We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underground experience, a must!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berlin Underworlds Association

Berlin Underworlds Association
Brunnenstrasse 105, 13355 Berlin, Germany
49-30-4991-0517
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 334 Activities in Berlin
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Underground experience, a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

A totally different and interesting experience, walking in WW2 berlin underground tunnels. Check the times of the english or spanish tours in www.berliner-unterwelten.de
Don't miss this tour while in berlin, it's a must!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    128
    20
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A visit to Berlin could literally be taken up just by going on all the tours available with the Berlin Underworld Association. We sadly only had time to do 2 of them, the Nuclear Bunkers tour, and the WWII Bunker tour. Both were absolutely fantastic, lasting between 90 to 120 minutres each you travel down into the bunkers via subway stations and the like. The guides are not just knowledgable, but really personable too, we had so much fun with ours. Both guides for each English tour were English, which was really great. These tours need to be advertised more, no trip to Berlin should be without one tour at least!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I did the cold war bunker tour through two cold war bunkers. The tour guide was great. She made it interesting as well as having a good sense of humour and she spoke very good English. I would reccomend this tour to everyone. The best tour I did in Berlin!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great guide, good stories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We went on the cold war bunker tour in English and it was a great experience. A lot will depend on the guide, we had a very good one. He knew a lot about the background of the cold war bunkers and how and why they were constructed and how they were supposed to work in case of a catastrophe.

Luckily you have to buy tickets on the day is a very good practice in my opinion since we usually have to skip underground tours in cities because you have to book at least a week in advance. I don't like to plan details of my trip that far ahead.

As a downside: there were two groups at the same meeting point at the same time. This meant that some people joined the wrong tour.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor business practices with the Berlin Underworlds Association”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were disappointed with the poor business practices and service of this association. We were happy with the first tour, so we decided to take a second tour the next day to explore the Flak Tower. Unfortunately, after starting the tour and walking up to the flak tower, we were unable to enter due to my lack of closed toed shoes. We were disappointed but understood the reasons why there would be such a regulation, and the tour guide instructed us to go down to the ticket office for a refund.

Before I go any further, let me stress that we understood that this was a mistake that we made, as we quickly read the information in the pamphlet and did not notice the closed-toe shoe rule for this tour. We approached the ticket office to find that it was closed. Thankfully, however, one of the tour guides was standing outside. We explained the situation to him, but he was dismissive (to the point of being rude) and said that we didn't follow the regulations and therefore were out of 20 Euros. This was unacceptable. Eventually, someone else from the group walked over and went inside to get our refund. They eventually came out, and presented to us 16 Euros. They said that they have no way of telling if they gave us a discount or not, so they can only give us the smallest amount. While it's only 4 Euros, this upset me greatly, for the following reasons:

1. The cashier never mentioned this regulation to us.

2. The woman who said she was unable to determine if we got a student discount or not (we didn't) was standing literally right next to the cashier.

3. This transaction took place no less than 10-15 minutes prior, right before the tour started.

4. The tour guide who wouldn't let us enter the flak tower didn't notice the shoes before we left, nor mentioned the regulation, and then told us to get a refund once we reached the flak tower entrance. Again, we never got our full refund.

We tipped our previous guide from this association well, and really liked this association before this happened and wanted to support it, but now there's no way we could recommend them to family or friends. Even though it's 4 Euros, we feel cheated, and it generally left us in a sour mood. It's unfortunate that they had to respond to this situation in the way that they did. We therefore cannot recommend the Berlin Underworlds Association.

We can however recommend a fantastic tour company- check out the Fat Tire Berlin bike and Segway tours. They were warm, friendly, and we had a great time with them.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berlin Underworlds Association also viewed

 

Been to Berlin Underworlds Association? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berlin Underworlds Association, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.