We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tim Raue

Tim Raue
Rudi-Dutschke-Str. 26, 10969 Berlin, Germany
+49 30 2 59 3 79 30
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 5,981 Restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $61 - $122
Cuisines: Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Walchwil
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very interesting, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I went for dinner a Friday night. We have read about Tim Rauae and were excited to try the food.

We were very friendly greeted and asked for an aperetif. We chose two glasses of Krug Champagne (EUR 32 per glas). What they didn't mention was that 2 minutes after they brought a very spicy amuse-bouche which completely killed the champagne. A faux-pas for me - we should have been recommended a Riesling or similar which would have worked fine with the spice.

We chose the taster-menu. They recommended the wine-pairing menu to go with it. I'm always a bit hesitating with wine-menus - therefore I asked which wines would be in it. That seemed to create a bit of irritation with the sommelier - maybe he thought I was questioning his professional skills. He then explained the wines in the menu a bit "arroganty"... hmmm...

We went for the menu with the wines. We didn't regret. Everything was very interesting and the wine-pairing was quite ok apart from the "over-the-top" Rioja for the main-course (pour choice for me).

All-in-all an interesting evening in a very minimalistic decorated restaurant. Food was superb, wines were matching ok except the Rioja (see above). Price for 2 persons for 5 courses (plus amuse-bouche) with the wine-menu and a bit of water plus 2 glasses of champagne: EUR 450,-

Too over-priced we thought (had better for less)... If you're interested in minimalistic asian-inspired food with very interesting flavour-combinations (fisg with marshmallows) and willing to spend EUR 400+ try it... else find something else...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    45
    26
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Finally, a world class restaurant in Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I am truly spoiled, having eaten at numerous starred restaurants around the world. Tim Raue is one of the best. Gault et Millau’s menu of the year for 2012 was a culinary experience as yet unequaled in Berlin’s up and coming restaurant scene.

Style: More than an Asian fusion restaurant, this is a creative French restaurant with strong Asian influences. True to Berlin, the waiters are dressed in hip grunge. The cutlery (see photo) expresses the serendipity of the blend: guests are armed with a classic French sauce spoon, chop sticks and a top quality Japanese chef’s knife (this should be sharpened; mine was dull). Despite the bizarre dress code, the service is as discretely attentive as at any fine restaurant in Paris. The Berliners sometimes fail to get this right, such as the scowl on the face of the VAU waitress when our friend told her that the first course was not to her liking.

Presentation: The dishes are creatively and tastefully presented. Colors are combined with pictorial perfection, textures can be seen before they are tasted and the Asian inspiration is apparent. The double chocolate dessert paired a classic looking “fendant au chocolat avec son coulis” with a raspberry/chocolate bonsai.

Wine list: It is as eclectic as it is extensive. From fine Sake to vintage Bordeaux (1982 Haut Brion, for example) to well chosen reasonably priced wines (several full bottles are available for under 30 euros!!!), this list is very impressive. We had an exquisite 2005 Chateau Carbonnieux white that was liquid vanilla. Wines from exotic destinations around the globe are also represented, as are fine wines from German-speaking countries. The mark ups are often only twice the price of a local wine merchant and there is truly something for every taste and budget. This is vastly superior to Reinstoff’s quirky Ibero-Teutonic list and its opinionated partner/sommelier.

Prices: The 150 euro prize winning tasting menu is worth every euro cent. Tim Raue also has a small lunch menu for 28 euros, which is simply unbelievable!

Tastes: After the myriad “amuse bouches,” the six course tasting menu begins with a fish dish with imperial caviar. The use of luxury ingredients such as this shows the Parisian style of the place. The flavors are subtle, but impressive. The next fish course introduces the Japanese influence with a zing of wasabi. In this case, it is whipped into a light mousse to avoid the unfortunate blast of heat at VAU. The lobster with passion fruit sauce (see photo) is one of the best things on the menu. Sweet flavors and savory flavors are alternated, like in a Chinese banquet menu, and this dish successfully marries the luscious sweetness of passion fruit with the tender flesh of lobster in a lovely orange plate of deliciousness. We now move on to more serious things (time to switch to one of their fine Bordeaux). The jasmine pigeon featured perfectly cooked fine quality meat in an Asian-inspired jasmine sauce. The next meat dish boldly associated tongue and filet in a typical French reduction-based sauce spiced with Sichuan pepper. As mentioned, the dessert was a work of art, culinary and visual. The selection of petits fours after the meal was worthy of a fine French restaurant in more generous times.

Conclusion: Go to Tim Raue before the prices match the quality of the c

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“There is no other.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Berlins undispured champion of anything and everything to do with dining. Best service, best wines and definitely the best menu ever. They have too few stars.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a gourmer restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

very interesting choice,we heard so much about this restaurant,definitely worths a visit, has a fusion cuisine and so gourmet. for sure you do not search for quantity and you seek for quality and different flavors.the service is flawless.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We chose to have lunch at Tim Raue vs dinner, as the we felt that the dinner menu was on the pricey side. We had a tasting menu of 4 courses and enjoyed every one of them. The portion size is perfect for a tasting menu, would be a bit small if ordered as just one main course. Service wasn't bad and the decor was certainly very interesting.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tim Raue also viewed

 

Been to Tim Raue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tim Raue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.