We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place to visit in the winter or daytime!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kreuzberg

Kreuzberg
Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$34*
and up
Private Tour: Berlin Off-The-Beaten-Path...
Ranked #55 of 404 Attractions in Berlin
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
Activities: Shopping, City walk sightseeing, Nightlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This West Berlin neighborhood has long been a nexus for Berlin's socially alternative population.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Not a place to visit in the winter or daytime!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The area in General is run down except for a few locations close to the river which is empty in winter. The rest of the area is ugly and full of graffiti! Maybe is better in summer?

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    47
    12
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I hired a bike and cycled around the area for a few hours exploring all the back streets and checking out the street art and the general street life. Loads of places to eat and grab a beer, I thoroughly recommend!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great area full of life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent a couple of days of our time in Berlin in this area. It is a great place to chill out and pass some time people watching. The area is still buzzing with energy and good for food and drink. There are many bars in some lovely locations. It seems busy all day but is really enjoyable after dark.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Kreuzberg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The last time I was in Kreuzberg was in 1994. It has changed dramatically. Atthat time it was raw and full of incredible energy after the wall came down.
There is still energy - but it has gentrified as was to be expected.
A very eclectic, easy hip part of the city, perfect for a family outtiong to see part of real Berlin life outside the Mitte.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“This area buzzes with life, it is lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

When we booked to go to Berlin, we had no idea where to stay. The reviews of others (and on other sites) led us to Kreuzberg. Boy were we glad we did. It is lovely, beautiful tree lined streets and avenues, gorgeous street cafes and bars, great food and brilliant atmosphere. The people were a real mix of young and older, from all over the world and everyone was so laid back and friendly. The parks were full of people having a good time, but in a very considerate way. It was just a brilliant experience and we will certainly be staying there again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kreuzberg also viewed

 

Been to Kreuzberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kreuzberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.