall. This review is only for the "long-term" suites and does not address the regular rooms.

Most importantly, please be aware that the residence suites do not have air conditioning. This might be a problem for anyone used to climate control, especially during the summer months. The regular hotel rooms supposedly do have A/C.

The second important point it that the internet (which is free) was absolutely useless. If i could connect at all, it was so slow that it might be OK for reading e-mails, but nothing more. If you want to Skype or stream videos/music, it's not going to work. I talked to the front desk staff about this and even tried different rooms and on different floors and the lobby, but no better. For a business hotel, this is unacceptable.

Since I was staying in one of their "longer term" residence suites, you would expect those to have decent amenities, but even common things like an alarm clock or tissues were missing. Only one strange and very small phone in front of the TV and therefore difficult to use--no phone in the bedroom.

My room had a washer and dryer, which was great--but no detergent. I had to ask housekeeping for some, and the lady was nice enough to deliver some in a small plastic bag.The kitchen had a large refrigerator, but nothing in it. There is no minibar in the room.

I found the combination of a very firm bed and very soft pillows uncomfortable.

And since I couldn't Skye, I made a few calls to friends' mobile phones for a total of about 10 minutes, and the bill for that was 28 Euros. I was a bit shocked.

To be fair, there were some positives as well. Staff was extremely friendly and tried to help as much as they could. Nice lobby area and a very nice restaurant. Beautiful bathroom with the deepest tub I have seen in a long time.

Good location close to the Ku'Damm, but still in a very quiet area. (Maybe too quiet for some guests.) Lots of nice restaurants just down the street, as well as an inexpensive food shop that is open until 10 pm during the week.

A two star rating may seem a bit harsh, but considering that I paid a lot more than most similar hotels in Berlin charge, I was expecting something a lot better. The lack of functioning wireless internet in a business type hotel is simply inexcusable in today's world. Add to that the lack of air conditioning, and you have two very large negatives.

i would not stay here again and would not recommend it to friends. You can do a lot better for less money.

Room Tip: Don't get one of the larger "residence" suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Room 428. Stayed here 4 days. Nice room with fine details in wood and glas. Mini-bar & safe. Shower. Good amenties provided. The room felt a bit warm even though air-con was on max.

Good value for money.

A small pool and gym on the 7th floor. The gym felt really warm as well. Got a bit dizzy when working out. Water station provided.

Your basically 5 min walk from the famous Ka De Wee shopping bldg and others like Peek und Cloppenberg or kurfurstdam straze.

The nearest u-bahn is Augsberger straze, or you could walk an additional 5 min for Wittenberg Pladtz.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SANA Berlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Berlin Hotel

Address: Nuernberger Str. 33-34, 10777 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SANA Berlin Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Escapio, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SANA Berlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SANA Berlin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.